We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem of a hotel in a great location”
Review of Nuss Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nuss Buenos Aires
Ranked #96 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a gem of a hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Based on other TA reviews we booked a night at the Nuss Hotel before planning on a weekend in Uruguay. We were very happy right from the moment we arrived. Check in was smooth and we were enchanted with the pretty central patio that the rooms were built around. The rooms are beautifully and stylishly finished with a kind of city/ urban chic. A couple of yummy dulce de leche biscuits greeted us when we arrived and the room was spotlessly clean.

We were a mother and daughter travelling together and requested 2 beds which probably was a little disappointing when we saw them - they were very tiny single beds that must also join up to be one king bed. But they were quite comfortable. The bathroom was very nicely appointed with lovely amenities however, like others´ have commented, water went everywhere when showering. I think the hotel would be well placed to replace the half screeens with ful screens. The breakfast in the foyer was fine. Nothing flash but we weren´t expecting it to be. Rather it was convenient and offered enough choices.

The staff were very helpful and made great suggestions for eating and shopping. In fact we enjoyed our first night so much we opted to stay a second night instead of going to Uruguay.

The only downside was a was pretty noisy. The wooden floors meant that the woman noisily walking around in her high heels in the room above late at night and then again at 4 in the morning was irritating. Also we were originally in room 12 which is right opposite the lifts on level 1 and not everyone is terribly considerate after a night out and returning in the early hours. However, we did move to room 15 and that problem disappeared. I would suggest requesting a room on the top floor away from the lift and it would be perfect!

We will defintiely be staying again and I have already recommended the Nuss Hotel to others.

Room Tip: top floor and away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    113
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
44
211
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for 4 nights then 3 nights after a trip to Iguazu. Expensive for what you get, but in a good location, near to Plaza Serrano, which is bustling over weekends. Lots of cafés and restaurants nearby, worth walking around to find the most interesting. Well located in Palermo Soho.

Rooms are comfortable and there is sound-proofing, which is necessary as the road is extremely noisy.

Breakfasts are good but rather limited and do not change. It is unfortunate that one has to pay extra for different types of egg dishes and cappuccinos. The hotel is more than expensive enough to justify including these in the price.

The concierge is very helpful, Chris in particular. We were upgraded for the second part of our stay.

During our stay end of March 2014, the roof terrace and ground floor bar area was never in use, so the hotel had no real vibe. The small fitness room has a treadmill and cycle, a multi-purpose weights machine and TV and was welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Avenida Borges, which is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaneBez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzanita, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Nuss Hotel was a welcome retreat on a recent trip to Buenos Aires. Located on a quiet street in the Palermo neighborhood, it is a pleasant walk to neighborhood coffee shops and cafés and some fantastic dining. Upon arrival, I was greeted with a cool drink and made very welcome. The rooms are well-sized, bright and elegant. The rooftop pool and patio is a relaxing escape. The staff greeted me by name throughout my visit and could not have been more gracious. I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Nuss Buenos Aires was my base on my way to and between my trips to Antarctica and the Iguazu Falls. This is a relatively small boutique hotel near lots of eating places. The rooms are just gorgeous, well appointed and tastefully decorated. The rooftop terrace is a great place to just sit and relax, have a drink or have a swim. Four nights a week they set the bar up on the terrace.

The staff are exceptional in all ways. As I was travelling to 2 very different climatic zones, I had 2 bags of clothes. Leaving a bag there while I travelled to each different zone (one of these was for 2 weeks) was not a problem at all and on each return, my bags were waiting for me and even placed in my room ready for my arrival. On the morning of my final departure I had to leave very early (a 5am pickup) and was made a cup of tea and offered something to eat.

I had 3 different rooms; 2 were on the street side and one was a non street room. The soundproofing was good with only an occasional noise heard on the street side rooms and no noise heard in the non street room. Curtains are drawn at night and you are welcomed with a home cooked pastry.

I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 19 is a disabled access room and isn't as well appointed as other rooms - it doesn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you are a fan of boutique hotels tucked in to colourful, eclectic and lively neibourhoods, then you will find the Nuss hotel a great choice. The hotel is in a restored building, now offering clean, contemporary lines and amenities. Rooms are large (and spotless). There is a rooftop garden and pool, a small gym and a quiet indoor courtyard. Room comforts include robes, a welcome note and delicious pastries. The breakfast included in the room rate provides a thoughtful selection, with choices bound to please most guests.
Situated just off a main street in the Palermo neighbourhood, the Nuss Hotel offers easy walking access to cafes, restaurants and boutiques. The well known Cabrera steakhouse is a 5 minute walk away. The area is a mix of residential and commercial. A walk around the neighbourhood or time spent sipping coffee on a patio will give you a small taste of daily local life. But don't let the idea of not being in the centre of the main action scare you off. Taxis are surprisingly affordable in Buenos Aires (the equivalent of $5 - 10US took us anywhere we wanted to go in the downtown area) and hotel staff are always ready to call for a reliable cab. For us, it was a pleasure to retreat from the hustle and bustle of the usual tourist sites to the more low key but colouful Palermo neighbourhood.
We would return without hesitation and will certainly recommend Nuss to friends. The property is great but their real secret is their people. We found the staff to be extraordinarily helpful and accommodating. Not only did they welcome us warmly (and with a room) several hours before scheduled check in but they also invited us to stay on until our 3pm departure for the airport. And when my husband discovered on arriving at the hotel that he had left a bag holding his camera in the now departed taxi, the hotel staff helped him devise an ultimately successful strategy to find one taxi in a city that has over 100 taxi companies. I expect professionalism from front desk staff but this level of kindness is exceptional.
Should you choose the Nuss Hotel, I'm sure that you too will come away with the sense that they really care about your business and will do all that they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muse_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Boutique hotel in the Palermo district of Buenos Aires. In the first place the area was safe... near lots of restaurants, many excellent. Hotel staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. The hotel is small but it is professionally run. Great shopping just steps away. Rooms are super clean, a little small but they work. Most importantly, you really get the B.A. vibe - and that make staying here worth it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We booked this hotel through Imagine Latin America.

It was a lovely hotel with nice staff, but the standards just slightly missed the mark considering the cost. The room we had on our first visit at the beginning of our honeymoon was lovely - no 14 (or 13 if you have a look at the fire route map!) and we'd recommend anyone staying at this hotel to try and secure that room.

Now for the not so good... despite being told in advance that I am allergic to certain foods (yes I am one of those people) they had forgotten to get me a suitable breakfast. I totally accept that having issues with food means compromise when travelling, but not from a boutique hotel who was told in advance and charges a lot for bed and breakfast. Day 2 breakfast was good, they had something other than meat and fruit for me. Day 3 breakfast was odd. We were leaving at 6am, before breakfast had started. We accepted we wouldn't get anything that day from the hotel but on the final night, without being asked, the front desk staff asked if we would like something bringing to our room before we left at 6am - of course we would! So a little frustrated when nothing turned up the next day. We wouldn't have minded but we didn't expect anything in the first place. So in summary the goodwill to provide excellent service is there, but the execution just slightly misses the mark.

Don't get me wrong this is a lovely hotel with modern decor, and was nice and cool in the heatwave. They have a fantastic roof terrace for drinks and the location is in a very trendy part of town.

Room Tip: Try for room 14 - spacious room with a large comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_C46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Legado Mitico
Legado Mitico
#27 of 447 in Buenos Aires
408 reviews
Palermo
1828 Smart Hotel
1828 Smart Hotel
#104 of 447 in Buenos Aires
289 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 447 in Buenos Aires
790 reviews
Palermo
Ultra Hotel
Ultra Hotel
#348 of 447 in Buenos Aires
63 reviews
Palermo
BoBo Hotel
BoBo Hotel
#25 of 447 in Buenos Aires
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuss Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuss Buenos Aires

Property: Nuss Buenos Aires
Address: El Salvador 4916, Buenos Aires C1414BPN, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#20 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#64 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#106 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nuss Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuss Buenos Aires Soho is located at one of the most emblematic corners of Palermo Soho, across from Plaza Serrano. Once a classic Spanish-style convent, it has been fully refurbished to become the most innovative premium hospitality option in Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nuss Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuss Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing