We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“forget it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Vitral Baires Boutique Hotel
Ranked #208 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 18 December 2010

I did my reservation three weeks in advance, got my confirmation, and provided my credit card and personal details as requested. Upon arrival to Le Vitral I was greeted with an utterly useless employee who informed me that they overbooked (again, as other reviews point out) and I was being relocated to another place. In the 3 weeks they couldn't bother to inform me of this, either per e-mail, phone or smoke signals.
I read in reviews that this happened in this particular hotel too many times in the recent past, but I decided to take my chances because I thought I might get lucky. Wrong.
On top, I was sent to another hotel (Best Western) which had no charm, no atmosphere, no facilities and, worst of all, the breakfast. Sewage water was probably used for the coffee, while decomposed bats were included in the pastry. Not to mention the uselessness of the personal. They did charge me the same as I would have paid in Le Vitral, thank you very much.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank martin_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Le Vitral Baires Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed at the Vitral Baires for 5 nights when we first arrived in Buenos Aires, and we were very happy with our choice. We had a superior room with a clean tiled bathroom and comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was good - quiet as it was not on a busy street, and close to two different subway lines. The buffet breakfast was good, with eggs available, as well as fresh fruit salad. When we returned to the hotel for our last night in Buenos Aires, we were given the large suite which was a huge room with a large jetted tub. Overall, we would recommend the Vitral Baires. Also, just a few blocks away is Cervantes parrilla, a good traditional steakhouse, not fancy, but with great prices.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

My husband and I planned to spend our last night in BA at Le Vitral before flying back to the states. I booked the room at least 1 month ago and we thought we were all set. Less than 24 hours prior to our check in time, I received an email from the hotel informing me that they had overbooked and no longer had room for us. They also said there is another very comparable hotel nearby that they could book for us. We were in the jungles of Iguazu at the time with no computer (thankfully had the iPhone!) and so without many options left to us, we agreed to check out the other option.

The next day we flew into BA and got dropped off at this other hotel. The place was in no way comparable to pictures I had seen or reviews I had read for Le Vitral. The hotel was OLD and CREEPY with not a single person who spoke English to help us. We ended up leaving shortly after examining the room and roaming the streets for an alternative. Finally did find a cute boutique hotel nearby with availability but paid a much higher than normal rate since we were desperate.

To make things worse after all of this, upon returning home I received an email from Booking.com (the 3rd party I booked through) informing me that we were being charged a cancellation fee for being a no show. Now how is that possible?! Booking.com then informed us that this is purely based on what the hotel - Le Vitral - input in their computers. Ridiculous!!! PLEASE AVOID!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank jk3523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeVitralBaires, Gerente at Le Vitral Baires Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2010

I'm concerned about the problems you experienced at Hotel Lyon during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.
Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology for any misunderstandings that may have
occurred when we discussed your derivation a few days before to your arrival. Unfortunately, your room suffered a defect in the plumbing and we could not change you to another room because we were fully booked. This was the reason because we reccomend you Hotel Lyon. You agreed and we made the new reservation for you in this 3 star hotel, with similar rate, comfort and location that our hotel.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve.

If you need further assistance regarding this matter, do not hesitate to contact
me directly. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Once again, please accept my sincere apology. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Germán Xhemo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We made in advance reservation at this hotel in order to visit B.A. for the first time.We arrived at the hotel on july 16 with my two kids at 2:00 am after a long journey. My husband first vacation in years of hard work as a psychiatrist. My room was taken by a family who unfortunately lost a relative.I made no trouble unlike my husband(he didn´t believe it, but was true) who got really mad because I have a litle baby . They put us in another hotel. What do you expect in such a case like it? At least a similar hotel, right?So very wrong!! Despite the kindness of the owner couple, the hotel was terrible!Very old,the elevator badly works,the beds and furniture falling to pieces and a cockroach as a company .First thing next morning when we went back to the hotel, my husband told the attendent(very nice guy named Lucio) that despite the seven days reservation, he only expect to pay for six, and he said that was ok.My husband also apologize for the manners and things came back on track.At check out we were very surprise when the manager, Mr. Germán ,said we have to pay.My husband refuses and all the displeasure came back.To make things worst,we recevied an email from the manager about a review my husband made in booking.com calling him a liar, a death enjoyer and more.Please, tell me, I had stayed in several hotels in many places around the world, do you ever heard a thing like it?He not only was non profisional but also agressive and can be prosecuted for this.For your own family sake,stay away!!! P.S.: B.A. is great!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drix08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeVitralBaires, Gerente at Le Vitral Baires Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2010

I am so sorry that your experience at our hotel was not acceptable to you.

Once again I apologize for the problems you encountered while staying with Hotel Lion d’or during your first night in Buenos Aires. Unfortunately, a problem of force majeur indisposed the room booked for you in our hotel.

I would like to clarify that the hotel gave you this first night for free, it is not true that we charged you this amount. We were very surprised when we read in Booking.com a review telling the opposite. We felt really cheated.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will reconsider and try us again sometime. If so, please contact me directly and I am happy to personally assist you with your reservation and follow up to your stay.

Sincerely,
Germán Xhemo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I was during one week in Buenos Aires and ii can say its well located, near to bookstores and theatres. It is served by the owner and his family. I dont like very much bigs (and impersonal) hotels. So its perfect if you are looking for something little different, clean , very comfortable beds and a perfect service (for example, they ordering clothes that are lying in the room!). But do not expect big breakfast buffet (To me its no problem because in Buenos Aires one of the most valuable thinks are the boskstores/cafe like Ateneo Libreria) so my advise is to take a breakfast outside. If you are looking for a middle price hotels Its perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauroenviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

None whatsoever. It is almost mind-boggling but nothing wrong over the 17 days we stay in the Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I really enjoyed staying at this boutique hotel. The location is great! Also, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The room I stayed at had a big LCD tv. The staff is very nice and always willing to help. Specially German, he is awesome!! They even allowed me to take a late breakfast at 12pm. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisandro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
#189 of 443 in Buenos Aires
540 reviews
Bauen Suite Hotel
#224 of 443 in Buenos Aires
225 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#80 of 443 in Buenos Aires
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Intersur Suites
#186 of 443 in Buenos Aires
141 reviews
BA Central Hotel
#176 of 443 in Buenos Aires
360 reviews
Hotel Ayamitre
#322 of 443 in Buenos Aires
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vitral Baires Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vitral Baires Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Ayacucho 277, Buenos Aires C1025AAE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £62 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Vitral Baires Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why choosing us? We have only nine rooms and our mainstays are the warmth and the customized service. Our greatest desire is to make your stay unique and unforgettable, so our staff will be ready to satisfy your needs and you will feel as if you were at home in a cozy and relaxed atmosphere. The Hotel strategic location -only 300 meters away from the National Congress, a few steps away from Corrientes Avenue and very near to the main tourist attractions of the city- turns it into your starting point in Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Vitral Baires Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing