We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price and location!”
Review of Hotel Mundial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mundial
Ranked #257 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Location was the main reason why I chose this hotel and I was so happy I did it. I could walk to the Obelisc in like 10 minutes, the hotel is located on the same road as the court hose type building and there is an original statue of Rodin's thinker right by it.
here is a Metro/Subway station just two blocks from the hotel.
The area is one of the best of Buenos Aires, very safe at night and surrounded by very nice restaurants. You can also walk to cafe Tortoni to see one of the best tango shows from the hotel (kind of pricy though). Casa Rosada -Presidential Palace- is also close by if you want to walk or take a taxi for five dollars from your hotel.
The best of Hotel Mundial is the staff, they will always try ot help you and they are very courteous and friendly. Even if you know Spansih, you will find it hard to understand Argentinians very well, tehy have a distinct accent and they use a lot of local vocabulary and slang. Most of the staff could speak English at an acceptable level.
The elevators are old style (like some you will see in France) you have to open and close the door manually and it looks like you are caged in when you get in the elevator.
The breakfast is included and it like a buffet style, very good with a variety of fruits and juices.
I will go back to B Aires and I will try the Hotel Mundial again too.

Room Tip: Best location if you want to walk to main attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gringotraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel is very centrally located in one of the busiest streets in Buenos Aires. Nice cafes , restaurants are all around the hotel. Public transportation is easily accesible and the most important sights of the city is walking distance (2-3 km) from the hotel.
It is very cool and classic building.
Rooms have nice balcony with a nice view.
Breakfast was fair.

-Downsides
The toilet in the room was very unfomfortable. It was very tight , could be designed better. Bath doesn't have hair dryer.
Walls painted with very dark and ugly colour which shows the room very dated.
Elevator was very weird.
To me the worst thing about the hotel is one of the receptionist. We tried to ask him questions about the city and transportation to the airport but he was very unwilling to answer us. He acted very rude. As we were leaving the hotel for the airport we said him bye but he didin't even say anything back. He was the man with glasses. The other receptionists were kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blitzistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I had a nice one-night stay in this place. I would consider it a nice classic building with modern twist - classical architecture with high ceilings and French balconies, but rooms with bold modern colouring. The location is good at the main street, with places for dining nearby.

Service was efficient - they even offered early bird breakfast as I had to catch an early plane. Free wifi as well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tango-Xpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I was in a single room on the 7th floor. It was small, but had a large (corner) balcony. Jorge at the front desk is the man to see about anything. Although always busy, he will take care of you. The subtee (subway) is two blocks away, and you can pretty much cover the city from there. The subte cost is 2.50 per trip. Once you are in the subway, you can ride all day if you like for the 2 1/2 pesos. Soledad cleans the rooms on the 6th and 7th floors and is an absolute charm; always pleasant and smiling.

Room Tip: heat was an issue at night. ask for an extra blanket in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwbales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of the city, so it's easy to walk to or take cabs to many interesting places.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

It is a great place to move around you can get cab very easly. The room I had it was nice and clean, very quiet as well and it was on high floor. I love the architec of the building and everything especially the
elevator is facinating. I highly recomend this hotel and the breakfast is good too. I would definitely will come back

Room Tip: Take the six floor facing the street there fore you can enjoy the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel_344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a small attractively priced hotel right in the middle of Buenos Aires. There is no restaurant but the cold buffet breakfast was better than most and there are many restaurants of all types within 5 minutes walk. The staff were friendly. My wife left her pearl earings in the room when we left. We returned a week later and collected them! The hotel does need updating, in particular the carpets need to be replaced with a modern floor covering, as they smell musty. Furniture in which to store clothes and a safe in each room would help. The en-suite bathroom was well furnished and clean. Being right in the centre and on one of the busiest streets in the very centre of BA, the rooms are a little noisy at night if the windows are left open, but there are both a ceiling fan and A/C unit to provide ventilation. The early 20th century origins of the building are pleasant and the feel of the place grows on one over the days.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Basil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolás
Hotel Americano
Hotel Americano
#248 of 440 in Buenos Aires
125 reviews
San Nicolás
San Remo City Hotel
San Remo City Hotel
#321 of 440 in Buenos Aires
239 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#54 of 440 in Buenos Aires
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolás
Babel Plaza
Babel Plaza
#228 of 440 in Buenos Aires
111 reviews
Montserrat
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Hotel
#211 of 440 in Buenos Aires
190 reviews
Montserrat
Unique Palacio San Telmo
Unique Palacio San Telmo
#173 of 440 in Buenos Aires
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundial

Address: Avenida de Mayo 1298, Buenos Aires C1085ABP, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £25 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mundial 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Eurostars, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing