We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a repeat”
Review of El Bonpland

El Bonpland
Ranked #4,025 of 4,854 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: US$15 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Palermo
Chicago area
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a repeat”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Interesting looking place. We were optimistic that this would be a great parilla based on reviews. The service was adequate. The wine was very good. The meat was SO tough! I would not go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    17
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NOCE PLACE BUT OVER RATED”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

This parilla was highly rated in a tour guide of Buenos Aires, so my expectations were high. It is a pleasant and popular restaurant, and the service was very good, and friendly. I ordered what I thought would be a top notch steak. It was generous and flavorful, but it was not at all tender, and came medium well, rather than medium rare, as I had requested. Well short of even average. Maybe I just got a bad cut. I hope your luck is better than mine was.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKaehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great meal, good service and local atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were a group of 8 and enjoyed great service. It is like an authentic Buenos Aires parilla experience. Our food was very good and it was a good value as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BalfourOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intercourse, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great of nearby, but don't go out of your way.”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

For a restaurant near our hotel, this place was good, nice service. Did a good job, decent food. Not the best restaurant in the world, but it was close, it was there, and was not offensive in anyway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryskalchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant, overlooked by tourists heading to Miranda!”
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Walking through Palermo one evening we noticed this restaurant was full. We took a chance and they found us a table in the middle of a busy, atmospheric local eatery. The chef alone was entertainment, shouting and joking with the waiter and some patrons. We asked for the recommendations and shared provolone to start and of course, bifo chorizo. It was well priced and fun. Not fancy or gourmet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uksarahoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Bonpland also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to El Bonpland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing