We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in less-than-charming neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Ranked #171 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in less-than-charming neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Hotel Raco was a lovely place to stay in Buenos Aires. We spent three nights here during our 2-week trip in Argentina, and it was the best nights of sleep for the whole trip. The hotel itself is beautifully designed, peaceful, and the staff is incredibly helpful, from exchanging money to reserving tickets to a tango show.

We also got an excellent deal on our stay because of Trip Advisor discount, so be sure to email them to see if you can take advantage from it.

We found the surrounding work-a-day neighborhood to be short on charm that you will find in Palermo or Recoleta, and would have been disappointed if this was our first perspective of BA. It's not close to the trendier neighborhoods with restaurants and cultural sights, but taxis are plentiful and very cheap. But the hotel is reasonably close to the subway, and here you are among real porteños.

If you're looking for a great boutique hotel for a good night's sleep, this is a great place. If you're looking for a great neighborhood, keep looking.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julyro, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate your comments!

We would like to clarify certain things concerning our location. The importance of staying in a particular neighborhood has to do with your own interests. Many people come to Buenos Aires and think Palermo or Recoleta are the main spots, but actually the city has many other highlights and we happen to be in the middle of all of them. Opposite to areas such as Recoleta, San Telmo, or downtown, Racó de Buenos Aires is nestled in a calm and safe residential area (which makes to a good night’s sleep), only 3 blocks from the metro and a 15 min taxi ride to any of the interesting spots.

You may find restaurants, bars, and a large commercial area in the surroundings, the Basilica of San Carlos Borromeo (where the Pope was baptized), as well as parks, fairs, and access to several bus lines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    125
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
340
66
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Delightful old building with lovely rooms. High ceilings give a very spacious feel. Wonderful bathroom and huge bed with lovely linen. Very helpful, friendly staff who gave is some great tips where to eat. Sadly we could only stay one night on this occasion, but would certainly stay again on another trip. A great find.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kachina100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed here several times. The rooms are individually decorated, clean and comfortable. Very central, well located in BA. Close to the subway and bus services. safe neighbourhood. convenient airport transfers at extra cost but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I am from U.S.and stayed in Hotel Raco in Buenos Aries the end of January 2014 for one week.
The room was very clean, nice bed, clean bathroom, with a/c. The staff was excellent as all of them spoke excellent English. The hotel, although small, was attended 24 hours a day. It was very secure and in a good neighborhood. I walked at all times of the night with no problems. It was a 15 minute taxi ride to Ricoleta, Palmero, or downtown. $4-$5 US depending on traffic. You can take the subway for .35 and catch it 2 blocks away. There are several great eating places and cafes within 3 blocks from hotel. A large mall is a 10 minute walk away. I would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

A beautiful building (built in 1904) with very tall ceilings and doors. Large bed, spacious room. Friendly staff. Very close to subway station. Wifi is OK in the room but works better in the lobby area.

Good restaurants and shops close to the hotel. Very safe neighbourhood. Quiet A/C in the room. There is no safe or hair dryer in the room but they will bring them to your room if you ask.

You could have breakfast in the hotel, but there is a fantastic pastry shop / restaurant close by.

Room Tip: I assume rooms closer to the lobby have better wifi reception but all rooms seem to be spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozmajeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
152 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights during a vacation in Buenos Aires. We chose it because of the good reviews and the decent prices. We were very happy with this hotel. The hotel is very charming, it almost feels like a home away from home. The staff is excellent and the best thing with the hotel. They are very nice and helpful and they truly care about you. The rooms are nice, quite small but ok. TV with a good selection of channels, air conditioning, good shower. There are only two things that could improve. The Wi-Fi signal is quite weak in the rooms and we had to go out of the room to get a ok signal. We were not the only ones, the other guests had the same problem. The other thing is the breakfast. It is quite small and it's not self service, you must a ask the staff for food. It should be self service instead we think. But overall this is a very nice hotel in a nice location, takes only a few minutes to walk to the closest metro station and there are many shops and restaurants in the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank swedishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This place has every thing going for it, Charming, Clean, Safe, Friendly, English speaking advise on anything you may be looking for in a very helpful , it is in a very pleasant location, close to subway, the best safest way to get around Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
#172 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#59 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#126 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#121 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,320 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#96 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#80 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires

Property: Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Yapeyu 271, Buenos Aires C1202ACE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in boutique hotel subject, located in the heart of Buenos Aires, Racó de Buenos Aires offers a new vision in luxury and comfort matters when traveling and staying in our city. At only 200 meters from the subway station and only 10 minutes from areas like Palermo, San Telmo, Recoleta and Puerto Madero, our boutique hotel will be your starting point for your activities in the most European city of Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Boutique Raco de Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing