We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, helpful staff and vey good locationan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Ranked #43 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Great room, helpful staff and vey good locationan”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This Recoleta area hotel is in a great location for accessing the center of BA, shops, restaurants, banks, convenience stores and only a few blocks walk to the Recoleta Cemetery and the BA Hop On Hop Off Bus. Very safe to walk around the area after dark as well as day time. The hotel is modern and very clean. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and all spoke good English. They helped to point out routes on the maps provided, booked transfers to the airport and assisted in booking tours when asked. The room was great, very comfortable beds and sitting area with table, desk and chairs. Bathroom was modern European style and my only complaint with the design is lack of bathroom counter space, no shelving or surface area to really store toiletries or put your towels or clothing while in the bathroom. Also can't quite figure out how shower designers figure a half shower wall is practical...I guess that is one way to get the floor washed at the
same time as showering!? Wifi was available in the room for no extra cost and worked well. Cold buffet breakfast was included in the room cost. The breakfast included juices, coffee, cereals, yogurts, pastries, breads, cold cuts, cheeses and fresh fruits. The small dining area seemed to be able to accommodate everyone as they arrived for breakfast. Sandwiches and drinks can be ordered throughout the day though we did not do this. Another nice touch is the complimentary welcome drink for each guest....a choice of coffee, juice, soda or wine. Mini bar was also available in the room. The lobby had comfortable seating and also computers for internet access. There is also an exercise, sauna and hottub area which didn't appear to be getting used. My husband went to use the hottub once but it was not heated that evening though it had been when we checked it a previous day. I definitely recommend this hotel for the service, room quality and location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    322
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
266
359
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at the HJ Recoleta around October last year and we absolutely loved the hotel, that's why we stayed there again last month. At our arrival, we were put in a room on the first floor right next to the neighboring construction and we were woken up by someone hammering the wall at 6.30am. Note that when we booked the room six months before, we asked for a high floor and a king size bed (we found two beds). We complained the next morning and were sent to another floor.

The construction apparently is not going to be completed anytime soon and rooms ending 2 and 4 may be noisy.

The cleaning staff was a bit careless, sometimes they left just one hand towel, sometimes we had nothing to put on the bathroom floor.

Well, despite these facts, we tried to enjoy our trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kafkanapraia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Good-
-Excellent Location (safe neighbourhood, cabs are cheap, so you can get anywhere)
-The Hotel Staff, the best point by far, was the staff themselves, very helpful and friendly, especially Maximillio (spelling?!)
-clean large rooms
-the 'gym', sauna and hot tub are included
-free wifi!! I love this about a hotel, when they are not looking to nickel and dime you!
-breakfast was also included (bread, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice), plenty for me to start the day
-price, very reasonable


The Bad
-construction next door was noisy, and will probably get louder as the build a new building next door
-the gym is kid of laughable, one treadmill! hahah but every time I went to use it, it was available
-the towel, come on replace the towels, they had threads hanging all over, and they don't give you any wash clothes

The Ugly
-smoking! It says its a non-smoking hotel, but they had an ashtray in the room....and it reaked of smoke every night in my room from my neighbour...ick!

Having said all that if I was coming back to BA I would love at the Hilton in the Peurto Madero district, we ate most of our dinners down there, so it would be more convenient.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are basically the same, 4 per floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritimeExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Howard Johnson Boutique hotel in Recoleta, Buenos Aires. It is fairly central but in a nice quiet area. The breakfast was good and the staff helpful. The shopping avenue of Santa Fe is just around the corner. Rooms were nice and spacious., but take your own coffee as they only provide one portion and then you have to purchase if you want additional coffee for the'coffee and tea facilities in the room The only small disappointment was a Tour of The Tigre Delta that the hotel booked for us- it was not wat we had expected at all- but the tour was not theirs they just recommended it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Great hotel, charming and helpful staff, wifi access everywhere, simple yet ok breakfast and spacious room.

the location is great, in a quiet street but close to all the landmarks

will go there again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudiobxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We were in B.A in March 2010. We are a family of 3 with a teenage boy. We stayed at HJ Hotel Boutique Recoleta in B. A. We highly recommend it! Great 4 stars hotel in a quit and safe neighbourhood. Very modern and well equipped with all amenities. Large rooms with great windows and wonderful bathrooms. A true 4 stars. Great service and really good buffet breakfast.
The staff was really helpful and made us feel really welcomed.
Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We chose this hotel on the basis of former Trip Advisor high reviews. It met and even exceeded our expectations. The location was very convenient and safe, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful in making reservations, recommendations and arranging transportation--in short, meeting our every need. The rooms were clean and attractive; with very comfortable beds and a great bath/shower. The breakfasts offered a great variety of foods and sweets as well. This hotel also offered great value. There were some spa services and a small jacuzzi, however, we did not take advantage of them. We will definitely go to this hotel when we return to Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: There is construction next door, so rooms in the back might be better. Noise did not disturb us, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ade5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#47 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#123 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#42 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#50 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Address: Calle Pena 2049, Buenos Aires C1126ABA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#59 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#79 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta, strategically located in one of the most exclusive areas of Buenos Aires, is only few minutes away from the financial district and the most prestigious cultural, commercial and entertainment attractions with easy access to Buenos Aires domestic and international airports. More than a hotel it is a philosophy in which each guest is our focus and their needs are anticipated and satisfied in the most personalised and professional way. A unique experience centred on excellence and quality service, which will make your stay memorable. Designed and equipped with the highest technology and with the most refined selection of facilities and details to offer the most pleasant, comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Boutique Recoleta
Howard Johnson Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing