We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Circus hotel and hostal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #55 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Very good hostal, excellent breakfast, bar, outdoor grill in evening. Clean, only problem bar on ground floor loses at 7 am on weekends. Can also be noisy during week. Apart from this problem I recommend this hostal. Half way between San Telmo and Centro

Room Tip: Do not sleep on first floor be ause of noise from the. Ar
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for Circus Hostel & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

I wanted to stay here based on the tripadvisor reviews. Even though the official check-in time is 1500 hours, we arrived at 1100 hours and informed that our room would not be ready till 1300 hours. After arriving from an overnight train, we were sweaty and not in a good frame of mine to go sightseeing without first taking a shower and freshen up. They don't communicate with their housekeeping via walkie-talkies or even calling on the telephone. Someone from the reception desk would have to go and check. There is a swimming pool, tough on the small side, more for looks or wading than actually swimming, but my partner actually did take a dip and swim in their swimming pool. There are to desktop PC's in the lobby, first come first serve. Dining is available in the evening with an outside vendor whom apparently is quite good at cooking and serving up meats from another customer also staying at the hotel.

Our room was finally available after 1300 hours, it's on the small side, no chairs, a small work surface area but not very comfortable staying in the room. The bathroom was small and tight, barely enough clearance for the door to swing open or close, and not comfortable of opening nor closing the door when inside as I have to move my body out of the way to either open or close the door, a poor desgn. Air-conditioner does work, but remote control was not provided when we checked in, and noticed another customer given a remote for the air-conditioner after checking through the drawer as several had dead batteries. The included breakfast was minimal providing a continental breakfast full of carbs, fruit, coffee, tea, croissants. I'm not favorably impressed with this place, despite all the favorable reviews here after personally staying here. When we checked out and wanted to pay with a credit card, they accept it with a five percent surcharge. We were better off paying in cash and withdraw more from our debit card at an ATM. Not recommendable to stay here, would like to check out their food here in the evening though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maquiavelo82, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Panda88 we regret that we checked you in just 2 hours before the ceck in hour 15:00 at Circus, next time we will try harder. Also we regret that our 4 squear meter bathroom was not big enough and sorry for the poor design air conditioner made in Argentina.
Thank you very much for your review we hope the best
Circus staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

It has been almost 11 months since I stayed here with a friend on a trip of Buenos Aires. Guess a review is in order. (Also because I am researching again for hotels on my trip, and truly appreciate reviews by guests.)

It was lovely. I loved the options for breakfast, especially the generous orange juice, dulce de leche, pastries and coffee. Huge range, but felt the breakfast hours could be longer, though they always accomodated my late coming to breakfast, and allowed me to rescue what I could before they packed everything away. So you can come towards the end, and stay as as long as you want to have your meal. Not chased away. Having a restaurant on site with reasonably priced dishes was great too. And on some nights it became a bar (like on the night we arrived, but I came down too late to enjoy), though not sleazy thankfully. The patrons/guests always seemed more sober and fun. Nice bunch.

We got a private twin room with attached washroom/bathroom. There was the interesting sit-down basin where you can wash yourself after toiletting, but we preferred not to use it, as it didn't seem as inviting (rust along where the water squirts) and also since we were unfamiliar with such a system. We had a bathtub, but didn't feel like having a bath again, as it seemed a little worn. Shower curtain helped to not dirty the place. Noticed the wear and tear, but something expected, and it wasn't that bad comparatively.

The room was clean and spacious. On the second night, we returned to find our window open, slated upward, and thought it was broken! The nice staff showed us that the window can be opened on all side, except on the left. We found that interesting. This way of opening the window allows the room to ventilate with non of the rain.

The air-conditioner had only an extension cord (plug socket looked DIYed) had a standard temperature, and not even the staff had no idea how to change the temperature even with a air-conditioner remote, and it did get very cold at nights, so it was good that the duvets and blankets were very good.

The atmosphere was friendly and nice, noticed that those from the dorms always were welcoming and seated together during breakfasts, nice to note, if I was travelling alone.
Entrance to the 'lobby' means passing through two gates, or the restaurant instead of the inner gate/door. Felt safe always when we were in there, though at times got the idea that the street we were on was shady, but no threats or nothing to fear. There is a gym just across, our room window actually looked into there, but don't worry, your privacy is still assured.

The reception counter serves as a money changer, and if they don't have enough on them, they would point you to a really accredited money changer about 5 minutes walk away, around the corner from a plaza (think it is the one with the famous Sunday bazaar), and we always liked to watch the sights and shops on our way and back.

The receptionists are TERRIFIC! On the first night, trying to beat jetlag, I was at the lounge area, and Raphael? patiently listened to me while I rambled on, and was very sweet.

On the last night, Jorge?, was the sweetest, and helped us book tickets to the Blind Theatre much later on in our trip, and even helped print the confirmation for us.

They allowed us to stay at the very comfortable lounge while awaiting our taxi (which they helped us call) to take our coach to Iguassu. If we had not booked a separate accomodation (mainly as it was a Tango dance school) after our trip to Iguassu, we certainly would have booked with them again.

We found the premises clean and inviting. Warm and vibrant colours. Nice range of books left by previous guests near the tv, which had a good range on channels just when you need to kill time. The computers with internet were popular, and some keys were wonky on the keyboard, and we had trouble adapting to the spanish English version of Qwerty, but they functioned fine, and I often found myself there, especially on the nights. There was free wifi anyway, but I really liked hanging out at the lounge.

The pool was cleaned on the second day we were there, and looked nice, but yes, interestingly, no one gets into the pool, but maybe it is because it was really cold, the second day we were there onwards. There are nice lounge chairs there - nice to chill and there was a grill there, though we didn't have any of the famous grilled meat while there.

On the whole I really loved it, I would consider them again the next time I drop by, mainly because I felt safe and comfortable, and the guys were great!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manicirony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

When I arrived in Buenos Aires, was looking for a hotel that was not extremely expensive but at the time was a comfortable and had good service. Circus, was that, nice rooms, swimming pool, good breakfasts and a location that although is not perfect, is ideal if you are a tourist, because San Telmo is a neighborhood which is in a perfect location for tourists.

Really, the days I spent in Circus, were perfect, their areas made ​​me feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gustmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights, excellent clean room, helpful english speaking staff. Breakfast adequate. The facilities are excellent with free wifi, pool table, computers, tv and lounge area. Bathrooms were clean. Loved it!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emergency_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

After reading some of the reviews we thought this place might be too noisy and load for our honeymoon. But this certainty wasn't the case. The place was great, quiet, clean and friendly.
We only rated the place with 4 because w felt that the rooms were a little small and breakfast could have been a little richer...
Most say that the staff was very friendly but especially Carla, that was the nicest.
Tip for the room- we got room 36, facing the inner yard and the pool. It was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NadavBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We arrived at the hotel about 9am and although we check in wasn't until 3pm, offered to hold our luggage to enable us to go sightseeing. We stayed in a spacious double room on the third floor overlooking the street. The double glazing was sufficient to cut out most of the noise and we never had a problem getting to sleep. The room was clean and serviced daily. There is a restaurant attached which offers basic snack food - nothing too fancy but inexpensive.

The hotel is located in San Telmo and is just a short walk from many bars and restaurants. The grid system of streets makes it very easy to navigate.

We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and attentive and spoke excellent English, which was good considering our Spanish was very basic!

Overall this is an excellent place to stay in Buenos Aires at a very reasonable price.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TheHappyChappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#138 of 443 in Buenos Aires
564 reviews
Hotel Rey Buenos Aires
#172 of 443 in Buenos Aires
224 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#222 of 443 in Buenos Aires
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#121 of 443 in Buenos Aires
2,413 reviews
Hostel Sol
#345 of 443 in Buenos Aires
68 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Reconquista Garden
Hotel Reconquista Garden
#168 of 443 in Buenos Aires
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circus Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circus Hostel & Hotel

Address: Chacabuco 1020 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1069AAV, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#61 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#72 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#95 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £10 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Circus Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of San Telmo - Buenos Aires, Circus Hostel & Hotel offers a very good combination of price and quality of service, both for the hotel traveler and for the hostel traveler. Our rooms were created so you can get a good rest without losing the desire to go out and walk, for that reason have no TV or telephone. You can choose the option with Continental breakfast that is served every morning. Daily activities organized by the hotel to discover and enjoy Bueno Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Circus Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Buenos Aires
Circus Hostel And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing