We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful bar”
Review of Hipopotamo Bar

Hipopotamo Bar
Ranked #599 of 4,809 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Argentinian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: San Telmo
brooklyn ny
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful bar”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Beautiful bar, "great bones," interesting neighborhood folks, delicious dark beer they make, and good food. Nice people too. One of our favorite spots here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank joral50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    70
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A bar with bags of atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We wanted to find a typical Argentinian corner bar and we were luck that Hipoptamo was exactly that. It feels as though the bar hasn't changed in years. Good beer and tapas style food. Populated with real characters, including slightly grumpy waiters!
We loved it.
(Great '80s music too!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pandyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little bar”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Popular with the local crowd, this is a good, value for money bar with some quirky decoration which adds to the atmosphere. I found the service above average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Popular!”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed just down the street and noticed that this place was always pretty busy. Cool building with nice corner location. Eventually we ended up there for a meal. Service was fine, food was average. Price less than the better places down Caseros street - but quality less also. Very popular with locals apparently. Probably known as a reliable neighborhood restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great pub grub with atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We really enjoyed this cafe - its history and the atmosphere in watching the locals in the evening. Food is pretty good for the prices, salads and hamburgers were filling and the artisanal beer reasonable.
We found service fine if not always smiling - although I speak Spanish fluently but we were recognised the second time we went in.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiaNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hipopotamo Bar also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Hipopotamo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing