We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent rooms, great service”
Review of Casa Calma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa Calma Hotel
Ranked #4 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent rooms, great service”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Casa Calma was a wonderful hotel for us. It was our first time in Buenos Aires. The location made getting around very easy. The staff were very helpful, the room was excellent - clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfasts were very good, and the little self-serve lounge was a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happypeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    198
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
133
927
55
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, South Wales. U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Casa Calma is an excellent hotel by any measure. We stayed there in early March. It's is vey well located if you wish to walk to most of Buenos Aires attractions. It's is set in a quiet and safe neighbourhood. The rooms are large and well equipped. We particularly valued the double jacussi because we did walk everywhere. The breakfast caters for all tastes and is sufficient to set you up for the day. The key to Casa Calma's excellence however is the staff. Across the board we found them to be bright, efficient, linguistically gifted and totally committed to ensuring that we had an enjoyable stay. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

If you want to enhance your understanding of Buenos Aires and it's inhabitants try the free walking tours. One of the staff recommended them to us. We did two, Recolleta and the city centre. Both were led by Vicky who really knew her stuff both in terms of her country's history and particularly in terms the citizens' of Buenos Aires outlook on life.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor looking onto the street and slept like tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durkin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Casa Calma is a boutique hotel, 2 rooms per floor, located on a soon to be pedestrian street just one block from the major parallel arteries in the city center, Avenue 9 de Julio and Carlos Pellegrini. The hotel location provides easy, safe walking to major attractions such as the Teatro Colon. We stayed at Casa Calma twice during March, each time in a different room. Both rooms were clean and spacious with spa tub and separate shower. Breakfast is included and consists of cereals, pastries, bread - jellies, yogurt and made to order eggs. Overall a nice variety. The real strength of the hotel is its staff. All speak English and are very helpful in suggesting things to do and how to get around. Safety is a concern and the staff constantly give advice about safe and not so safe areas of the city. There are banks with ATM's within a block of the hotel and a variety of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jxxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

If you’re looking for a comfortable and welcoming place to stay in Buenos Aires−in a quiet location but easily accessible to restaurants, shops, and attractions−you can’t find a warmer welcome than at CasaCalma. Although my wife and I spent only one night there in advance of a Cape Horn cruise, it was a highlight of our trip. Our room (902 on the top floor) was spacious, bright, and airy. It featured an extensive bathroom, including two sinks, separate toilet, shower, and Jacuzzi tub. In addition to the buffet breakfast, guests can take a light lunch. There is a pair of bamboo (yes) bicycles for the adventurous to tool around. Management and staff were extraordinarily friendly and accommodating. Casa Calma, in our opinion, is a gem of a boutique hotel

Room Tip: Although not especially scenic, the two top-floor rooms offered a view of neighborhood rooftops.l
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

If you read the other reviews you will find mine to be very similar. While you may not get any new revelations, you will be able to gain this insight -- Casa Calma is a consistently nice place to stay in Buenos Aires.

The comments about the friendly and helpful staff are absolutely true. English is spoken by everyone we met at the hotel. The helpful attitude was a noticeable feature throughout our stay. Dinner advice was given, reservations made, suggestions for sightseeing and shopping were readily available by the young, pleasant staff.

Location of hotels in B.A. is always debatable. There are wonderful neighborhoods with their own unique sites to see throughout this large city. You could stay almost anywhere and be pretty content. Casa Calma is in a central location. It is near restaurants and within easy walking distance to Calle Florida shopping. If you wanted to go further afield (as you should), cabs were easily available as was public transportation.

The rooms are modern, ample in size, functional, and attractive in a minimalist way. Bathroom facilities were more than adequate and conveniently laid out. The lobby, on the other hand, is quite small, and can get somewhat congested at check-out time.

We enjoyed the free breakfast finding the selection fine. If you want cooked items (eggs, ham, etc.) just ask one of the staff. They are happy to oblige most all reasonable food requests.

I have no problem recommending Casa Calma as a solid choice for accommodations in B.A.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drhank333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The rooms are clean, comfortable and very stylish. The breakfast room is attractive and the food is fine. What is really impressive about Casacalma is the service by the young people who man the reception desk. One example will suffice. My wife and I had forgotten to make a dinner reservation for Valentine's day (which happened to fall on a Friday). Two members of staff spent 40 minutes early Friday evening contacting one 5-star restaurant on our list after another to find a reservation for us for Friday evening, but had no luck. Instead of just saying "sorry," they then arranged a change in our reservation for an evening of Tango from Saturday to Friday and got us a reservation at the restaurant we most wanted to try for Saturday and an excellent (but local) restaurant for Friday. The whole process took the better part of an hour. Nothing was too much effort. This is what a boutique hotel is all about!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a private sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennettG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This little, pretty hotel is outstanding. The reason is three fold:

1. The Staff: they cannot be any more helpful. When you land in a new city, especially when local language and customs are different to what you are used to, you can really benefit from having a "trusted friend" to hand. All the staff at Casa Calma bent over backwards to help us with everything from money, taxis fares and little tricks, restaurants etc. Ana, the manager, clearer has a policy of recruiting the smartest and most professional staff - absolute credit for that.

2. The room is clean, light, smart and comf - perfect! Ours even had a sauna and water jet jacuzzi.

3. The location is ideal for exploring all parts of BA and is on a fairly quiet street.

I would like to thank Ana, Lau, Celeste and the really nice chap who always works late (!) and all the other staff whose names I didn't know, for a great stay!

I highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,848 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,637 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 445 in Buenos Aires
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,328 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 445 in Buenos Aires
798 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 445 in Buenos Aires
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Calma Hotel

Property: Casa Calma Hotel
Address: Suipacha 1015, Buenos Aires C1008AAU, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#3 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#25 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Calma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first hotel in Argentina devoted to the culture of wellness. Well wrapped up in a magnificent vertical garden, it is hidden away from the city in its own world in an exquisite, fresh and healing atmosphere. Located in the very heart of downtown, a block away from bustling Santa Fe Avenue and two blocks away from famous San Martin Square and Florida Street, CasaCalma is an urban oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casacalma Buenos Aires
Casacalma Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing