We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location, great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Ranked #47 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, great value.”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I usually don't stay at chain hotels - I prefer 'local' places, so I was a bit skeptical about a Howard Johnson property. But this one is great. Super clean, friendly service and a great breakfast included. It's walking distance to many good restaurants, the Recoleta Cemetery, Fine Arts museum. We walked late at night with no problems. My only minor complaint is that the wi-fi got slow in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmelhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    326
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
271
362
37
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I liked because the location was perfect, it is located in a very quiet street, but is near to one of the busiest streets in Buenos Aires, Santa Fe. Also near to good restorants and places to drink coffee and eat medialunas. The area was very safe.
Rooms were wide, big, clean bathroom, and we had free wifi access. The breakfast was basic but very good quality, and the staff in general is friendly and helpful. I think that is a little bit expensive, but you know that you are paying for a good and well located hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk_viajando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

As many others we picked this hotel based on reviews here on TripAdvisor. They were not worng. This is a real nice property. Located an easy walk from the Recoleta Cementary, Santa Fe shopping district and cheap cab ride to most eveywhere else. The immediate neighborhood is residential with a few locally used restaurants near by (try Le Brut across the street but be sure not to arrive until at least 9PM). There are also two supermarkets in the next block and a "lavanderia" (washing/ironing service) right around the corner.
The rooms are excellent, large and well equipped. FREE WiFi!! The breakfast is nothing fancy but everything that you could ask for, including scrambled eggs on request. We actually prefered the breakfast here over the one put on by a high ed 5-star property elsewhere.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We did not use them to set up any tours or other issues but they responded appropriately to all of our requests and we only had a english problem with one night shift front desk person.
Yes, there is construction right next door but it never bothered us since we were out most of the day and there certainly was nothing going on early morning or in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We chose the Howard Johnson because of the good reviews on trip advisor. The hotel is modern, clean & well located.The area is safe & close to shops & tourist highlights. Breakfast is basic but adequate.
Monica at the front desk was fantastic in terms of reseraching some of the tours & reservation we wanted to do. There was also another lady at reception- but she was very unhelpful & had a serious attitude.So avoid frustration & get Monica to help you.
It was great having the free wi-fi through the hotel.
My only real complaint is that there is a new building being constructed right next door- so it is very noisy in the mornings even with the double glazed windows.I wish someone had mentioned this in their reviews as I would have avoided the hotel for this reason alone. I think the hotel was over-priced given the noise level.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay at the Howard Johnson during construction ask for rooms on the 7th or 8th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAmAGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I choose this HoJo due to the good reviews here and the great rate I found.

The pros:
Convenient and safe location.
Decent breakfast spread.
Front desk that speaks fair to good English.
Large modern rooms.
Free Wi-fi and computers and printing in lobby.

The cons:
Hotel suggested tours were way overpriced.
Stay away from Room 104. Able to hear the chairs grating over the tile floors.
Not a big deal but towels were old and frayed but clean.

I probably wouldn't go back just because I like to try different neighborhoods but would definitely recommend to first timers to BA.

Room Tip: Ask for the 02,04 rooms in the back for very quiet rooms except for 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seplin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We chose the Recoletta location because of the restaurants and shops. The hotel is surrounded by them. We walked to a restaurant in the Recoletta at night and it was very safe. The people at the front desk spoke english. They had the internet in the lobby. The rooms were clean. The bathroom shower water pressure was the best. They provided complimentary coffee. For breakfast there was fruit, cereal, danishes and juices. There wasn't much seating and we did have to wait a couple minutes. My only regret is that the tv was in spanish and we couldn't figure out how to turn it to english. Other than that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bombays41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This Recoleta area hotel is in a great location for accessing the center of BA, shops, restaurants, banks, convenience stores and only a few blocks walk to the Recoleta Cemetery and the BA Hop On Hop Off Bus. Very safe to walk around the area after dark as well as day time. The hotel is modern and very clean. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and all spoke good English. They helped to point out routes on the maps provided, booked transfers to the airport and assisted in booking tours when asked. The room was great, very comfortable beds and sitting area with table, desk and chairs. Bathroom was modern European style and my only complaint with the design is lack of bathroom counter space, no shelving or surface area to really store toiletries or put your towels or clothing while in the bathroom. Also can't quite figure out how shower designers figure a half shower wall is practical...I guess that is one way to get the floor washed at the
same time as showering!? Wifi was available in the room for no extra cost and worked well. Cold buffet breakfast was included in the room cost. The breakfast included juices, coffee, cereals, yogurts, pastries, breads, cold cuts, cheeses and fresh fruits. The small dining area seemed to be able to accommodate everyone as they arrived for breakfast. Sandwiches and drinks can be ordered throughout the day though we did not do this. Another nice touch is the complimentary welcome drink for each guest....a choice of coffee, juice, soda or wine. Mini bar was also available in the room. The lobby had comfortable seating and also computers for internet access. There is also an exercise, sauna and hottub area which didn't appear to be getting used. My husband went to use the hottub once but it was not heated that evening though it had been when we checked it a previous day. I definitely recommend this hotel for the service, room quality and location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#63 of 446 in Buenos Aires
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#43 of 446 in Buenos Aires
784 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#121 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,232 reviews
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#52 of 446 in Buenos Aires
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Address: Calle Pena 2049, Buenos Aires C1126ABA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#58 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#78 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta, strategically located in one of the most exclusive areas of Buenos Aires, is only few minutes away from the financial district and the most prestigious cultural, commercial and entertainment attractions with easy access to Buenos Aires domestic and international airports. More than a hotel it is a philosophy in which each guest is our focus and their needs are anticipated and satisfied in the most personalised and professional way. A unique experience centred on excellence and quality service, which will make your stay memorable. Designed and equipped with the highest technology and with the most refined selection of facilities and details to offer the most pleasant, comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Boutique Recoleta
Howard Johnson Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing