We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty and unfriendly”
Review of Hotel Bolivar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bolivar
Ranked #380 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dirty and unfriendly”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

well, it's great located but the crew is very cold and the towels were dirty when there was towels in the room... the kitchen is a shame...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    25
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
22
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

In our instance we didn't pay much (only $30 for the night as we wanted a quick one night stopover) but to be honest I wouldn't have stayed there for nothing, in fact we ended up changing our plans and taking an overnight bus to Mendoza instead!

The whole place was shabby, poorly decorated and not properly cleaned, which is a shame as the building itself is beautiful with a lovely central courtyard and a great location in San Telmo. The bathrooms are communal, which is fine, but the fact that the toilet flush stuck down every time it was used and one of the showers was permanently stuck on hot, was not.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenacious_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Simple hotel, very basic. You get what you pay for. We shared a twin single room, the room was clean, the beds seemed clean. (Never sure, so we just chucked a sheet on them anyway). The majority of the staff were very helpful and friendly, there was only one older gent who wasn't very interested. Fantastic location, just 3 mins from Plaza Dorrego in San Telmo. Bit scrubby around the edges, but to be expected when paying 10 GBP a night per person. Recommed stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Only a 10 minute walk into the city centre and safe neightbourhood. The bathrooms are nice and spacious. Drawbacks - they offer no facilities, no kitchen, internet or TV common room. The rooms are VERY basic and need some work done.

Room Tip: Rooms are very basic, stairs are small and slippy so try and get one near the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Upon arriving, I read the previous review on bed bugs so I inspected the bedding and mattress. After sleeping the first night I hadn't noticed any bites, bugs or poop spots so I think I might be in the clear. The first room I stayed in had no heating since it's meant to summer guests. The second night I checked the mattress a bit more thoroughly and still no bugs or evidence. I guess the fact that this mattress has no signs and seems kinda old helps me feel better.

The price here is unbelievably cheap. Since I'm here alone for a few days (and on a budget) $105 pesos ARG a night for a private double room with a bathroom seems like one heck of a deal. It's not technically a hostel but they've obviously put some work into the kitchen. It smells like new paint and has the basics including a four burner gas range, full refrigerator, cutlery, pots/pans, cups, etc.

The amazing thing about this place is that it WAS obviously really nice. Spiral staircase, marble steps, wood and tile throughout. It's sad that it kind of looks like it's falling apart. Yes, paint is peeling, wood floors are in horrible shape, but it has a certain charm that makes me want to photograph the heck out of this place!

Anyhow, I would come back... I LOVE the location and all of the shops, restaurants, indoor market and monster huge antique street market on Sundays, pretty freaking incredible area of town!! <3

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christine_candice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

we booked a reservation after friends recommended. Seemed like good value, great location.. but then...our bed was a bed bug Pearl Harbor. After 2 hours, we started scratching a lot... turned on the light and we found 15-20 bugs in our bed. I went downstairs to tell the guy at the front desk.... first, he called them mosquitos (that's the typical response) so then I emptied a jar with three inside on the reception desk. He didn't charge us for the night and we left soon after. YUCK!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benjiwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

The hotel is in San Telmo near Bocco and therefore is not central: however taxi rides are inexpensive and the subway is within a half hour walk.

The units are each unique and all surround courtyards. The units are not quiet...the hotel owners rented the roof deck for a party (above us) and the party continued until very late and were aware of the noise until 4 am and did nothing. In the unit we had you do hear those going up and down stairs and walking above you and if anyone is in the courtyard in the morning you will hear them: our units was ground level. Plumbing was a bit of a problem and requests to fix the problem were not dealt with until reminded and the last two day just not fixed.

For the cost you would be better off with a unit more central....as other friends of our did during the same visit

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VanRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Hostel Sol
#352 of 446 in Buenos Aires
68 reviews
Gran Hotel America
#337 of 446 in Buenos Aires
30 reviews
Hotel Carrara
#291 of 446 in Buenos Aires
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cosme
#406 of 446 in Buenos Aires
13 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#56 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,391 reviews
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel Avenida
Gran Hotel Avenida
#317 of 446 in Buenos Aires
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bolivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bolivar

Property: Hotel Bolivar
Address: Calle Gral Simon Bolivar 886 | Entre la Avenida Independencia y la calle Estados Unidos, Buenos Aires C1066AAR, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bolivar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent location, 3 blocks from Plaza Dorrego and 7 blocks from downtown, Hotel Bolivar offers more than 30 rooms so that you stay without spending more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bolivar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing