We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning: Closed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ayres Portenos Tango Suites
Ranked #227 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Arrived with Expedia reservation for three nights. One of the residents let us is. This place is not currently functioning as a hotel "rented out to working families." No staff, money taken. Full refund from Expedia. Apparently this and the sister hotel has been closed for two months.

Avoid!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dwolfliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Dirty room and bad neighborhood. Small TVs, dust everywhere, small nasty bathrooms and gaudy murals all over the place. Place did not meet expectations.

Good complimentary breakfast is only redeeming factor at this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoamoEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed for five nights and loved it. The hotel is uniquely decorated - we had a vibrant mural covering two of the walls in our room. The bathroom was nicely decorated in marble and there were French windows leading out onto a small balconette. The view was just of the street, but it enabled us to let in some lovely Argentinian sunshine.
The room was very comfortable and the owners were really friendly and helpful, especially when they helped us sort out our ferry tickets and booked a taxi on our behalf.
Location for San Telmo is great, and it's a pleasant walk to Plaza Mayor (approx 10 mins). We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank helen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The best part of this hotel was by far the extremely helpful staff: they provided directions, assistance with taxis and transfers from the airport, restaurant recommendations, and advice for travelers. Christian even gave us a quick Spanish lesson as the Spanish spoken in Argentina differs from that spoken in Mexico. More notable qualities are the location and the charming artwork that gives this place its character.

Room Tip: We booked a triple room through hotels.com, but unfortunately the website gave incorrect information...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzybee417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel is really fantastic, from the old style decoration to the helpful and courteous desk workers, everything was amazing. I was very impressed with the desk staff because they were able to answer every question that I had and spoke very good English for my parents' sake. They even went so far as to help us find a steak house after we found out the one that we wanted to go to was closed for good. We stayed in a 3 bed room on the first floor and everything was clean and well stocked. The breakfast room and the terrace were simply amazing and the breakfast was a very good Argentine style breakfast. The only problem that we encountered was the toilet that started running in the middle of the night, which was fixed very quickly. I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Buenos Aires who wants a good price for a hotel, decor reflecting earlier roots of Buenos Aires, and within reliable Taxi distant of some great sights in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 85KevinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

What a delight for the eyes is through the doors of this hotel. It doesn't look like much from the outside but as soon as you are buzzed in, a delight to the eyes awaits the charming and funky decor that fits in with nearby Caminito in La Boca. Taxis can be called for by the front desk and walking is easy though maps were not available so bring your own. San Telmo market on Sunday is very close and a must see plus easy walking distance to a number of sites. We had a leaky toilet that was a minor inconvenience. Beds were very comfortable and the shower pressure was great!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogersfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hotel is in the San Telmo district and is just a short walk from Plaza de Mayo, one of the main tourist attractions in Buenos Aires.

The room was clean and functional if a little on the small side. The decoration, full wall murals, was certainly different from any other room I've ever stayed in. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and we slept quite well.

The staff were extremely helpful. They organised our transfer from the airport for us (which was very reasonably priced) so that when we arrived we were met by someone holding a sign with our name. They also arranged a half day city tour which was very enjoyable and again well priced. When we asked about getting a taxi to Puerto Madero they advised us to save our money and walk, giving us simple, clear directions.

This really is a nice hotel, in an interesting area with excellent staff. While the decor will not be to everyone's taste, it is something that will linger in the memory. Passing a figure Eva Peron as you walk upstairs, and having Maradonna sitting in the breakfast room with you is memorable.

All in all, this is a winning combination and I can thoroughly and whole-heartedly recommend this rather zany hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
San Telmo Luxury Suites
San Telmo Luxury Suites
#139 of 443 in Buenos Aires
251 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#55 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,433 reviews
San Telmo
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
#84 of 443 in Buenos Aires
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Merit San Telmo
Merit San Telmo
#90 of 443 in Buenos Aires
441 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#95 of 443 in Buenos Aires
478 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Boca by Design Suites
Hotel Boca by Design Suites
#58 of 443 in Buenos Aires
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Portenos Tango Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Portenos Tango Suites

Address: Calle Chacabuco 615, Buenos Aires C1069AAM, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#100 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Portenos Tango Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayres Porteños Tango Suites is located in the heart of Buenos Aires, in the San Telmo neighbourhood.This hotel is the first thematic tango hotel in Buenos Aires, noted for the impressive works of art that you can find in its walls and corridors that describe the most interesting attributes of Buenos Aires. Each of the 28 suites is a different experience for our guests, as they were decorated by art experts, turning them into an exclusive and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ayres Portenos Tango Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Portenos Tango Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing