We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go there!!!”
Review of Ritz Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ritz Hostel
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just go there!!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Excellent staff, very clean, perfect location, just wonderful! One of the best hostels, good vibe. Thank you Mateo and all the other members of staff for making me feel at home, far away from home. I will definately book the Ritz again when I visit Buenos Aires next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    85
    64
    30
    33
See reviews for
19
92
67
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We read some of the other comments and it's true, the rooms didn't always have a functioning toilet or air conditioning but they ALWAYS did their best to fix the problem or change the room for us. They always made us feel happy and welcome. The breakfast was really good! We stayed there about a week and after a horrible robbing in La Boca on Day 1, Valeria (staff) made us feel safe and even came out with us one day and really ended up being a friend to us, rather than just a hotel staff. Mateo was also an amazing staff who helped us find a place to stay in Iquazu and got us a good deal there as well. Eduardo (the manager) was warm and friendly, we talked music and he was a genuine guy. One day when the air wasn't working, he gave us a few free beers. All in all, there were some things that weren't perfect and the price was fairly high (but let's admit that the inflation is due to the [--] Argentina government and crooked politicans that haven't been able to clean up their financial mess since 2002) but it was a comparable price for B.A. standards.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Ritz by hostel inn quickly became a home away from home. I stayed for 2 weeks and did a few hours work for exchange for free accommodation. For breakfast you get a selection of breads, dulce de leche, spreadable cheese, jam, fruits, coffee, hot milk and media lunas! The staff...they stole my heart! Val is possibly the coolest receptionist I've met and quickly became a good friend...she introduced me to her friends and it made my stay. ernesto manages the place and he's very approacable, great guy, Mateo...what a dude! The mixed dorms are a bit dark and dingy so I would suggest that if you are a female to pay the extra money and stay in the female dorms as they are A LOT better! Great place...great location! They even have a live band a couple of evenings a week.

Room Tip: Book female dorm as its a lot better then the mixed dorms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

my stay was very good there the staff were pretty nice. a problem i encountered is the cleaning lady for some reason took my fast drying towel and i found it folded on her cart.. other then that the rooms are very good the matress is very high quality and theres a pool table in the reception. so all in all cheap for dorms and worth the value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

First of all the staff was amazing! Great location and the supermarket is across the street if you din't feel like going out for dinner. The only downside is the tiny kitchen with only two stoves and limited equipment. Was in a beautiful old building with a big common area. Good value, we got exectly what we paid for and 4th night at the dorm is free.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emblasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012

although the minor emplyees at the reception were nice but I have to write my own experience about this hostel: we wanted to make a soft landing to south america so we took this overly expensive (for what it's worth) hostel, our bags with a 2K$ value were stolen the first hour we got there From the hostel Lobby and the owners didn't move a finger to help us neither showing us the video nor did they offer ANY compensation..leave the bad luck aside we had a great 7 months trip in south america afterwards but this was the worst place I've been to in all south america.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yazeed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The staff in the Ritz are great, all the way from the management to reception staff. All are knowledgeable and know the city very well and give simplistic directions. Ernesto, who manages the Hostel is highly approachable and makes a special effort to maintain a fun atmosphere in the evenings. Matteo (the french man) at reception has quickly acquired a reputation for helping out tourists who are in a pinch including myself at a time in need.
I am a solo traveler and I found it very easy to meet like minded people and found the facilities to be adequate. The hostel is also in walking distance of many of the tourist attractions which helps at night in a city like Buenos Aires. Be sure to get safety tips for reception staff.
Definitely recommend the hostel with 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#24 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
#6 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Montserrat
Kilca Hostel and Backpacker
Kilca Hostel and Backpacker
#224 of 454 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Montserrat
Limehouse Youth Hostel
Limehouse Youth Hostel
#268 of 454 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Hostel

Property: Ritz Hostel
Address: Av. de Mayo 1111, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 454 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Hotel Class:2 star — Ritz Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ritz Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hostel Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing