We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Amazing Staff”

B&B Tango & Bandoneon
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Tango & Bandoneon
Ranked #49 of 258 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value and Amazing Staff”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We had a tough time finding a good hostel or hotel in Buenos Aires. There are many expensive options and many cheap but terrible options. B&B Tango and Bandoneon was the answer. This B&B is extremely clean and the staff were very helpful (thank you Nadia and Rosa). There is a very sunny roof top deck and a great lobby/sitting room with comfortable couches. The breakfast consisted of media lunas (croissants), bread, tea and coffee. This felt more like a boutique hotel than a B&B and the value for the price was very good.

We were warned by some people about the location but we had no problems. We stayed here for 6 nights and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: The second floor is a bit more crowded but very nice. The third floor feels more secluded and the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    23
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
39
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

After staying in some rather ropey places in Argentina we stayed for 7 days in Tango & Bandoneon. What a great find/choice it was.

I won't go over the same material as other reviewers who say it far better than I doen the page, but the rooms are warm, comfortable, short walk to the bits you want to be near, Natalia the manager was lovely, all the staff were/are, etc...

We went to Uruguay for few days and they kept are big luggage for us while we just took our day packs.

Round the corner is a rather dodgy/ropey looking pizza take away, don't be put off the pizzas and the empanada's are good (especially the blue cheese emanada).

Only negative front rooms auffer froma little road noise but then you are in the capital of Argentina..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had stayed our first night elsewhere and when we got to this hostel we were pleasantly shocked at how clean and homely it was... and it was half the price!! We had a lovely double room with a comfy bed and heating. Yes it was a bit noisy but most of the places we have stayed in have been noisy. The hostel had lovely shared spaces and Natalie was a very helpful host. There is a kitchen, and quite a few bathrooms which were always clean, and the showers hot (be warned you have to walk outside to get to them). It was a highly enjoyable stay in a handy location. I would highly recommend you try it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joss82x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Tango & Bandoneon was close to the centre only 10-15 minutes walk, the bedroom was quite large, very clean and there were plenty of shared bathrooms and there was always hot water. Breakfast was really filling with lots of types of bread and jam and tea, coffee and hot chocolate. There was a nice clean kitchen to cook if you wanted and if you needed any information Natalia was helpful. Only reason it doesnt get a 5 is our room was at the front of the building and you could really hear the traffic all night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We were recommended Tango and Bandoneon by friends and it was as good as they told us it would be. Natalia was a great host and the b&b was in a fantastic location. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melkeltards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed 4 nights here in a double and enjoyed it!

The good:
- Beautiful old building
- Clean and colorful rooms, cleaned everyday
- Comfy beds
- Very hot showers
- Nice and helpful staff
- High security
- Breakfast was nice (croisants, bread, butter, jam and tea or coffee)
- Location is good- restaurants and cafes nearby, and congreso a 10 min walk.

Not so good:
- Our room was "outside" the main building, in the patio and it did get pretty cold at night in july. So we asked for another blanket and it was ok.
- You have to ask the staff to open the door with a key to get out- which was a bit annoying as sometimes we had to look for them or wait some time.. But I suppose that this was for security reasons.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights while visiting family. It's a ramshakle old building with a lot of character. Our private double had high ceilings and a little balcony overlooking the street, and was very nicely decorated. The staff were friendly and there was a well-equipped kitchen. Some communal areas were outdoors, but this was part of the funny character of the building and it was warm while we were there. The communal bathrooms were nicely decorated with good hot showers. The only slight complaint from me would be that the bathroom floors were often wet and sometimes the toilet roll would get soaked when people took showers. These were relatively minor issues though and overall it was a lovely place to stay and good value. Location was also a great choice for BA.

Room Tip: The double room on the first floor, overlooing the street was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#55 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,414 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#53 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,012 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#82 of 445 in Buenos Aires
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,636 reviews
Palermo
Palermitano Hotel
Palermitano Hotel
#114 of 445 in Buenos Aires
452 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 460 in Buenos Aires
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tango & Bandoneon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tango & Bandoneon

Property: B&B Tango & Bandoneon
Address: San Jose 574, Barrio San Telmo,, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango & Bandoneon is a quiet, relaxing and friendly place where you can meet people from all around the world and even more important for us it’s a place where you will really feel at home. It’s family run in order to make your stay in Buenos Aires a very special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B Tango & Bandoneon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing