We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad it was only one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #59 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
691 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 796 helpful votes
“Glad it was only one night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

From reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I really felt like I was led astray. It was nothing like what I expected. The service was minimal and the room was small and basic. No table, no hair dryer, no TV, and the small wardrobe and bench furniture was all quite shabby. The light in the hall was off so I had to feel in the dark to get the key in the lock to enter our room. No towels, no remote for the air conditioner and no safe. I took the lift back to the lobby as there was no stair case other than the fire escape and only one small lift for the whole building. I inquired about towels and was told they had a problem and that the towels would be delivered in 20 minutes.

This was at about 5pm. Regarding the aircon, at first they seemed surprised that it wasn’t working and then they handed me a remote control (it worked really well once we got it going). I came back in around 8.30 and was handed a towel. I had to argue to get the second towel, pushing to convince the receptionist that there were really two of us.

My feeling is that it may once have been a hostel, and to some degree still behaves like one. The young people here seem to like it, and it’s the youth that they seem to be catering to, with ‘cool’ young people on the desk, a lounge area with a pool table, big TV, and a swimming pool that was well used by the clientele.

If this is your scene you may have a good time here, but if you’re just looking for nice room with good service and the usual facilities, forget it. I paid a fairly substantial 500 pesos for the privilege.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comment
Hostels rooms do not have TV in rooms because we want people to know the city and each other instead of watching TV alone in the room .

We are very sorry about towels issues during new year and christmas, laundry´s where close and we did our best effort but seems not enough.

There are stair cases of course beside the elevator and there are maps in every room that show you your way in case of emergency. Maybe one night was not enough to pay attention to some details

We hope you choose as again for you next trip and stay a few more night.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    518
    141
    34
    17
See reviews for
154
369
258
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights and i found it to be a personal and nice place. In short the roos are simple but good. No TV, in the room but on in the common area. No one uses it anyway. Clean and the rooms has air-condition. The staff are friendly and talkative. They wil help u find what u need in BA. A small but nice pool area in the back, seems to function as a gathering point for people. There was always someone there having a beer or a cool-down in the pool. It has bubbles.
Will i go back. Yes i will. Actually i have booked my next stay already.

Room Tip: Chose ask for a room towards the back. There can be some noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review, and as you said you are already coming back see you soon.
Happy new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genoa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Circus is a great place for visiting baires. All was ok staff friendly , good position, room with conditioned air and wifi. To visit ba in 3-4 days ia a great hostal and is very close to la boca, mictocentro and retiro.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiogenoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. we wish you a happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

A good hostel, located in a good area. Nice staff and good service. Located in a Nice neighborhood. Good price quality ratio We only had 1 working electricity point in our room. But had a good stay.............

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nienke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Google Translation
Le agradecemos su opinión y los esperamos pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Circus hostel & hotel will be my residence in every trip to Buenos Aires. Cleanness, great Customer care, excellent location are some of the wonderful features that you can find in this Hotel. Rooms are very confortable, for the relation price quality. This option is really ammaizing. Rooms don't have TV but YOU WON'T NEED TV in Buenos Aires!!! The hotel is located at the heart of San Telmo and you will enjoy the street fair on sundays with crafts, typical clothes, food, etc. You will be just 6 block to Puero Madero and 7 block to La Casa Rosada (Goverment palace). If you love walking, you can go to El Retiro and visit Evita Peron's Mauseleum. the route will be very nice!!!. Buenos Aires's Nightlife is amazing, people is really beauty and for sure you will find wherever you wnat to find ;). Do Circus hostel & hotel part of your dream in BAs. Enjoy

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panchojmv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Its a really good advice for all travelers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The staff was very nice, relaxed, laid back and helpful.
Location was also very good, walking distance to many attractions and nice restaurants in the neighbourhood (tip: "Nacional" on Peru st. was amazing).
Very good bar with cheap soft drinks and beer to have at the pool or the pool table.
Not very "touristy".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sebastian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review, is true our prices at the bar are good and non touristic because we want you to have a good time.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Friendly reception staff, great breakfast, reception is open all the time. Room very basic, I missed a fridge in the room. And didn't like the check-in (15h), check-out (10h) time. Internet WiFi was a little spotty. Despite this, is a nice place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AdrianoMaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#136 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Hotel Rey Buenos Aires
#183 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Gran Hotel America
#297 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#48 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#91 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Recoleta
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
San Diego Recoleta Apartments
#70 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circus Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circus Hostel & Hotel

Property: Circus Hostel & Hotel
Address: Chacabuco 1020 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1069AAV, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#62 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#73 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#96 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Circus Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally in San Telmo – Buenos Aires, at Circus Hostel & Hotel we combine low prices with a chill atmosphere to create a hostel with the look and feel of a boutique hotel.Our rooms were created for you to be able to rest quietly. From every room you will have an incredible view of the beautiful San Telmo neighborhood.Our breakfast includes croissants, toast, jams, squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Circus Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Buenos Aires
Circus Hostel And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing