We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, great location, modern spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Ranked #41 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Im from Buenos Aires and ive seen lots of hellholes, this place rates highly for me in terms of location, mod cons , convenience and service. Rooms are very spacious with lovely cotton linen and bathroom is great with jets in bathtub and other luxuries. Staff is friendly and helpful, i asked for a corkscrew and this lovely girl came up and did the job for me straight away. The gym is a joke though, so tiny and next to steam room area so working out here is like training for thai boxing in Thailand! Apart from that, i would book this place if you can afford it, it aint cheap but is worth the money if you are fussy about location, looks, nice carpets, linen , pillows, etc

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MafsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

If this was a hotel anywhere else in the world I would give it the lowest possible rating. However, this is the first hotel I've ever stayed at in South America so I'm cutting it some slack.

- ants everywhere: under the bathtub, next to the sink, even on the bed. Did not eat in bed in case anyone was wondering
- service: the front desk was pleasant and willing to help but not pArticularly knowledgeable about the vicinity. Realize they don't live in the area but should still have a list of specific restaurants to recommend. The front desk person instead told us to go check out a touristy stretch next to the cemetery, which we had already gone by..it's a strip that includes McDonald's and TGI Friday's..... There were decent restaurants in the opposite direction which we found on tripadvisor after obtaining useless advice from front desk guy
- love the old school a/c in the room that stays on and adjusts temperature very quickly, absolutely essential during this summer hot spell
- pillowcases open on both ends. Kinda gross. Also, pillows were super flat but they were generous with the number so I could pile them up. Towels were grey and reggedly.
- There is a decent restaurant across the street, Brut Nature. Lots of locals, opens at 8 and packed by 9. It was closed one day due to a power outage on the block so we went to Melo which is a couple of blocks away
- There is a small Carrefour at the end of the block turning left at the hotel entrance, however it was inexplicably closed at random times of day.
- free but slow Wi-Fi, goes down occasionally
- complimentary breakfast - same food everyday, wish there were more hot options. Only hot food was eggs cooked on request. On our last day they got a noob to cook the eggs - picture attached

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitpicker011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at the Howard Johnson from Nov 29 to Dec 1. The rooms are large and well stocked. The wifi was not working initially but the issue was quickly resolved. The staff are very helpful and speak good english. Our room had a nice balcony to the street and it was fun to just sit and take in the buzz of the neighborhood. Buenos Aires is a walking city and Recoleta is a great neighborhood, beautiful architecture and tons of shopping. Our flight on the last day was at 10pm. The staff can keep your luggage safely in a locked area. A very good service to remove some of the headache.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jysharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here in November for 4 night. The location couldn't be better. It is safe, quiet and two or three blocks from restaurants, shops, etc. The breakfast was perfect. The room large and spacious and the bathroom is ok. The towels are a bit old and frayed but I was told they are in the process of replacing them. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Tips on the back of the hotel are quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charliep57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

When Americans of a certain age hear the words Howard Johnson, they think of outdated, funky orange & blue motels. The Howard Johnson Boutique Recoleta is definitely modern. Located in the walking-friendly Recoleta district of Buenos Aires, it has modest rooms with flat screen TVs, a mini bar, hot showers and nice bathrooms, and the beds are comfortable. The rooms are quiet; I couldn't hear anybody next door or in the hallway. There is a large hot tub on the main floor (but it wasn't hot enough, really), along with a sauna and a small fitness center. Breakfast is complimentary and is served downstairs, in a bright airy room. Standard Argentinian breakfast fare includes cold slices of ham, sliced cheese, various croissants, pastries and toast, along with coffee and hot water for tea. Also, as I saw at every hotel, there was a choice between corn flakes and frosted flakes. Eggs are made to order but you have to request them.
The hotel is very convenient to the main street, 9 de Julio, and I felt safe walking at all hours of the night, even with my $6k camera wrapped around my wrist. Most of the staff speaks English and are more than willing to call you a taxi or change money (at a much better rate than I got from the bank).
The rooms have key cards and in-room safes, along with a small fridge.
A bonus, at least in my room, were the wall outlets: they accepted all my US cords (two-prong only) without the need for an adapter.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room was just fine. Quiet, even though it was close to the elevator.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Photomatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Pleasant staff and clean, decent sized rooms in a good part of the city. OK breakfast (eggs on request) and very good service. Good quality for price. Front desk accommodated all requests, including early check-in, and made good recommendations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertSaltLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Located in the heart of Recoleta's district. Walking distance to lots of turistic attractions, restaurants, confiterias and parks. Rooms recentle refurbished. Internet for free. Very helpful employees. Area very safe to walk on your own.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank EDLONDONColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#64 of 443 in Buenos Aires
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#117 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,284 reviews
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#44 of 443 in Buenos Aires
322 reviews
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#39 of 443 in Buenos Aires
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta

Address: Calle Pena 2049, Buenos Aires C1126ABA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#58 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#78 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £74 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta, strategically located in one of the most exclusive areas of Buenos Aires, is only few minutes away from the financial district and the most prestigious cultural, commercial and entertainment attractions with easy access to Buenos Aires domestic and international airports. More than a hotel it is a philosophy in which each guest is our focus and their needs are anticipated and satisfied in the most personalised and professional way. A unique experience centred on excellence and quality service, which will make your stay memorable. Designed and equipped with the highest technology and with the most refined selection of facilities and details to offer the most pleasant, comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Boutique Recoleta
Howard Johnson Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing