We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home, far away from home...”
Review of Elefante Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elefante Rosa
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Our home, far away from home...”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

In September we had the pleasure to stay in Elefante Rosa for a week. Convenient situated near Metro lines E and H every corner of the city is just minutes away. The rooms and common room decorated with stylish vintage furniture made us feel at home right away, The friendly and hospitable owners Diego and Mauro were always willing to help us and give us information.... It's a great place to explore this wonderful city from and come back to and relax in a homy atmosphere, waking up in the morning with the smell of freshly brewed coffee.... Ready for an other day in this exciting town...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    34
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
91
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked 5 nights at Elefante Rosa and ended up extending our stay by another 3 nights. Diego, the owner, is warm, welcoming and very helpful. We stayed in one of the loft rooms and loved it. Breakfast is simple, but delicious and filling. The location makes it easy to get around as 2 subway lines are just a quick walk away. We enjoyed staying in a neighbourhood and outside the tourist area. We also really liked that the common area is a good place for meeting other travellers. Diego is the heart and soul of Elefante Rosa and he made sure we had a fantastic time exploring his city. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MathYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed here for a week in September. The rooms are arranged around a central communal space - full of interesting objects and furniture. Diego was great - full of information if you needed it. The hostel is within walking distance of San Telmo and has 2 metro lines within 5 minutes walk. A great base for exploring Buenos Aires.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This lovely hotel has a lot of great things about it: it is close to the city centre, the rooms are comfortable, the price is great value, it is very clean and located to some nice facilities. However it is the wonderfully helpful owner Diego that goes out of his way to make our stay special. He booked taxis for us, helped us catch our bus when we missed our original departure time... and so so much more. We have stayed here a number of times and look forward to stashing here again in the future. I can not recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or sqwimmimg pool which we did not miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairéad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Having arrived in Buenos Aires after a hideous 24 hour journey, where my baggage had been lost - I was so pleased to have arrived at a hostel with such a courteous host. The owner, Diego, was an absolute gentleman and I don't know what I would of done without him!

The hostel is beautiful, clean and comfortable and I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Buenos Aires!

Thank you for having me x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Elefante Rosa. It was the kind of place I needed to settle in to Buenos Aires before moving on top explore South America.
I had arranged with the manager Diego to be picked-up from the airport. This was welcome relief after a 15 hour flight. Diego spoke good English and provided great advice of how to navigate Buenos Aires and sights to see. The room was good and bathroom facilities well kept. It felt like a home away from home.
I can recommend Elefante Rosa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew_T82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were fortunate to stay in Elefante Rosa for three nights in one of the loft rooms. The room was exceptionally well priced compared to the other places we have stayed in Argentina.

The building is one of the older, beautiful architectural gems of the city which has been restored inside. It can be a little difficult to locate as there is no sign outside the building, however a small picture of an elephant can be seen above the door and the street number is also visible.

Diego, the owner, was friendly and helpful in every possible way, helping us to navigate the city, organise to see a tango show, locate a laundry and to exchange money.

I would recommend this hostel to any traveller or couple. For those who tend to use Hostel World or Hostels.com to book their accommodation, I would recommend contacting Elefante Rosa directly. Despite being 'booked out' on these websites, Diego was able to offer us several room alternatives and was quick to respond to our enquiries.

The breakfast is simple, but delicious, with the best croissants we have tasted so far.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Rock Hostel & Brewery
Rock Hostel & Brewery
#30 of 457 in Buenos Aires
163 reviews
Montserrat
Hostel Estoril
Hostel Estoril
#20 of 457 in Buenos Aires
238 reviews
Palermo
Meridiano Hostel
Meridiano Hostel
#28 of 457 in Buenos Aires
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 457 in Buenos Aires
663 reviews
Montserrat
BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel
BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel
#23 of 457 in Buenos Aires
320 reviews
Palermo
Caravan BA
Caravan BA
#7 of 457 in Buenos Aires
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elefante Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elefante Rosa

Property: Elefante Rosa
Address: alberti 1191, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 457 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elefante Rosa Hostel is located in the traditional district of Boedo, a safe area and key spot in Buenos Aires city. Our house is a stylish vintage house with art strokes everywhere. We are near two subway lines which will give you full access to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elefante Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing