We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best or anywhere close!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sagardi Loft Osteria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sagardi Loft Osteria
Ranked #101 of 273 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the best or anywhere close!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights here and we would not go back. The place tries to be one of those modern new-age places and it does not work. There was nowhere to put your clothes, not a drawer in sight. In order to get to the breakfast room , you have to go downstairs and out onto the street before coming back in for your grub! Speaking of breakfast, not a bit of bacon or sausage to be had. A plate of scrambled eggs is your lot in the "cooked" department. On the Saturday, there was nobody to clean our room or make the bed and we had to wait for staff who had overslept to get the breakfast ready. Upstairs in the loft, there is a bed and nothing else. Not even a chair to put your clothes on or even a small bedside table. This is by no means a cheap place to stay and is definitely not worth the money.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laxeylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    11
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here for my husband's birthday and at first I was a bit disappointed as to the area it was in (lots of garbage dumpsters outside, smell of garbage) - the hotel looks more like it should be in Palermo, SOHO. When we entered (through the restaurant) I softened up a bit because it was very lovely and the woman who welcomed us (I think her name was Cristina?) was very sweet.

We reserved a specific loft a month before. When we arrived, we were given a different room (which was an upgrade according to the hotel) and were told that the other room was booked. We only wanted the split- level loft because it kind of reminded us of my old apartment (and we were gushing over how we met, etc..). The room given to us did have a balcony, but it was a 1 level room. The manager came up and explained that there was nothing they can do, so I understood her position (as I've been in their situation before) and said that we would like to check a different hotel. They let us use their wifi to look at other options and when we found something else and got up to leave.. the manager then said that they can give us the original room we booked because the guests were not arriving til later that day. Great! We were happy about this, but at the same time I was a bit annoyed that she waited for us actually get up before offering this to us. That is why I gave 1 mark less for service.

We loved our room and it was perfect from that moment on. It was trash collection day, so that explained the stinky smell on the street. The Plaza Dorrego was a 30 second walk away (perfect for us). It took me a day to get used to San Telmo area, but once I did... I was in heaven because I really felt Buenos Aires come alive.

Hotel has a roof top pool and lounge chairs. There are no windows though as most rooms open into the courtyard. The 1 level facing the church has a balcony.

Room: the bathroom has amazing toiletries, bed was very comfy and the artwork on the walls and ceiling was lovely (black and white shots of tango dancers - one of legs in fishnets with tango shoes).

Restaurant: Is a Basque restaurant but they only serve Warsteiner beer at (approx. 4 euros equivalent) which we complained about. At least they could've served a local brew.. but the pinxos (tapas) were fantastic and fresh and always available. The service was impeccable all the time, which we really appreciated.

Try to stay over a weekend so that you can see the market (literally starts outside the hotel door and goes through several blocks) and experience the joy of tango dancers at the Plaza Dorrego. It was a real pleasure to be there!!!

lina

Room Tip: We loved ste 4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chillinAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siracusa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

I spent 7 nights at Sagardi Osteria.we rent a loft which was large and comfortable.Maria and the other members of the stuff were very kind ,they felts us at home.the location is perfect,just in the heart of sant telmo quarter,to me the most fascinating barrio in buenos aires.I really suggest the restaurant .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mesabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

We are very satisfied with the hotel. The room was very nice ( hi-tech, comfortable, well decorated, quiet, and big). The location was great close to the Plaza de mayo (around 10 mins walking distance). The breakfast was very very good- and the restaurant very beautiful.
The food was excellent (I recommend you the Baccalau with patatas fritas confitas)-
The wine was very good too.
The service was excellent, and Catarina is amazing with the clients.

The only negative thing is we asked the hotel to book a taxi and they didn t book it, or either answered us by email. Otherwise we really recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to stay in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed here for a week in October 2010 with another couple. We had one of the loft rooms and our friends stayed in the suite both rooms were beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay here and found the staff to be really very helpful. The breakfast was awesome with fruit, cheese, sliced meats, juice, breads and pastries. the tapas bar downstairs is delicious and we found our selves eating there several times during our stay. The restaurant not to be out done was also amazing i recommend the duck and the basque cake!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#93 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#141 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
San Telmo
Ribera Sur Hotel
Ribera Sur Hotel
#213 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
#84 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
San Telmo
Anselmo Buenos Aires, Curio Collection by Hilton
San Telmo
Vacances San Telmo
Vacances San Telmo
#136 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagardi Loft Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagardi Loft Osteria

Property: Sagardi Loft Osteria
Address: Humberto 1ro, 319 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1103ACG, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagardi Loft Osteria 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unique property that retrieves the spirit of the old osterias in which the traveler has had its own key and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sagardi Loft Osteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing