We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Epico Recoleta Hotel
Ranked #238 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The hotel is a bit worse than the other Dazzler hotels but nevertheless it's good. Rooms in general are clean and, although they are not precisely big, they are OK. Location is also good (atlhough there are no shops near, you can easily get to them from the hotel). Breakfast was OK too.

The best thing about the hotel is frontdesk staff. They provide a great service and they are always trying to help you in whatever you need. Upon request, they made everything possible so that I could check out at 4 pm.

The only negative point are the elevators. They are really old and small (if someone has a suitcase it's impossible to share the ride). Because of that, you always have to wait some minutes to get upstairs or go down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lowers floors (you won't have to wait for the elevators!)
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoso9128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Epico Recoleta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

we take 2 rooms for 4 nights and it was very bad choice. i do not know how he recieved his grade in trip advisor. the rooms are so small that you barely move inside especialy if you have suitcases.
in the first room i stay there was no chair to sit. the room windows not isolated the noise from the road so you are feel like you sleeping outside if you can sleep at all.
The breakfest is poor and at the time we eat the fruits was finished so you have to eat early.
the rooms are dark and old and not well equiped.
The guy in the front desk are cooparative.
From what we see when we arrive to buenos thats there are a lot of hotels better and cheaper.

Room Tip: try to find other hotel
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoronA495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We had to book this hotel for one night literally at the last minute because a different hotel in Buenos Aires overbooked us. All in all, the Dazzler Laprida was very clean and quiet, well located for what we wanted to do, and considerably better than we expected it would be. The staff were quite helpful when we arrived, as well as later that evening and the next day. They were not gushy, but rather genuinely helpful. We never spoke English with them and so don’t know if that would present a problem, but expect not. The other guests we encountered were adults, quite respectable and polite. The lobby had a bare concrete floor, which we first thought meant the floor was being re-done and later decided it was permanent, and the front desk was an office desk sitting out in the middle of the room, which looked a little bizarre at first. In the room, the AC worked perfectly, and the minibar worked perfectly. In the hallway, we were able to hear people talking in the next room but once inside our own room, it was impossible to hear any noise whatsoever from the other rooms. It seemed as though the walls must have been very thick. The walls of our room and apparently the others as well were painted black which we found a bit off-putting and the bedroom was a rather small and dark at night but well illuminated in the daytime and clean. The window didn’t shut quite all the way but it was a relatively quiet street for Buenos Aires and putting the AC on low fan speed pretty well covered any street noises past midnight. The bathroom appeared spotless. The two elevators were tiny and had an old-timey 2-layered door that made them almost comical to negotiate. The elevator walls were covered with spotlessly clean mirrors and the elevator floor also was very clean. The front desk gave us excellent advice for finding a choice of several restaurants the night we arrived and promptly provided a hair dryer at our request. The next morning, the free breakfast smelled good, although we overslept it. They kept our bags during the day of our departure so we could visit a couple of museums that afternoon, and arranged for a punctual and reasonably priced remise to take us to the airport when we returned. We normally stay at higher rated hotels than this one but were very happy with our experience and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 7, which in the States would be the 8th floor. I am very sensitive to noise and...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justmyopinion9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The hotel is very well located. It seems to be clean. Rooms are designed with black walls, thing that made them very dark and made it difficult to see if they are properly cleaned or not.
Breakfast is ok, but try to be there early, because the choice decreases with the time.
The real value of the hotel is its staff, they are very helpful.
The hotel needs a renovation and a modernization. Elevators are quite old and not operate very well.
My room was quite hot but there was air con.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoMiHevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

good location, when your fit you can walk to all the important sights, taking the hop on/off bus is better. !.
friendly, helpfull staff,
Small but okay room with airco, safe and minibar. Continental breakfast.
there are a couple of good restaurants in the neighboorhood.
P.Luyten, Netherlands

Room Tip: room 701 was okay; not noisy and airco was perfec !
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motorfiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I would agree with other reviewers that the photos of the rooms make them look more plush than reality but this is always the case. I stayed on my own so the room size was fine & the bathroom was big with a large powerful shower. The bed was huge too (king size) and very comfortable. I rather liked the grey/black colour scheme as it is very modern. The TV had many channels & was large. If air conditioning is your thing - then it works well but you can also open a window. The breakfast is fine but make sure you get there not too late as no croissants/medialunas will be left as I discovered!

The hotel is about 10 mins walk from Recoleta cemetary so it's a handy location & not too expensive.

The only negative for me is that the wireless connection was every other floor. I was on the fifth floor and basically the wireless only worked well when I was at reception. I needed the wireless for Skype to avoid expensive mobile calls etc. If the wireless was boosted then I would have made my review excellent (hotel owners take note!)

The staff were very frendly & helpful. The hotel seemed fully booked & I was there just after Easter 2012.

Room Tip: Get a room on a floor that has a wireless router!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSmiths-London-BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stayed for 3 nights with my wife and the incovenience was the black walls at rooms. This hotel was called BlueTree Recoleta than Illios.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GustavoMontiRocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Alta Piazza
Alta Piazza
#71 of 443 in Buenos Aires
258 reviews
Recoleta
A Hotel  Art Gallery
A Hotel Art Gallery
#161 of 443 in Buenos Aires
573 reviews
Recoleta
Esplendor Plaza Francia
Esplendor Plaza Francia
#70 of 443 in Buenos Aires
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Art Suites
Art Suites
#136 of 443 in Buenos Aires
421 reviews
Recoleta
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#137 of 443 in Buenos Aires
443 reviews
Recoleta
Ulises Recoleta Suites
Ulises Recoleta Suites
#166 of 443 in Buenos Aires
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epico Recoleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epico Recoleta Hotel

Address: Calle Laprida 1910, Buenos Aires C1425EKT, Argentina (Formerly Palacio Chic)
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £41 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Epico Recoleta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Epico Recoleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dazzler Laprida Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing