We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely escape in the heart of Buenos Aires”
Review of Elefante Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elefante Rosa
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent 4 nights here and after a hectic few weeks of travelling this was the ideal location to relax. The building itself is very impressive and the rooms were lovely with a quirky split level design in the room we stayed in. What i like the most was the relaxed and friendly atmosphere from the owners who were very helpful. There are also facilties to cook your own food and breakfast is provided. We had also stayed in a hostel in a different area of BA but we were so glad we moved here. Thanks for a lovely stay. Location wise, its very close to two Subte lines (yellow and purple) so there is no problem getting around the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongodublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

Probably the best place I've stayed at while in South America. This hostel is beautiful, we stayed in a private room with bathroom, a small balcony looking over the street and a comfortable sitting area. Most importantly the room had killer air conditioning. Though we arrived late the owner took the time to check us in and talk us through the sights and areas of BA on the map.

The hostel has internet, a nice comunal area and a superior breakfast. It fairly centrally located (about 20 - 25 min walk from downtown) and has some nearby shops and restaurants.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was a private room set out as a Mezzanine. It had a small lounge area, a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenWaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Very stylish and spacious hostel. It has only 4 rooms, three doubles and 1 dorm as far as I remember. Therefore, it is not necessarily a party hostel but you feel very welcomed. Diego, the owner is really making an effort to keep the place clean and tidy. He serves a good breakfast, you can ask him for advice since he knows pretty much anything about BA.
The hostel is close to the metro which you definitely need to get around in BA.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyelessView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My boyfriend and I started our holiday in Argentina for 6 nights in this lovely hostel. We loved it so much that we came back for one more night before our flight back to London. Diego and Mauro, the owners, were so friendly and helpful. Our room was amazing, a split-level double room overlooking the street. Breakfast was great, and we loved how comfortable the house felt-it definitely felt more like a home than a hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I booked this place because of all the fabulous reviews and the owner Diego is very responsive to e-mails with questions and concerns. It is a bit different but we absolutely love this place! We got a taxi from the domestic airport to the B&B and when the bus driver dropped us off he was saying how this is a far away location from center of town, etc. but that's NOT true! The Subte is fantastic and there are 2 lines within 1-2 minute walk. It only costs 50 cents to get on it and about a 10 minute ride (if that) to the center of town. And it's easy to figure out how to get anywhere else in town with the Subte. Diego gave us an excellent map and pointed out all the different touristy areas to explore. He was really helpful and a great host. We had room 4 for 2 nights and it is right on the main street, can be a bit noisy. I didn't know you can close the shutters the 1st night, lol, so much better with the shutters closed. We didn't mind the noise after that. I'd like to point out that they don't have AC, and it can get very warm in Buenos Aires during their summer months. Just something to think about if you need to have that kind of thing. Breakfast includes toast, cereal, coffee/tea, and fruits. There are at least 2 mini-mart type stores within 1-2 minutes walk, and you can buy things from there and store it in the frig at the B&B. They have 2 toilets, 2 showers, 2 sinks each for the ladies bathroom, and I assume the same for men's bathroom. They only take cash, we paid in USD which was no problem for them, and for $45 a night this place is a great deal! I really like how you can't even tell it is a hotel/B&B from the outside, it just looks like someone's house! They don't have any signs or advertisements :) thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silly_traveler_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed at the hostel 3 times during my stay in Argentina: It was like being home, far away from home. The owners, Diego and Mauro, are great hosts, taking care of their guests as if they were friends. It is a smaller but super cozy place, providing all that is needed. The hostel is located in the safe and calmer area of Boedo (with respect to other parts of Bs.As), only a few steps away from metro and several bus stations - which makes it super easy to explore the city. The rooms are spacious and clean, and so are the bathrooms. I highly recommend Elefante Rosa and will definitely go back!

Room Tip: They have a dorm and several private rooms, with and without bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Yes, it's like everybody has said: Elefante Rosa is a wonderful place to stay. I've stayed in a variety of very personal small hotels, B&Bs, and hostels throughout the world, and this one was the best.

Diego has turned a family property into a charming, quirky place, comfortable and, especially once you learn to use the Subte, convenient while out of the tourist mainstream. And he's a charming, helpful host who goes the extra mile to make your stay a pleasure.

I wish I had something new to add to all the well-deserved praise. Well done!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sheppsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Meridiano Hostel
Meridiano Hostel
#39 of 478 in Buenos Aires
222 reviews
Palermo
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
#1 of 478 in Buenos Aires
114 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 478 in Buenos Aires
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#48 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,527 reviews
Pampa Hostel
#274 of 478 in Buenos Aires
40 reviews
San Nicolás
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#314 of 440 in Buenos Aires
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elefante Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elefante Rosa

Address: Alberti 1191, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £30 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elefante Rosa Hostel is located in the traditional district of Boedo, a safe area and key spot in Buenos Aires city. Our house is a stylish vintage house with art strokes everywhere. We are near two subway lines which will give you full access to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Elefante Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing