We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Ranked #45 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Incredible service. I could not print my boarding pass from the lobby computer, so the clerk allowed me to use *his* computer and his office printer. We arrived too early for check-in, but the hotel took care of our luggage and eventually gave us an unbelievable upgrade because we had waited longer than some other guests. It looked like and felt like a presidential suite! I've never had better accomodations, and couldn't recommend this hotel more!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenSilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2010

We stayed here for part of our trip to compare the #1 rated hotel in Buenos Aires by TripAdvisor and compare it to what locals recomended to us, the Wilton Hotel that is very near by and was rated #133 at the time. The HoJo is exactly twice the price of the Wilton. The HoJo was nicer, had in-room wifi, but not worth twice the cost of the Wilton. The location of the Wilton was better on Ave. Callao and Santa Fe, this was on a street that no taxi could find since there were 3 other nearby streets that had similar name with Pena in them (take a map to show the Taxi driver).

The free breakfast was good, the wifi was good, the CATV was good. The room was clean and comfortable, bathroom was very nice. I would compare this to a small hotel in a major city like NYC that is reated 3 to 3 1/2 stars.

The staff was very friendly, many spoke some english.

The hotel, while it's called Recoleta, was not what the locals called Recoleta. It sort of a fringe area called Bario Norte. It's about a 10 minute walk to the heart of Recoleta by the Cementary and about a 5 minute walk to the heart of Bario Norte along Ave. Santa Fe.

The area was safe to walk around, restaurants required a small walk as this is more on a residential street.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buellwinkle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Stayed three nights at HJ. Don't be scared off by the HJ name. This is a cute 28 room boutique hotel in a really nice area. Seven floors with four rooms per floor. Very quiet.

Only a few blocks from the cemetery with many restaurants nearby. Taxi to just about anywhere in the city is around $5.00 US.

Really nice breakfast.

Rooms were very nice with good amenities. Staff was excellent and helpful. Paid $148 AR to be picked up at the airport which was about $10 US more than a cab. Well worth not having to stress about getting to the hotel upon arrival.

We arrived very early and the staff stored our bags and let us use the spa shower room to clean up and change. That worked out perfectly.

Only good things to say.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Howard Johnson for 4 days in March. It is a small boutique hotel located in a charming section of the city. Positives included 1) a well designed lobby, 2) a large spacious room with a great/ comfortable bed, a leather couch, and a flat screen tv, 3) great central location, 4) friendly/ helpful staff, 5) good security (front door was locked at night by a guard), a nice jacuzzi tub in the hydro room with a great shower (nice water pressure).

Negatives: 1) a boring breakfast spread (we got bored of the selection after the 2nd day), 2) unstable wi-fi connection that kept disconnecting in the room, and 3) we were able to hear the family in the next room getting ready in the morning through the connecting door in the room.

Nonetheless the positives greatly outweighed the negatives and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is planning a trip to BA.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taitea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We arrived after an over night flight from the United States for our first visit to Buenos Aires. . The staff was helpful. Their English was good & understandable. In the USA we are members of the Hilton family of hotels. Ww have never stayed in a Howard Johnson's. Although we would certainly stay in this one again. The hotel location is within walking distance to attractions, restaurants & subway. Nice neighborhood. Hotel is modern & clean. Just a comfortable place to be. We utilized Trip Adviser exclusively for this south American trip. And it was very, very accurate & helpful. It seemed to us that some of the concerns about BA were unfounded for us.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMESBRANSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Howard Johnsons Boutique Recoleta is located in a quiet residential area of high tone Recoleta. Perfect. It is new, clean and modern. The rates are reasonable for Buenos Aires. A continental breakfast is included. Taken together, these traits might qualify the HO JO for a best value designation. But best hotel overall in Buenos Aires? Uh, no. During our four night stay we were: 1. not given the room type or location requested in our reservation; stuck in the elevator for 30 minutes due to a malfunction of some sort; unable to access wi fi or internet from the Business Center due to another glitch; awakened on Saturday morning to the sound of hammers, saws and drills from the room next door, a noise that continued throughout the day (numerous complaints were met with a shrug..no offer to move us, although the hotel was not full..and no offer of compensation for our inconvenience); We asked the hotel to phone a restaurant for a reservation for us "No worry" we were told..sigh...we showed up at the restaurant only to discover it was closed); rooms were never cleaned until 4 in the afternoon....No late check out permitted....charges for coffee for the coffee maker in the room (mini bar charge)...high rates per minute for phone calls...None of these things are huge annoyances...but taken together they add up to a decent two star hotel in Detroit rather than the number one hotel in Buenos Aires...

Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
3  Thank dr__dawggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Very nice staff - they helped us with everything from shopping, tango shows, taxis, restaurants, etc. We had a late flight out, so they held our luggage for us (and even offerred that we could shower in the spa if needed) Breakfast is free (continental) The location is great - we were able to walk all around the city from there. Free wifi in rooms (and 2 PC´s in the lobby) Beds are VERY comfortable, and a good selection of TV channels. I´m surprised this hotel isn´t listed in the travel books (but sure it will be soon) Also extremely reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lld21204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#111 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,371 reviews
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#34 of 442 in Buenos Aires
845 reviews
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#69 of 442 in Buenos Aires
414 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#53 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta

Address: Calle Pena 2049, Buenos Aires C1126ABA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#57 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#77 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £34 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta, strategically located in one of the most exclusive areas of Buenos Aires, is only few minutes away from the financial district and the most prestigious cultural, commercial and entertainment attractions with easy access to Buenos Aires domestic and international airports. More than a hotel it is a philosophy in which each guest is our focus and their needs are anticipated and satisfied in the most personalised and professional way. A unique experience centred on excellence and quality service, which will make your stay memorable. Designed and equipped with the highest technology and with the most refined selection of facilities and details to offer the most pleasant, comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Boutique Recoleta
Howard Johnson Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing