We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, but with a little extra thought could be great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Ranked #11 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good, but with a little extra thought could be great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We visited Buenos Aires in two parts, with a bit of Uruguay in between, staying in Duque Hotel for 4 nights and Miravida Soho for 2 nights. Both are in Palermo a few blocks from each other so both have access to the lovely streets, eateries, cafes and shops of Palermo which is a big plus. It is a lovely district. Both hotels are small,and have a nice charm about them.
We found the staff at Duque to be its best quality, they were extremely helpful in all respects, enthusiastic and knowledgable. Our room was very comfortable (except perhaps the pillows which were quite high and hard), spacious and for the most part, clean. Although, we did think that the decor was a bit tired in places, especially in the bathroom, the linen was too old and the towels need to be renewed (good for a body scub though if thats what you want!). The toiletries too were not of great quality.
Are we asking too much for a little hotel? Well, calling itself boutique brings with it certain expectations, it is not just because it is small, but because in general it should be of a high quality. And if you compared it to the Miravida Soho (see separate review), then Duque does fall down a little bit.
Overall a good experience but we would like to see some investment into the interior and a much better use of the space it has for the breakfast room - this was a bit dull. We also thought the breakfast buffet was not up to a good enough standard.
Not complaints about the staff team at all and we would still recommend this little hotel to people with some small reservations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duque4364, Public Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Richard,

First of all let us thank you for letting us be part of your experience in Buenos Aires, it was a real pleasure having you in our home. We would like you to know that all of your suggestions are really important for us to keep improving our service and facilities and we have already discuss this with our manager to improve all the points you mentioned. We are happy to hear that you spent a good time with us and that your overall experience was good. Greetings from the whole staff and we hope to serve you some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    253
    36
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
829
108
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Duque Hotel in Palermo Soho was a really pleasant surprise with its beautifully laid out lobby. This oasis was a great example of space well used, with a swimming pool in the courtyard towards the back, and generous spa and sauna area. Everything was beautifully laid out, with almost a touch of luxury even, including the breakfast room and lounge area.

It was wonderful that the 'business centre' had 2 reasonably fast computers, and printing was available at the reception.

The reception was helpful with directions, reasonably priced taxi transfers and arranging breakfast for a very early checkout due to flight requirements. Only drawback was that I had to insist on some form of receipt for the cash hotel payment.

My single room with its balcony facing the atrium was adequate in capacity, although a writing/work table would have been very handy. I suppose too that not many people travel with 2 large suitcases. The bathroom at Duque was the only one of 5 hotels I stayed at in Argentina which had air vents to manage the moisture/humidity. So, this was well maintained with a somewhat 'old world' charm. It was complete with a clothes line for a longer stay, and handy for swims and use of the spa/sauna. Incidentally, this bathroom was fitted-out so that it was also accessible for anyone in such need.

I thoroughly enjoyed the use of the spa, and breakfast was very pleasant looking out to the pretty courtyard. Eggs, done any style was available on order during normal breakfast hours. Most hotels in Argentina it seems do not provide in-room tea/coffee making facilities. So, it was very good to have this on tap in the dining room virtually 24/7 with the compliments of Duque, along with some light snacks.

I don't think the location was convenient to public transport apart from taxis, or to any worthwhile sights.

Room Tip: My room 301 was close to the lift and intersection of corridors so could be exposed to noise on occa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duque4364, Public Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay here with us and that you liked all of our facilities and services. We would like you to know that this always be your home in Buenos Aires.
Greetings from the whole staff and we hope to serve you in some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We so enjoyed our stay at the Duque Hotel. It is a charming hotel in Palermo, close to shopping and restaurants. We stayed here in between side trips to other areas, and it was so nice to come "home" to our base at the Duque.

Our rooms were comfortable and clean. Ours faced the street, but the street was quiet at night, and shutters blocked the street light pretty well. There was a power strip near the desk that didn't require plug converters for our electronics. Wifi reaches the entire hotel, with many zones set up for the guests. The common areas are numerous and comfortable, and include a cute little area outdoors next to a small pool. The breakfast is very nice, eggs are made to order, and coffee is available any time of the day.

The best feature was the staff: Raquel, Eva, Roberto, Carlos, and Nahuel. They allowed us to check in early (arriving in the morning from the US is common, but not all hotels try hard to get you in your room as soon as they can). They arranged cabs to the airports and ferry, recommended restaurants and made reservations, stored our luggage in between side trips, opened breakfast for us early twice when we had 7 am cabs, and always with a smile. Their English was perfect, and they were the friendliest hotel staff we've ever met.

We will always stay at the Duque when we return to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duque4364, Guest Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Anita,

First of all we wanted to thank you for posting such a nice review about our home.
It really makes us proud of our jobs when guests feel this comfortable at El Duque.
We are truly happy that you felt like home and that you enjoyed all of what we have to offer.
We wanted to let you know that this will always be your home and that we will be thrilled to have you back any time you want. Greetings from all of our staff and we hope all the best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed with a friend at the Duque for 2 nights in Buenos Aires during December 2013. We both very much enjoyed our short time at the Duque and wish we had stayed longer!

The hotel was the essence of luxury - our room was beautifully designed, the staff was overly helpful, and the breakfast was beyond wonderful. The room came with robes, a hairdryer and comfy beds! Rooms were VERY clean! There was a jacuzzi and small pool to use throughout the day - so it didn't feel like we were staying in a large city at all. Facilities were maintained and well-kept. The staff was very fluent in English and always willing to answer questions. The breakfast had lots of pastries, juice, meats, cheese and MADE TO ORDER eggs. The coffee machine was *incredible* and available all day long. Breakfast was also available until 11.

The hotel's location was close to Palermo Soho - as two girls we felt comfortable walking around at all times of day. It was convenient to the Subte, which was a quick trip to Microcentre, Recoletta, and the rest of downtown and easy to catch cabs from. However, if I were to come back to BA, I would strongly consider staying nearer to the restaurants and bars in Palermo Soho or Palermo Hollywood (less than 1/2 mile away).

The other guests at the hotel were very friendly!

We also really were appreciative that we could use the glorious shower and spa downstairs the day we checked out of the hotel before our overnight bus from Buenos Aires.

I would definitely stay here again!! Great value with 20% off from the Trip Advisor discount.

As read in prior comments - the wifi is spotty, but can usually get it to work with some effort.

A true retreat from the city of BA!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duque4364, Public Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Kellie,

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent experience with us.
Our guests’ opinion is the most important thing for us, and it seems that you really enjoyed your stay with us, that make us extremely happy and proud of our work. Greetings from all of our entire staff and we hope to serve you some other day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stay: 4 nights in July 2013
Room: Deluxe Room
Price: US$135 per night

Pro: Parisian charm, free use of spa, convenient location, excellent breakfast, great service (fluent English).
Con: None.

It's been a while since my stay, so the memory isn't fresh. Still, the name of the hotel brings to mind pleasant memories. The highlights among them, in no particular order, are:

1. The front desk staff are friendly and really helpful. They speak excellent English, too.
We had to check out at 3 AM due to a very inconvenient flight booking situation. Not only did the front desk staff took care of wake-up call, luggage, taxi, etc, they even arranged to have some breakfast (fruit, yogurt, muesli, etc) prepared for us.

2. The breakfast, included in the daily rate, is lovely. We can order to have the eggs cooked to our liking.

3. Decor - the hotel, in every detail, is tastefully decorated. It's comfortable, charming, modern and a bit luxurious.

3. Facilities
Perfect wi-fi got our basic needs covered. The spa and sauna is the icing on the cake - so good to have after a long day exploring the busy BA city.

4. Location
In the city's Soho district, this hotel is centrally located and less than 10 minutes walk to a subway station. Plenty of restaurants in the neighbourhood.

Conclusion:
We enjoyed our stay in Buenos Aires, but to our surprise and delight, this little hotel is one of the best parts. We heard tour guides telling us about the by-gone days of Argentinian sophistication and luxury, but this delightful boutique hotel actually allowed us to experience that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaisnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duque4364, Public Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Duque.
I am pleased to know you enjoyed your recent stay at our beautiful property. My colleagues are proud to know they made a lasting impression on you as this is what they pride themselves in.
And we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything we had to offer, from the hotels decor to our breakfast! I hope you will return in the near future and remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Roberto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Duque Hotel for 3 nights after returning from Antarctica. It was located in a great, central spot within Palermo. We could pretty much walk anywhere, and it wasn't too hard to flag down a taxi if we needed to go anywhere far.

The hotel is a small, but charming boutique hotel. It's contemporarily decorated in some aspects, but with a bit of old, French charm.The staff was pretty helpful in providing suggestions, and they provided us with a map. The front door to the hotel is locked and you have to ring a doorbell to get in. We found that during the day it was always easy to get in, but at night, sometimes we had to ring the bell several times to get someone to answer the door. In one instance, we waited almost 10 minutes. So that was a little bit frustrating.

Our room was only okay. We got a room with a 'king bed' but it was certainly smaller than our king bed at home. We double-checked with the front desk but they assured us that we didn't have the smallest room. The room (Room 104) itself overall was a bit small and located in an area of the hotel with a small window that did not face an area to the sun. It at times felt a little gloomy and dark. Thank goodness we were out and about and did not have to stay there for very long. For a bit of one afternoon, we went to the pool area. Even though it was extremely hot outside, the pool was extremely cold. Conversely, we went down to check out the jacuzzi and it was scalding hot (42 degrees celsius). Would advise hotel management to adjust the temperatures, as we nearly burned ourselves just trying to test it out.

The one good thing was the breakfast. There was a great spread every day (breads, cheeses, meats, fruits, pies), and you do get a choice of made-to-order eggs. There's unlimited coffee and tea all day. The coffee from the espresso machine was excellent.

We loved BA, but we only felt okay about this hotel. If we ever went back, I think we'd try to stay somewhere different.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwyhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duque4364, Public Relations Manager at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such helpful feedback on your recent experience at The Duque.

We continuously strive for consistency and find it highly displeasing to learn that we did not provide one of our guests with the service we pride ourselves in. I have discussed your comments with my management team and we have immediately addressed these areas.I am truly grateful for the detailed account of your stay which you provided as this is a helpful tool for us.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon and remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Clean rooms and helpful staff. The spa was small and the only meal avaiable in the hotel was breakfast. That being said there were numerous local restaurants within walking distance. Overall an excellent value. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#8 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#5 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa

Property: Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Address: Calle Guatemala 4364, Buenos Aires C1425BUF, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#5 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#12 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#13 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duque Hotel offers rooms with designer decor and free Wi-Fi (public areas) in trendy Palermo Soho. A pool and spa facilities are available. Scalabrini Ortiz Metro Station is 700 metres away. Individually designed and combining classy style with modern facilities, rooms at Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa feature parquet floors and large windows. All of them have air conditioning and cable TV. A buffet breakfast is served daily. Coffee service and pastries are available around the clock. Palermo's restaurant and pubs are just around the corner. Guest can unwind on the sun loungers by the pool and make use of the spa facilities, including a jacuzzi, a sauna and Turkish baths. Massage sessions can be requested, a library is available. Secure airport shuttles can be requested 24/7. Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa is 6 km from Jorge Newbery Domestic airport and 29.7 Km from Ezeiza International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duque Hotel Boutique And Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing