We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Own Palermo Hollywood
Ranked #121 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but not great”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Upside: very nice people, very accommodating and good location near restaurants. However, I was on a business trip and this hotel is geared more for the relaxed, vacationing traveler. Internet access poor on my floor (6th), hallways and walls a little dingy and room amenities (soap, towels, etc) not great for the price of the room. But the "boutique" feel is more the point...will probably stay in Puerto Madero next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    210
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
70
401
66
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

While in BA in May we decided to stay in two different neighborhoods bookending 5 nights in Mendoza. The first part was at the Own Hotel, the latter was in upscale Recoleta. Wish we had stayed at at Own Palermo Hollywood both times largely due to the much hipper neighborhood that Own was in. For both restaurants and cool shopping you want to be in Palermo Hollywood. You can find interesting restaurants through trip advisor reviews or staff suggestions that are all within walking distance of the hotel. And if you want hip boutique shopping in a variety of price points just start strolling the neighborhood toward Palermo Viejo (15 minute walk) where I bought myself a soft as butter Argentine designer purse, a fun cowhide purse, leather belt for hubby, and really cool cowhide pillows for presents. This is also where I looked for a leather jacket, but alas, could not find the perfect one (shopping tip - do not waste your time looking for leather on Murillo St., unless you like cheap looking stuff). You could also easily walk from Own to the beautiful parks and museums, the Malba was my favorite. Remember to bring your walking shoes, BA is a great walking city, of course, cabs work great too. I agree with other reviewers that Own had the best breakfast in our 10 day trip to Argentina and the staff could not have been nicer. Overall, great hip urban vibe in my favorite location, we would definitely stay there again. And after experiencing some less than stellar hotels during the rest of our visit, loved the spaciousness of the bedroom, bathroom and especially the shower. The only flaw was that the bathroom mirror was tiny.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZfromRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed in OWN hotel in April 2012 and can highly recommend it. We found the rooms spacious, very comfortable and extremely clean. The breakfast was delicious with fruit, juices, yoghurt, breads and Dulce De Leche, just what we needed with lovely coffee also. The staff were so friendly and helpful, at times beyond the call of duty. We found the hotel to be a quiet place. We did have a room facing the street but were never disturbed by noise. There are great restaurants nearby. A really lovely hotel but the staff were the key to us having had such a welcoming stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

In Buenos Aires we decided to change course and we stayed this time in a boutique hotel, the attention was quite good and the food is delicious. the staff was very friendly and it is a small group compared to the big hotels, the staff remembered my name at all times, so this makes it very special for the guest,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrence s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel was excellent. The area surrounding was undergoing renovations so a little messy but that is the only negative.
The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've had in some time fresh and delicious and as you could tailor to suit once you knew what was coming you could reduce it as it is far too much for oneperson. But very tasty and a great way to start a day.
The rooms were very clean and modern and comfortable nicely decked out. Cleaning staff excellent and very accomodating.
Mercedes and her staff at reception were kind helpfulattentive and very friendly. Remembering your name and assisting always with a smile in their voice was lovely. This personal touch is very improtant especially when you are travelling on business and are just working.
The internet in my room was a little hit and miss but I tink it was just where the desk was the rest of the room and hotel was better. But whenever I called the staff assisted me.
I would stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: All the rooms are located on the same road. Higher better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expedition08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel is located in Palermo Hollywood area of Buenos Aires, which as lots of restaurants and shops near by and has vibrant night scene. Hotel lobby and elevator is small but staff was very polite and helpful. Breakfast was not top notch but more than adequate, and it was served to you at the table (and free). Hotel room was modern and surprisingly spacious considering all the hotels in the area are small boutique hotels. Bare concrete wall could appear a bit cold but didn't bother me. Room appeared clean and has nice wet bar area. Bathroom has fancy shower but only has 2.5 walls around the shower so water will splash out a bit. Bed was comfortable. They can use a small gym in the hotel though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triad_Rookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is, without a doubt on of the best hotels I have stayed in. It was very nice and cozy. But, it was the staff that put this one over the top. Incredibly friendly and helpful. They even made some yerba mate for me!!!! The only downside was in the room facing the street, people leaving a club across the street made some noise on some nights.

The neighborhood is in transition with a lot of construction going on. At no time did I feel the least bit unsafe walking to any of the incredible restaurants in both, Palermo Hollywood and Palermo Soho.

You cannot go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Away from the street is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FastWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Own Grand Palermo Soho
Own Grand Palermo Soho
#40 of 447 in Buenos Aires
494 reviews
Palermo
Be Hollywood! Boutique Hotel
Be Hollywood! Boutique Hotel
#66 of 447 in Buenos Aires
830 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Place by P Hotels
Palermo Place by P Hotels
#64 of 447 in Buenos Aires
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Esplendor Palermo Hollywood
Esplendor Palermo Hollywood
#113 of 447 in Buenos Aires
482 reviews
Palermo
Dazzler Palermo
Dazzler Palermo
#94 of 447 in Buenos Aires
635 reviews
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#134 of 447 in Buenos Aires
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Own Palermo Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Own Palermo Hollywood

Property: Own Palermo Hollywood
Address: Calle Jose Antonio Cabrera 5556 | Palermo Hollywood, Buenos Aires C1414BHD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#45 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#50 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Own Palermo Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TEMPORARILY CLOSED -Own Hotels represent a new concept in urban boutique-hotels, characterized by personalized attention, modern design, and timeless style.Located in the most desirable areas of Buenos Aires, Own Hotels offer a unique experience with oversized rooms with all services of a 5-star hotel.You have the feeling of having your Own private oasis amidst the action of the city. The highly trained staff will insure that guests have everything they need to maximize their time in the hotel.The decoration of the hotel is pure and in order to feel completely at home the hotel offers you to customize your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Own Palermo Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Own Palermo Hollywood Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing