We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced...an average hotel trying to be luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
Ranked #84 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Mansion Vitraux was the second hotel my wife and stayed at in BA. Our first hotel cost a third as much and was much more genuine. I feel like Mansion Vitraux very much wants to be a luxury hotel. They're located in a trendy, touristy area, so they feel okay charging luxury hotel prices. However, there were a lot of little things that irked me about this place.

The odd room layout that makes you keep your blinds shut all the time, lest every other guest see right into your bedroom. The shoddy construction of the walls and ceilings. The non-functioning bathroom fixtures. Large amounts of mold on the walls and mushrooms growing in the bathroom.

There are some positives...great breakfast, dulce de leche cookies left by the cleaning staff, rooftop pool, convenience to San Telmo market....but overall, still only three stars.

For what they charge, I would have expected a lot more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the street.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drizell253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

Great location for Puerto Madaro and the ever popular San Telmo, this small boutique hotel delivers on a number of levels from eclectic bedrooms, great breakfast area, a small number of guests with great customer service right through the whole team. This was my 4th visit to the city on business having stayed in chain hotels, this definitely broke that mould and really enhanced the visit.
Will definitely return to take advantage of the wine tasting which work prevented us from exploiting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandeville1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Mansion Vitraux is a retreat in the middle of the historic San Telmo district.
All the 12 rooms are beautifully decorated in a different way. The bed is great and the bathroom really cool.
It has a roof top pool and a basement indoor swimming pool, where you can also get a massage, which I did, and was very good.
The a la carte breakfast is set in the wine cellar on a long table, where everybody sits together on high benches (not the best confort though). The food is great, and if you´re into doce de leite, you´ll crave for more!
The staff is extremely helpful, there was a national stirke on our last day, and it was the receptionist that alerted us to the fact that there were no planes leaving. She called the airline and did all the necessary arrangements to change the flights. Very proactive in all the process.
The San Telmo district is very pictoresque, there are a lot of small stores selling all sorts of second hand furniture and memorabilla, for vintage stuff is great.
The Market is just across the street, and in the plaza at the end of the street there are a lot of typical cafés and restaurants, some with Tango shows in the weekends. Also there´s a street flea market. However it is quite old and dirty, not as neat and cool as Palermo or Recoletta.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra_Pulido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

San Telmo's little dream boutique hotel.
Small rooms but beautifully appointed.
Wine tastings, breakfast and a great place to drink downstairs.
Great location and wonderful staff.
Rooftop pool is kind of a weird shape but it works as there are never too many people there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBruceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed for 5 nights during christmas 2012.
Room was fine, however very dark due to the style of decor - all walls were black and the shower was leaking water all over the floor all day.
We bought our stay at hotels.com where it said breakfast was included, however the first morning they told us that our breakfast was not included. We showed them our receipt and had a talk with them, and they "gave" us our included breakfast.

The service was very good - very helpfull receptionist. Helped us call around restaurants for christmas and showed places to visit on the map. They have a lot of details in there service - wheather forecast in your room every day, newspaper to your room in the morning etc.

The breakfast is very good (you choose from a menu card)
The roof-top swimmingppol/terrace is amazing! Their indoor spa is good for relaxing on a rainy day or after a lot of walking around in BA.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Good in concept, but poorly executed.
All room windows face the inerior of the builduing giving you little privacy and a claustrophobic feeling. This also made the room extremely dark not letting you know if it's light or dark outside.
As far as service, don't expect much. My room had 2 floor towels and when I asked the concierge for regular towels she said they ran out. Really?? What hotel runs out of towels for its guests. Would it hurt to buy a few extras just in case?
Location was the only thing that made this hotel stand out. Well located with walkable areas in San telmo and puerto madero.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I got sick because of something I ate at an unrelated hotel. I ended up spending 24 hours in the hotel room with the flu. The hotel staff were very nice and accommodating. They had an English speaking doctor come and made me foods I could eat.

Initially the room we were given had water damage and had a bit of a mildew smell. We asked to be moved and were moved to a room without any water damage. The room still had a bit of a wet smell. Both rooms faced onto the interior courtyard so there were no exterior windows to get fresh air from. At night, the music and voices from the restaurant in the courtyard could be heard from our rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor and facing the exterior.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
CH Madero Urbano Suites
CH Madero Urbano Suites
#45 of 443 in Buenos Aires
329 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Vitrum
Hotel Vitrum
#105 of 443 in Buenos Aires
369 reviews
San Telmo
Anselmo Buenos Aires, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#95 of 443 in Buenos Aires
478 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#60 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,242 reviews
Palermo
Awwa Suites & Spa
Awwa Suites & Spa
#68 of 443 in Buenos Aires
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Carlos Calvo 369. | San Telmo. CABA, Buenos Aires C1102AAG, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#66 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#73 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and understated sophistication. Mansion Vitraux is one of the most trendy alternative that the cosmopolitan city of Buenos Aires can offer to tourists who come looking for design, art, style and distinction. Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel enjoys a delicious location, surrounded by visual richness and picturesque beauty. It is one of the most concentrated areas and cultural heritage of the city of Buenos Aires. Street markets, colonial churches and buildings, museums, antiques sales, cutting edge gourmet restaurants, street performers, give this neighborhood an eclectic feel. You will definitely enjoy the unique relaxing Bleu Wellness Lounge with sauna, massages, gym and indoor heated pool. At the Terraza Las Cupulas we offer an oasis to relax and enjoy, a heated pool with upstream swimming, an outdoor Jacuzzi, sofa lounges and the sundeck will do the trick... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel, Wine Lounge And Spa
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel, Wine Lounge Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing