We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Epico Recoleta Hotel
Ranked #252 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Having just stayed in this hotel for a night on a short trip to BA from Cordoba and onwards to Japan I can say it is good if your needs are only just above basic. With this I don’t mean it is bad place to stay at all. Rooms are comfortable enough, with air conditioning and all. Shower is also good and brekkie would be your typical Argentinean breakfast. Don’t expect eggs or anything hot; instead you will have croissants (both sweet and savoury), toast, mini alfajores, butter, preserves and Argentina omnipresent sweet: Dulce de Leche.
One thing I have found slightly annoying is that all staff are extremely young (or maybe it’s me getting old….) and do not seem to be properly trained answering the phone and leaving one on waiting whilst the caller is being dealt with. I understand the answer-within-three-rings rule but I also know that the costumer in from has precedence over the one on the phone….. In their defence this hasn’t only happened in this hotel but I’ve experienced it all over the country. So might be just the way things are round here…. One really good thing is that I arrived early and they had no problems checking me in and also gave me a complimentary late check out on my departure day. Please note check-out here is 10 am and not the customary 12 noon.
One thing I must stress is that there was a slightly unpleasant smell coming form the loo. Nothing too strong that would have prompted a complaint or a request of changing rooms, but it was there. Another not so positive thing was the noise from the street so try and ask for a room that is not facing the street.
The chaps at the desk are also very competent when it comes to act as a concierge.
Overall I can recommend this hotel if you do not wish to stay with any of the big payers and try a local chain thus contributing to the local economy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    100
    72
    25
    17
See reviews for
44
110
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

In my opinion this is not a hotel for tourists since it is not exactly near from the main points of tourist interest. It is in a quiet, elegant area. There is some sophistication in the decoration and the small rooms are well planned. I liked the dark colours of the room which had all the extras I needed (fast WiFi included). Bed-linen-towels ok. The staff was correct and the breakfast just great. I would pleasantly go back.

Room Tip: use taxis or find out about the buses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The hotel is a bit worse than the other Dazzler hotels but nevertheless it's good. Rooms in general are clean and, although they are not precisely big, they are OK. Location is also good (atlhough there are no shops near, you can easily get to them from the hotel). Breakfast was OK too.

The best thing about the hotel is frontdesk staff. They provide a great service and they are always trying to help you in whatever you need. Upon request, they made everything possible so that I could check out at 4 pm.

The only negative point are the elevators. They are really old and small (if someone has a suitcase it's impossible to share the ride). Because of that, you always have to wait some minutes to get upstairs or go down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lowers floors (you won't have to wait for the elevators!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoso9128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

we take 2 rooms for 4 nights and it was very bad choice. i do not know how he recieved his grade in trip advisor. the rooms are so small that you barely move inside especialy if you have suitcases.
in the first room i stay there was no chair to sit. the room windows not isolated the noise from the road so you are feel like you sleeping outside if you can sleep at all.
The breakfest is poor and at the time we eat the fruits was finished so you have to eat early.
the rooms are dark and old and not well equiped.
The guy in the front desk are cooparative.
From what we see when we arrive to buenos thats there are a lot of hotels better and cheaper.

Room Tip: try to find other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We had to book this hotel for one night literally at the last minute because a different hotel in Buenos Aires overbooked us. All in all, the Dazzler Laprida was very clean and quiet, well located for what we wanted to do, and considerably better than we expected it would be. The staff were quite helpful when we arrived, as well as later that evening and the next day. They were not gushy, but rather genuinely helpful. We never spoke English with them and so don’t know if that would present a problem, but expect not. The other guests we encountered were adults, quite respectable and polite. The lobby had a bare concrete floor, which we first thought meant the floor was being re-done and later decided it was permanent, and the front desk was an office desk sitting out in the middle of the room, which looked a little bizarre at first. In the room, the AC worked perfectly, and the minibar worked perfectly. In the hallway, we were able to hear people talking in the next room but once inside our own room, it was impossible to hear any noise whatsoever from the other rooms. It seemed as though the walls must have been very thick. The walls of our room and apparently the others as well were painted black which we found a bit off-putting and the bedroom was a rather small and dark at night but well illuminated in the daytime and clean. The window didn’t shut quite all the way but it was a relatively quiet street for Buenos Aires and putting the AC on low fan speed pretty well covered any street noises past midnight. The bathroom appeared spotless. The two elevators were tiny and had an old-timey 2-layered door that made them almost comical to negotiate. The elevator walls were covered with spotlessly clean mirrors and the elevator floor also was very clean. The front desk gave us excellent advice for finding a choice of several restaurants the night we arrived and promptly provided a hair dryer at our request. The next morning, the free breakfast smelled good, although we overslept it. They kept our bags during the day of our departure so we could visit a couple of museums that afternoon, and arranged for a punctual and reasonably priced remise to take us to the airport when we returned. We normally stay at higher rated hotels than this one but were very happy with our experience and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 7, which in the States would be the 8th floor. I am very sensitive to noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justmyopinion9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The hotel is very well located. It seems to be clean. Rooms are designed with black walls, thing that made them very dark and made it difficult to see if they are properly cleaned or not.
Breakfast is ok, but try to be there early, because the choice decreases with the time.
The real value of the hotel is its staff, they are very helpful.
The hotel needs a renovation and a modernization. Elevators are quite old and not operate very well.
My room was quite hot but there was air con.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoMiHevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oirschot
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

good location, when your fit you can walk to all the important sights, taking the hop on/off bus is better. !.
friendly, helpfull staff,
Small but okay room with airco, safe and minibar. Continental breakfast.
there are a couple of good restaurants in the neighboorhood.
P.Luyten, Netherlands

Room Tip: room 701 was okay; not noisy and airco was perfec !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorfiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
A Hotel  Art Gallery
A Hotel Art Gallery
#162 of 445 in Buenos Aires
572 reviews
Recoleta
Cyan Recoleta Hotel
Cyan Recoleta Hotel
#87 of 445 in Buenos Aires
701 reviews
Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
#247 of 445 in Buenos Aires
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#119 of 445 in Buenos Aires
440 reviews
Recoleta
Wilton Hotel
Wilton Hotel
#200 of 445 in Buenos Aires
565 reviews
Recoleta
Alta Piazza
Alta Piazza
#76 of 445 in Buenos Aires
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epico Recoleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epico Recoleta Hotel

Property: Epico Recoleta Hotel
Address: Calle Laprida 1910, Buenos Aires C1425EKT, Argentina (Formerly Palacio Chic)
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Epico Recoleta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Epico Recoleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dazzler Laprida Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing