We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #55 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Its a great place to spend your vacations in Buenos Aires and enjoy the city to the fullest. Easy connections to everywhere in the city as well as walking distance from great places. The atmosphere is amasing and the stuff give you the feeling that you are visiting your family:) Great service!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for Circus Hostel & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a very nice place to stay, you are very close to a lot of attractions on down town, being on Summer and having the pool is also a big plus for this place.

On the other hand one of the bad things from here are the beds, at least for my room the bed was not too comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rmay0rga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I will check specifically your room and the bed inside because usually we have opposite comments about it. Thank you for your review and time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a perfect place to stay if you are a backpacker or a young couple. The rooms are clean but basic. Easy to meet new people och nice facilities with pooltable and swimmingpool in the backyard.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Awesome place to stay if you're in a budget, and want to meet new people.
The staff is wonderful, very helpful.
Location is good, right at the very heart of Buenos Aires (San Telmo).
Good conditions, the pool is great for freshening up.
Recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 4th floor are very quiet, good for a nice rest.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tanitaduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review we are glad to hear those words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The pool is the big pluss here. Do not underestimate the heat in Buenos Aires in December. Relaxed vibe, a mix between backpackers and families. The rooms are basic but ok, and the staff was friendly and helpful to us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

From reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I really felt like I was led astray. It was nothing like what I expected. The service was minimal and the room was small and basic. No table, no hair dryer, no TV, and the small wardrobe and bench furniture was all quite shabby. The light in the hall was off so I had to feel in the dark to get the key in the lock to enter our room. No towels, no remote for the air conditioner and no safe. I took the lift back to the lobby as there was no stair case other than the fire escape and only one small lift for the whole building. I inquired about towels and was told they had a problem and that the towels would be delivered in 20 minutes.

This was at about 5pm. Regarding the aircon, at first they seemed surprised that it wasn’t working and then they handed me a remote control (it worked really well once we got it going). I came back in around 8.30 and was handed a towel. I had to argue to get the second towel, pushing to convince the receptionist that there were really two of us.

My feeling is that it may once have been a hostel, and to some degree still behaves like one. The young people here seem to like it, and it’s the youth that they seem to be catering to, with ‘cool’ young people on the desk, a lounge area with a pool table, big TV, and a swimming pool that was well used by the clientele.

If this is your scene you may have a good time here, but if you’re just looking for nice room with good service and the usual facilities, forget it. I paid a fairly substantial 500 pesos for the privilege.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you very much for your comment
Hostels rooms do not have TV in rooms because we want people to know the city and each other instead of watching TV alone in the room .

We are very sorry about towels issues during new year and christmas, laundry´s where close and we did our best effort but seems not enough.

There are stair cases of course beside the elevator and there are maps in every room that show you your way in case of emergency. Maybe one night was not enough to pay attention to some details

We hope you choose as again for you next trip and stay a few more night.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights and i found it to be a personal and nice place. In short the roos are simple but good. No TV, in the room but on in the common area. No one uses it anyway. Clean and the rooms has air-condition. The staff are friendly and talkative. They wil help u find what u need in BA. A small but nice pool area in the back, seems to function as a gathering point for people. There was always someone there having a beer or a cool-down in the pool. It has bubbles.
Will i go back. Yes i will. Actually i have booked my next stay already.

Room Tip: Chose ask for a room towards the back. There can be some noise from the street
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego V, Propietario at Circus Hostel & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review, and as you said you are already coming back see you soon.
Happy new year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#133 of 443 in Buenos Aires
564 reviews
Hotel Rey Buenos Aires
#171 of 443 in Buenos Aires
224 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#221 of 443 in Buenos Aires
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#120 of 443 in Buenos Aires
2,413 reviews
Hostel Sol
#345 of 443 in Buenos Aires
68 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Reconquista Garden
Hotel Reconquista Garden
#169 of 443 in Buenos Aires
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circus Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circus Hostel & Hotel

Address: Chacabuco 1020 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1069AAV, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#61 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#72 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#95 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £10 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Circus Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of San Telmo - Buenos Aires, Circus Hostel & Hotel offers a very good combination of price and quality of service, both for the hotel traveler and for the hostel traveler. Our rooms were created so you can get a good rest without losing the desire to go out and walk, for that reason have no TV or telephone. You can choose the option with Continental breakfast that is served every morning. Daily activities organized by the hotel to discover and enjoy Bueno Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Circus Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Buenos Aires
Circus Hostel And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing