We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplendor Palermo Hollywood
Ranked #106 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I had high hopes for this hotel, and even left another hotel in the area one night early in order to give this one a try. That was a mistake. For the same price (perhaps even a little less), the other hotel was MUCH nicer. The staff at Esplendor were great, but that's almost all it has going for it. The location in Palermo Hollywood is perfect for going out, but if you have a car with you, the busier area means parking is nearly impossible.

The room was big (much larger than average hotel rooms), but it was dark, dusty, lacking in decor, and uncomfortable. I was surprised by the dust was on the shelves, lamps, bed frame, etc. The bathroom, however, was the worst. The tile grout in the tub and along the shower wall were covered in black mildew. I was afraid to even stand in the tub with my bare feet. My reservation was only for one night, but had it been for more, I would have left right away.

Breakfast was fine with pastries, coffee, etc. And "scrambled eggs" are available upon request, but they're terrible -- seemingly microwaved, with some tough bites and some underdone.

In short, I had heard good things about this hotel, and had high hopes, but I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Manager at Esplendor Palermo Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for stayed at Esplendor! We apologize if we didn't cover your expectations. We always work for give our best and we'd like to have the opportunity of demonstrate you that we can be that good option that you expected. Thanks for your review.

Best regards,
Javier Lescano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Friendly helpful staff, big rooms and good location. What more does one need? Wifi worked intermittent tho. And there is street noise, but come on, it's in the city. Within just short walk of loads of restaurants. And just a bit further are shops and a Subte station. Worked out great for us.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Manager at Esplendor Palermo Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guest,

hope you be well!
Thank you very much for have chosen our hotel, and for your kind review! Hope to see you again in Esplendor Palermo Hollywood!

Best regards,
Javier Lescano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotelroom was big and modern with nice big windows. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Reception staff helped with all requests and gave great recommendations for restaurants.
Hotel has a good location, about 10min walk to the Subte which will take you to anywhere in the city. Also has many good bars and restaurants in the area.
The breakfast was ok but not great. Small variety and the scrambled eggs that can be ordered on request were not the scambled eggs we know, looks more like scrambled boiled eggs.
All and all we had a great time here and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Manager at Esplendor Palermo Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

we are very thankful for the comments and for your choice to stay in Buenos Aires. We'll work every day to give our best. Hope you be well and hope see you next time.

Kind regards,

Javier Lescano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel twice over the course 10 days each stay was of 2 nights. Room was good, the location was good, the staff and the service were very good and very helpfull.
The only problem is that we can hear everything in next room. You feel there is no privacy.
The breakfast was also so-so.
Other than that we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nighttrain66Riyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Manager at Esplendor Palermo Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,

your comment is very helpful to us. Thanks a lot for stayed at Esplendor.

Best regards,

Javier Lescano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was one of the better locations I stayed in, I think it was because of the close proximity to some great restaurants and bars, most within walking distance.

The staff were helpful when we needed advice/recommendations.

The room was large and had a balcony overlooking the road which was nice. However the bathroom was less than expected, quite small in my opinion. I recommend you check everything works as expected, we had very minor issues with the lights - it was all sorted out though.

Breakfast is a cold continental style setup, served in a small area behind the reception desk. Quite a let down in my opinion.

So the pros are:
- Location
- Price

Cons:
- Not really a four star hotel as they advertise it to be (needs to add more to their service proposition for it to be a four star hotel)
- Breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Manager at Esplendor Palermo Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for stayed with us. Your review is very important to us, comments like yours help us to improve every day. We'd like to have you again among our guests.

Best regards,

Javier Lescano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed there last month on a business trip and everything from the staff to the room was nice and pleasant. The check in was a breeze, the room was very clean and had a nice view even though I was on the second floor. I only stayed for two nights but I definitely wish it would have been more. I didn't get to go to the restaurants but I heard from a friend they were good, so I guess I'll have to go back!

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor and near the elevator and I thought it would be problem but it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Manager at Esplendor Palermo Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for stayed at Esplendor Palermo Hollywood and for your review. It's very important for us.

Best regards,
Javier Lescano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The hotel looks good at first, a very modern feel and a room with a balcony. Little issues started surfacing, like the lamp by the bed not working, and no switch to turn off lights from bed. The shower knobs were on the opposite end from the shower head and since it had half a wall, rather than a door or curtain and the, the whole floor got wet. There were also no instructions for safe or prices for services or minibar.

Breakfast was disappointing--it was like breakfast for a child, primarily donuts/danishes/cookies and cereal. They are very slow at replacing so many people wait around for coffee mug or donuts. The lobby/dining area bathroom had no toilet paper or paper towels for hands. And at 4pm, there were still crumbs and jam on table from breakfast.

Everything was ok until the staff violated our privacy. We had a do not disturb sign but someone still came into our room to leave something on the table (a gift from our travel agent that could have easily been kept at the front desk). We complained and they said they had to
come in because our phone was off the hook and was making such a loud sound that the neighbor complained. We knew that was absurd, but to experiment we left it off all night and there was not a sound. Meanwhile, doors slamming, babies crying, and women in heels walking around for hours was a common morning wake up.

The demographic seemed to be mostly groups of women having a girls' weekend in the city, so maybe this place just wasn't for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweaterhogans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Palermo Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Guest,

your comments are very useful for us. We'll try our best to offer a better service day by day. Thank you very much!

Best regards,
Javier Lescano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Esplendor Palermo Soho
Esplendor Palermo Soho
#133 of 443 in Buenos Aires
638 reviews
Palermo
Dazzler Palermo
Dazzler Palermo
#91 of 443 in Buenos Aires
720 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
#101 of 443 in Buenos Aires
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
#65 of 443 in Buenos Aires
550 reviews
Palermo
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
#141 of 443 in Buenos Aires
294 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Suites
Palermo Suites
#156 of 443 in Buenos Aires
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Palermo Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Palermo Hollywood

Address: Calle Fitz Roy 2172, Buenos Aires C1425FVB, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#95 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#103 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £56 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Palermo Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Palermo Hollywood radiates the essence of avant-garde accommodations, combining contemporary design and atmosphere with the personalized attention you deserve throughout your entire stay. The hotel is a cozy retreat with 8 floors and impeccable service, ideal for those that enjoy both tranquility and intimacy. Original works of art and fine decorative objects reveal the artistic sensibility of the Esplendor chain. The top floor provides a Terrace and Meeting Room at your disposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Esplendor Palermo Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Palermo Hollywood Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing