We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; disappointing service and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sissi Haz Hotel Boutique
Ranked #16 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Two couples ended our 10 days in Argentina at the Sissi Haz in BA. The location is very convenient to shopping, restaurants and clubs in a lively, but safe, part of town. The rooms are large, though quite dark, and noise from the streets is quite noticeable. This is a true B and B. To get to a small public courtyard, you must pass through the private living quarters of the owners and therfore access is limited to certain times of the day and is not usable when it is raining. Wireless internet has variable signal strength, so access to the courtyard does present a problem if the signal in your room is weak. The solid steel door to the street that must be opened by one of the owners with a skeleton key is also a little intimidating. We had one of the larger rooms with beautiful polished wood floors. The room was lovely and had nice furnishings. I woke from a nap and realized that I had three bites on my arm. I went to let the owners know and was immediately given some Calamine lotion. When I went back to our room I went into the bathroom and found that the bathmat was swarming with ants and a long line of ants led aross the entire bathroom. The owner came immediately and sprayed poison around the entire room which may have kiiled the ants but it was impossible to stay in the room with the smell. The owner blamed the ants on the prior tenant who apparently ate in the room. We were graciously moved to a smaller room, with a discount in price. The next morning the toilet seat broke off the toilet at an inopportune time causing me to hit my head and hip. We found other lodgings and were not charged for the final night of our reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fedlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Sissi Haz Hotel Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

BA offers so many options for accommodation I really had a tough time choosing initially. I'm so glad we stayed here. While it isn't downtown it is in the best part of town for restaurants and for feeling safe as you walk the streets at night. The owners were simply charming and were patient with our very limited Spanish. They helped with dinner reservations, taxis, and general tips that just made our stay easier. The room was spotless and everything worked. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fires72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Lovely boutique B&B in Palermo SoHo. Rooms are spacious, clean and nicely appointed. Breakfast was plentiful and good with fresh pastries and fruit and egg omelet. Staff helpful. English speaking staff available. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuedeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We only had two nights to stay at the Sissi Haz, but could not have asked for a better experience. The facility is very well maintained with lots of beautiful wood. The owners, Silvia and Lorenzo, are so friendly and interesting, although they only speak a few words of English. If you speak Spanish, you will certainly be charmed by them. Paula speaks English well.

They are very good at providing useful information about places and things to see and helped us with reservations, even if with limited English.

The location is a nice quite residential area. There are lots of people on the streets in the evening. It's a good place for walking, and not a short distance to the subway.

Breakfast is included and quite good. I would stay at the Sissi Haz again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We were given a 10% discount for US$ cash payment.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoutthfieldRomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

If you're staying in the Palermo neighborhood of Buenos Aires, this very friendly boutique hotel fit our needs perfectly. The hotel is managed by the owners (Lorenzo), who readily provided plenty of advice about local restaurants and things to do/see. Paula was great help both on the ground and via email. The rooms are large with very efficient air conditioning and well insulated to keep out any traffic noise. If I were to change one thing, it would be to expand the breakfast to beyond simple and add several cheeses and cut meats

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenNorthernNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed there with my wife and we would stay there again in a heartbeat. Great location in Palermo. Very "fun" (and kind of random) architecture as it looks like a Swiss lodge. Compared to other B&B's, you can tell they spent time with quality material making the rooms...finished wooden beams for the ceiling, interest doors, stone..not cookie cutter at all. Breakfast brought to your room each morning! The owner, an older gentleman could not have been more friendly and kind. I would also say a great "value" pick..doesn't have amenities like a pool or super upscale linens, etc...but that's not what we signed up for.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Very friendly boutique hotel - managed at all times by the owners who are more than happy to provide plenty of advice about local restaurants etc. The rooms are large with efficient a/c, nice tv and shutters on the windows which keep out any traffic noise. Breakfasts are simple but generous and a very efficient and inexpensive laundry service is available. The hotel is very close to many good restaurants, bars and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAS907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#5 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,866 reviews
Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
#25 of 443 in Buenos Aires
658 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#126 of 443 in Buenos Aires
561 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,397 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
#64 of 443 in Buenos Aires
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sissi Haz Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sissi Haz Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Malabia 1561, Buenos Aires C1414DME, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £70 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sissi Haz Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Buenos Aires in the heart of Palermo Soho , the Town House Suite Sissi Haz is an excellent base for exploring the Argentinian Capital City starting from the lush Botanic Gardens, the zoo and the shopping streets of Palermo. The city center of Buenos Aires is just 15 minutes away from the lodging, allowing guests an easy access to all main attractions of town. Inside a picturesque historic building of Buenos Aires , the Town House Suite Sissi Haz features 5 suites with free wireless Internet access, either with views over the garden or the inner courtyard. The concierge service includes gastronomic tours, wine tasting and booking of museum and theatre tickets, to ensure guests an unforgettable stay in Buenos Aires, in the heart of Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sissi Haz Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing