We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great of nearby, but don't go out of your way.”
Review of El Bonpland

El Bonpland
Ranked #4,010 of 4,798 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: US$15 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Palermo
Intercourse, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great of nearby, but don't go out of your way.”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

For a restaurant near our hotel, this place was good, nice service. Did a good job, decent food. Not the best restaurant in the world, but it was close, it was there, and was not offensive in anyway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryskalchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    17
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant, overlooked by tourists heading to Miranda!”
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Walking through Palermo one evening we noticed this restaurant was full. We took a chance and they found us a table in the middle of a busy, atmospheric local eatery. The chef alone was entertainment, shouting and joking with the waiter and some patrons. We asked for the recommendations and shared provolone to start and of course, bifo chorizo. It was well priced and fun. Not fancy or gourmet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uksarahoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A real good plan !”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We discovered this neibourghood joint by walking around our hotel one night.This is a great unasssuming local Argentinian restaurant that serves top notch meat (Chorizo bife best ) for a very decent price.Staff is warm & welcoming, service is attentive & effective, the room & terrace are just as nice as the crowd made of locals...Need to say more ?
Avoid the big tourist parilla restaurants around town & go for this littlefamily style gem !

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeDiscerningTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando,fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not outstanding, there are much better choices”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

They have this gimmick: the waiter cuts your steak with a spoon to demonstrate its tenderness. Except the poor guy had to struggle to get through the steak.

I found the meat tough and not cooked as I had asked (almost a capital offence in a country that has as many parrilleros as there are cows), the salad unremarkable and the fries were soggy. There was nothing to like, really.

I'm not going back. I had better luck at Parrilla El 22 which is nearby.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apattin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Good parilla but not for large groups”
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I have eaten at El Bondpland on four occasions i the past two months. A couple of times it was just the two of us, another time six and another time twelve. The food is good parilla fare, the meat was great when it was small group and the service good.

I noticed that you have better service and food when you are in a smaller group. They seem not to be able to deal with the different requests for how people would like their meat in a large group.

Would recommend it for a local night out but nothing too special. Having said that, their provoleta (baked cheese) was one of the better ones I have tried in BA.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Bonpland also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to El Bonpland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing