We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and clean but not very sociable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
America del Sur Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Modern and clean but not very sociable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

There's no doubt that this is one of the cleanest and most modern hostels I have ever stayed in. The staff were also super friendly and very helpful. The location was also great and a really easy walk to the centre of San Telmo. however, I wasn't a fan of the design of the dorms. They were small, which was fine as that was what I was expecting but If all 4 people were there during the day it would be very cramped. The bathroom set up was very unusual and as the room was so small you could hear everything which I always find a little uncomfortable. Also, if you wanted some privacy to get changed you had to do this in the toilet as everywhere in the shower room would get wet. As others have mentioned it's not got a very sociable atmosphere, for solo travellers in particular. This may be because the "chill out" area is separate from the eating area and patio. Either way it wasn't conducive to meeting people and whilst I was there (sat-tues) there weren't any hostel activities organised to help you get to meet people.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gracethebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    218
    55
    7
    9
See reviews for
28
161
183
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed in the 4 bed dorm, it was very comfortable, good beds, lockers and hot showers. Was pretty quiet at night.

Spacious common areas, wifi was a little patchy, kitchen could use a few more cooking implements. Apart from that recommended for a for a couple of nights to conserve some energy before hitting the town.

Seems more focused to people travelling in groups so if you are a solo traveller I would recommend one of the busier 'party' hostels like Art Factory or Milhouse

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

A clean, tidy, modern hostel with defend size private rooms with private bathroom.

The common areas are clean and spacious giving a really good feel.

The staff are the biggest asset and can't do enough for you, all incredibly friendly and help full.

Trips and events are organised so if you want to party you will find out great ways here, however the hostel itself doesn't have wild late nights so if you are after a decent sleep that is catered for as well.

One downside was intermittent WiFi in the room though it was good in common areas.

A bit more expensive but in my view worth it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovely, clean, well located hostel with second to none service and a good breakfast. Nothing bad to say about this place - in the heart of San Telmo, a little pricier than some hostels but great value for money. Highly recommended for that part of town

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our family truly enjoyed our time at America Del Sur. The hostel has spotless rooms and common areas but the best asset is their great staff. Tati, Marianna and all the staff members at the front desk are truly interested in helping you make the best time in Buenos Aires. We really appreciated that, especially in such a big hostel. Thank you very much to them, we highly recommend America del Sur for its great location, clean rooms and great staff. We also highly recommend the free city tour with Culture Tour, Nicola and Ignacio are amazing guides and we had a great day following them around the city and learning more about Argentina's fascinating history.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frederic_P105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is the best hostel we have stayed in this trip and that includes the USA. Seriously outstanding service and attention to detail. We stayed in another hostel in BA and this was so far ahead it's not funny.

The Friday night BBQ is excellent. Also make sure you try the share plate at La Poesia two blocks away on chile street. This place was great we kept going back for more.

Room Tip: When we first arrived the prior people in our room had clearly been smoking. The staff member was re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I really loved this modern hostel with clean rooms and updated furniture. It is in a convenient location and the employees are happy to help with booking any kind of outing you can think of. It is truly a must stay location in BA.

Room Tip: Get a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdubyapepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#59 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#5 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
#6 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Palermo
Meridiano Hostel
Meridiano Hostel
#29 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Florida
Hostel Suites Florida
#8 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America del Sur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America del Sur Hostel

Property: America del Sur Hostel
Address: Chacabuco 718, Buenos Aires 1098, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 487 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — America del Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your America del Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Del Sur Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing