We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange Peruvian offerings”
Review of Ceviche

Ceviche
Ranked #1,977 of 4,986 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Palermo
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Strange Peruvian offerings”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Well to start with when you come in you notice that the decor is very shabby, and that is never a good sign of things to come...and it wasnt..

Peruvian food have had quite a renaissance here in Buenos Aires, but this is not a place you want to try it.

We were a group of friends and all had a good assortment of everything Ceviche has to offer, and nobody was overly enthusiastic about the courses we had, personally I had the lamb, which was gristled, and fused with some sauce and rice, and really not pleasent at all.

There really is no service at all, this really bafles me, you get your food and the waiter disappears till you have finished and ready for next course or to leave...

Ahh well enough on that, forward and upwards to better things !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    108
    61
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very UN-appealing”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

There was nothing positively noteworthy about Ceviche. OK, it's good location, and you can go and find somewhere else more appealing to eat when you leave there. However, the atmosphere is loud and noisy, the service is slow and noisy, and the food is surprisingly bad. It's beyond me how this place got such good reviews. The ceviche was very adequate (maybe we chose the wrong one), our entree was bland and tasteless and even looked unappetising, and the drinks (even the piscos) were just bad!
If this is what passes for good Peruvian food in BsAs, then maybe a lot of the reviewers have never been to Peru!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amnesty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Regular place with a slow service”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We went because we had a special discount. We were served the ceviche appetiser "only" after 30 minutes, and the main sushi dish some 45 minutes later, not mentioning the several times we had to ask for water before we could actually get it. We reckon this is too much waiting time and bad service for an allegedly trendy place: it charges according to this ambition and not to the actual quality of the food, which is, by the way, not much more than regular.

Helpful?
Thank Petraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good food”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Good peruvian jap fusion cuisine. Warm service. Reasonable price. Lack of intimacy for couples. Almost sharing tables with others. Worth visiting.

Helpful?
Thank Dmp020464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peru in BA”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Best Peruvian food in BA. Located in Palermo.
After dinner you can go bar hopping in the neighborhood. Best ceviche, causas and passion fruit/chocolate desserts. Really nice envienonment and great staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ceviche also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Ceviche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing