We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT argentine food experience!”
Review of Calden del Soho

Calden del Soho
Ranked #14 of 4,942 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Palermo
1 review
“GREAT argentine food experience!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

AMAZING, TASTY, GREAT EXPERIENCE! Mix of local Argentinian food and way of cooking with some different and sophisticated touch!
I am a very open minded person and usually only wait until I get an experience about something to judge, though a friend had highly recommended this place to me... When you travel a lot you become a bit more exquisite and demanding, so I didnt want to go to the places they recommend in a hotel, which are usually over expensive and crowded.
To be very honest, the experience of eating at Calden was very very good. All the food we had tried was so tasty. First we got some starters and then the owner sent a bit of some other starters for us just to try, (we had not asked for them since we couldn´t decide which ones to get).
The pasta and "Bife de chorizo" were our selection for a main course, and they were simply delicious. A BIG APPLAUSE TO THE CHEF! The dessert was also excellent: We took the pankakes and the tiiramisu.
The most outstanding thing about this place was not only how the food was cooked and how well it tasted, but the atmosphere and the people. The waiter was really nice and the owner was around the place making sure we were all very comfortable. In the end, I think people DO make a difference.
I would totally recommend this to my acquaintances and will definitely go for it when I go back to argentina!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    369
    74
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ready to go back! ”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I am a foodie. I always enjoying trying new places and trying different cuisine. The food here was delicious, the atmosphere was great, service was attentive (which I find rare in Argentina) and the best part the prices were low! If I had more time in Buenos Aires, I would definitely go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in town”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've relied on trip advisor for so many recommendations and because of our recent experience at Calden del soho, I'm finally writing a review. We ate at a few different expensive steakhouses while in BA, but the steak at Calden del soho was the best! Every aspect was perfect-food was amazing, service was excellent and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Damon1443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra la Vella Parish, Andorra
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stumbled upon El Calden late one evening. We were looking to eat a light meal. We ordered the arugula salad with parmesan, grilled vegetables, and salmon sorrentino pasta. Everything was delicious. We concluded the meal with a tiramisu, which was really good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos aries
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I have traveled around the world but this is a great place. Amazing steak at a very good price. Lenten the wine is cheap but excellent quality.

One of the best steaks I have had.

Nice place staff friendly relaxed atmosphere.

I am Irish but have to say Argentina beef is excellent.

Will be back tomorrow if I am able.

Helpful?
1 Thank Todterry14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calden del Soho also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Calden del Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing