We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place, but seemed overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ritz Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ritz Hostel
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good place, but seemed overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a spacious private room with a big bathroom, up on the third floor. It was all clean, but the whole place could do with repainting etc, and the bathroom fixtures were a bit rusty. The staff were helpful, and the breakfast (for Argentina!) was good. It is really well located right by Lima subte stop. It felt very secure - my main issue was that it was a lot more expensive than private rooms at nearby (and full during our visit) hostels, but did not seem to offer anything that different.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    85
    64
    30
    33
See reviews for
19
92
67
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandungan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Well, this hostel proved to be the hardest to review so far
I have stayed here for 4 nights after traveling in South America already 5 months.

Honestly it can be great or total disaster depending on personal luck.
It deserves very good rating for number of things but for others terrible seems too generous.

I ve ranked it average, here is why:

Great
-Excellent location at the junction of 2 most important streets of Microcentro in front of Metro ( Subte) ( but it gets loud during the day because of the busy junction)
- Spacious dormitory ( but this depends on your luck)
- Comfortableand clean bed
- Good breakfast included ( Italian/Continental style - however no eggs, sausages, etc)
- Very friendly, helpful staff
- Large luggage storage controlled by staff

Bad
- Security may be a concern, as staff doesn´t really check who enter the building.
- Reception doesn´t have lift access, so people with reduce mobility will have problems
- Some dorms are strangely divided in the middle ( creating semi-double room next to 6 beds dorm)
- Unreliable interenet both wi-fi and computers in the lobby
- Tv useless, as it was hard to hear anything due to music, street and people talking

Disaster
-BLACKOUTS - ( no electricity that last all night and all day)
-NO WATER as a result of blackouts
-BLOCKED toilets ( results of previous both) + lack of maintenance even after 2 days ( at some point 5 out of 6 toilets were blocked with paper !)


Furthermore:
When I arrived I got a bed in dorm on the top floor, unfortunately as it was raining heavily that day, the ROOF was leaking, so instantly I was offered another room on the 2nd floor by the girl at reception ( she was polite, friendly and acted immediately). Unfortunately in the second dorm ALL BEDS were occupied, so I went down to the reception again, and was offered third dorm, this time on the 1st floor. This room was spacious, dry and most beds were available in it (so eventually was satisfied with this outcome).
On the 2nd night there was no electricity( blackouts in the area- and this apparently happened many times in January and February), waster. Manager offered to accommodate us in other hostel, but we decided to stay ( as electricity and water were suppose to be back in the evening). Manger offered us a beer as a small compensation. After 20 hours electricity and water was back. Sadly staff didin´t act quickly to unblock toilets, as all of them were loaded and smelled terrible ( this was not fix for another 2 days). Internet wi-fi didn´t work on my laptop anymore. Final night we were offer to stay in double bed ( as most dorms were nearly full). The girl at the reception agreed to give us the private room in the price of dorm ( which was a nice final gesture)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the top floor when it rains (they can get wet) For great view and spaciou dorm ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cezaryfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were at the Ritz Hostel in late November 2013.
We came in from London, caught a Manuel Tenda bus for 90 Pesos. It took us to their depot in BA. They then put us onto a free taxi to the Ritz.
The Ritz is a very large building in the very centre of BA. The rooms are large. The common room is massive. It contains the wi-fi area,. The free breakfast is buffet style with, cereals, croissants, cakes etc. The coffee and tea is also buffet style.
We walked from the Ritz for about 500 metres to Florida street where we changed our dollars at a rate 60% above the official dollar rate. We were then set up for entire three weeks in Argentina.
We thoroughly enjoyed the Ritz. The Metro was just outside and the BA buses ran outside the Hostel.
Staff were very helpful.
We will go back to the Ritz in October.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt47Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in this this hostel at the beginning of December 2013. On our second night everything was stolen from our locker including dollars, passports, iPad, laptop, kindle, bank cards and camera. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us the money we had paid for our lodging to live on whilst we were trying to get everything sorted out. They also provided the name and id number of the person that they had camera footage of leaving with our stuff. We gave all of this info to the police but they didn't do much. Within two days of contacting the thief on Facebook, we had our passports returned to the hostel when we were out. No luck with the rest of our stuff tho!:( the next day, we were in the reception of the hostel and two girls arrived to check in. One of the girls sat her bag (with all her valuables)down and it was switched with an empty bag apparently by a random person who just came into the hostel. Again the staff were extremely helpful and said they would claim for it through their insurance as they had said to us. This made us a little suspicious since that was the second incident in a week...
we were told that a claim would be made on our behalf by the hostel but we did not have any paperwork to fill in and the staff told us that this would just be done over email. Since leaving we have emailed both the member of staff who dealt with the claim and the hostel customer service twice with no reply!!!
This has led me to believe that the burglary might have been an inside job or insurance scam of some sort but can't be sure.
In terms of location and lodging, I'd say this is a good place to stay. The breakfast and social area are decent too. We may just have been unlucky but I would advise other travellers to be very careful if staying here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank calison1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Sorocaba, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

It's really downtown, besides a little bit old,it's cozy and the staff is really good and simple.
They give you all the support necessary and help you get around the city. The breakfast is also good.
Even downtown, it's really quiet and you can also relax.

Room Tip: I'e got in a 8 people room. Really cozy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arianyteodoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

At about USD 9 a night really good value. Nice breakfast. Wi-fi. Great location walking distance to main attractions like Plaza Mayo, Obelisk and downtown. Subte or subway at doorstep. Helpful staffs who helped to print ferry and bus tickets. Room has heater. Bathroom has nice hot water. The only negative comment is the low headroom at the lower bunkbed. Head kept getting hit on the wood. Overall a comfortable and pleasant stay. Our room has great view of the city and Avenida de Julio.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesotong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelInnM, Director Comercial at Ritz Hostel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments and Hostel description!
We hope you can come again some time,

Best regards
Ritz By Hostel Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hostel is really well situated, at the heart of Buenos Aires. Everything you need to see is close to the hostel. The staff is incredibly nice, we laughed a lot with all of them. The estructure of the building is amazing, old fashioned way. I went with some friends and we stayed in a dorm, everything was clean and the bathroom was really spacious. Loved the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valhidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#27 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
#6 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Montserrat
Kilca Hostel and Backpacker
Kilca Hostel and Backpacker
#244 of 484 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Palermo
Media Veronica Hostel Buenos Aires
Media Veronica Hostel Buenos Air...
#43 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Hostel

Property: Ritz Hostel
Address: Av. de Mayo 1111, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 484 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Hotel Class:2 star — Ritz Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ritz Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hostel Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing