We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
America del Sur Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Boone, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than a hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I really loved this modern hostel with clean rooms and updated furniture. It is in a convenient location and the employees are happy to help with booking any kind of outing you can think of. It is truly a must stay location in BA.

Room Tip: Get a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdubyapepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    222
    56
    7
    9
See reviews for
28
161
189
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was with a friend for a few days, and it is one of the @ in Buenos Aeres!
Well located, excellent value for money, nice atmoshpere, rooms are clean and have air conditionned...

Last but not least... some of the staff "speaks very English"!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and enjoyed my time here. Most of the rooms are four bed bunks and are very very clean. Good lockers.
Breakfast was fine and centrally located with a supermarket across the road.
Kitchen is far far too small considering was a large hostel it is, the staff kitchen was bigger!! This therefore ment it was hassle to try to cook in it because it was too busy.
The place is really cool and trendy but for some reason there is just no atmosphere, everyone seems to keep to themselves and there is little opportunities for everyone to socialise together, this is probably due to how large the hostel is.
We heard that the hostel reception was robbed while we were staying here so don't know how reliable the security is.
Big pro is that the hotel offers great free walking tours with a really cool guide. Great way to see the city!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emmahayes540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hostel gives more the feeling of a hotel then a hostel. I shared a room with just 3 other people and each room had its own shower and toilet. The breakfast was sufficient. It is situated 4 blocks from the metro station. Staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanPigot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is the first accommodation in our Argentina trip. We arrived late at night as the transport from the BA airport was terrible. It took us 4 hours to get out of the airport! Anyway, when we arrived at American Del Sur, it's still lively. People are sitting at the common area surfing on the internet, staff are still awake. The entrance is looked 24-hour with staff always stand-by at the reception.

Room:
A very basic bedroom. Don't expect much from the room but good enough as a hostel. The only 2 commends I would give is 1) it is a bit noisy even during night time. I do not understand why it is so noisy as the hostel is not situated on a main road but there are trucks coming in even after mid night. I need a pair of ear plugs to sleep. 2) the sink is located in the bedroom which made it a bit inconvenient after using toilet. and it is easy to make the rest of the room wet

Kitchen:
There is a shared kitchen in the common area. You can use it freely and keep your food in the fridge. There is some cooking utensils and cutlery for you to use freely. However, the maintenance of the kitchen is really so so. Dun expect a neat and tidy kitchen. Things are here and there. At late night, it could even be a bit scary in terms of hygiene. But I believe it depends on who are staying at the hostel during your stay.

Service:
You can't use a five star hotel service standard to rate them. But they are definitely doing a good job to provide a 6 star hostel service. Staff are easily approachable, friendly, helpful and caring. They are all young people just came out from school. Speaks very good English and passionate in interacting with people from over the world. Especially that we encountered a serious flight delay. They allowed us to stay at the hostel freely for the rest of the day till midnight, lending out freely their bathroom in the common area, called for us to the airline to check what has been going on, and finally arranged a taxi to the airport for us in the midnight. We had been very lost at that moment and they have been very helpful and considerate in assisting us, which we really appreciate very much.

Activities:
There are different free/ charged activities arranged by the hostel and they are all very historic and cultural related, helping you to understand more about Argentina. We have joined one of their free guided tour. It started at the hostel, the staff guided you around the designated area, explaining the history and culture bilingual, led you the way to take public transport and you can ask freely any questions. I think this is not something you can have anyway else.

Location:
Convenient, around 10- 15 mins walk to the town centre and main tourist area (Av. Florida) and the subte. That area is not a rich area but a bit of poverty. However, I still think it is fine as a hostel location. Convenience is most important!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tungtung1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hostel is in a great location and while it is clean, (rooms only, kitchen an absolute disgrace!!) comfortable and modern it has real security issues. My phone was stolen from our locked, private room on the fourth floor. The manager was very apologetic and I believe genuinely upset about it but this doesnt alleviate the huge inconvenience this has been to the trip! She assured me no-one had been in there but the cleaner and the cleaner denied nicking it so ill leave you to draw your own conclusions. Security cameras are pointed straight at the door of our room but when i asked about them the manager said they only monitor and dont record. DODGY! Then, on our last day another girl had a bag stolen from a common area while her back was turned. If thats not enough for you the internet was out of action for three of our 4 days there (no wifi or anything). Impossible to recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Pick another hostel if you want security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This was by far the best Hostel I've come across in Argentina.

- staff speaks great English
- rooms and interior are new and kept very clean
- great breakfast selection
- right in the middle of San Telmo not far from Bus/Metro
- quiet

The only downsides are that the kitchen is a bit small for a hostel that size and the Internet connection suffers from occasional hiccups.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturgefahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#59 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
#5 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Palermo
Meridiano Hostel
Meridiano Hostel
#28 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Florida
Hostel Suites Florida
#9 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America del Sur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America del Sur Hostel

Property: America del Sur Hostel
Address: Chacabuco 718, Buenos Aires 1098, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 454 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — America del Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your America del Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Del Sur Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing