We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gold little nugget” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algodon Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Algodon Mansion
Ranked #116 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Treviso, Italia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“gold little nugget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I spent here 3 days during my visit in Buenos Aires . I was looking for something not too big , small , private , and beautiful .
it is an ancient palace located in the middle of the city , the best area .
Perfect for couple , single or Business .
The best thing ? The bed ! It is huge , definitely the most comfortable of my life so far .
Try out the Restaurant !! A must !
Highly recommended !

Room Tip: number 7 !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teuz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    29
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
135
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

In our few days in BA we walked from one end of the city to the other and were very pleased that we had chosen to stay in the characterful district of Recoleta. It took us about 45 minutes, at a pretty fast pace, to get from the international airport to the hotel by taxi and we pre-paid at the taxi desk outside of customs in the main hall. The prepayment means you get an allocated driver and a slightly better class of taxi and it seemed ideal for us. Recoleta like the Algodon Mansion has class and style and we had no hesitation in walking around the area day or night as it seemed relatively safe and very well policed. The hotel has been nicely restored and the lighting in the bar and restaurant give it a fairly modernistic feel. There's a lift to all floors and a small pool and bar on the roof. Our room was at the front of the hotel but nevertheless very quiet. The bed was huge and the furnishings in the room made it very comfortable. The bathroom was large with a wonderful shower and a free-standing bath. One of the niggles we had was that replacement of bathroom products seemed to be pretty random and we had to call the front desk on more than one occasion to either get soap, shampoo or moisturiser - very minor but very annoying. Breakfast was included in our rate and on the first morning there were two people serving, pastries were already on the table, orange juice and coffee arrived punctually along with our cooked breakfast order - all perfect. On the second morning only one staff member on duty and breakfast became a very ordinary affair - our only other niggle and the reason we didn't give the AM a 5 star rating. Front desk staff were very helpful booking cabs and restaurants as well as giving us some very useful tourist information. It's the location, intimacy and charm of Algodon Mansion that make it such an attractive place to stay. The niggles are minor the place is major!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We wanted a historic, small hotel for our final three days in BA in February. The Algodon is in fact a historic mansion, and looks so from the outside. But it was heavily remodeled inside so that not a lot of original history remains. It's gorgeous, in a cool sort of way. Wonderful small bar and lobby, nice restaurant, several floors of large suites with extra large bathrooms. It is, however, a little too cool for its own good. We never did figure out a way to operate the trendy light switches, and the tv was overly complex as well. The bathroom hardware was unlike anything I've seen before, or want to see again. The rooftop pool and whirlpool would be really nice in hot weather, but the water is not heated and it was a little too chilly to enjoy. The front desk staff was very helpful and spoke good English. The breakfast waiters were English challenged, and their coffee was lacking. But food was very good. The location of the hotel was great. We spent about $600 a night, which seems like a lot for what we got. We did get a free bottle of good wine from the winery that the hotel company operates.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Buenos Aires has several fantastic hotel options, and Algodon Mansion is a great option for a very personalized and pleasant service in generous and luxurious accommodations.

Very accommodating of kids even though most of the guests were couples.

Make sure to ask about the small discount for paying in cash.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 071YD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Algodon Mansion is a gem in Recoleta, Buenos Aries, it is small, smart and worth paying for.
We had one of the smaller rooms which was perfect , it had the biggest bed we have ever had, over 8 feet! We were in room 5 and the wifi was not great but worked well in the bath-room which was modern and quirky with slanting basins with no plugs and a bath in the middle of the room which was not too easy to get out of!
Everyone was helpful and always called us by our name.The breakfast was good.The Bar with music each night was lovely.
Next door is an excellent coffee bar serving food until midnight.
It is in a really safe area and we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennytourslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
241 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very very very good hotel i really meant and i'am very picky , staff were so friendly i feel like family , the room is so good , nice location nice design i couldn't ask for more!!!

there is only one bad thing for me , soundproof is very weak which is important for me to not here anything !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 days on our way to Patagonia. It was 40 degrees in Buenos Aires (with lots of traffic and protests) and this was a perfect choice hotel for us. Great rooms, even better food and restaurant, helpful staff and a much needed plunge pool on the top floor with spa.

Thank you for all of your help.

Christopher

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#23 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#10 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
#11 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#28 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#17 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algodon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algodon Mansion

Property: Algodon Mansion
Address: Calle Montevideo 1647 | (between Guido and Quintana), Buenos Aires C1021AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#32 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#34 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#43 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#71 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Algodon Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algodon Mansion is an all-suite, luxury boutique hotel located in the Recoleta neighborhood of Buenos Aires, Argentina. This landmark 1912 building is fashioned in French Classical design and has been impeccably restored, yet re-imagined with inspired contemporary elegance and sophistication. Our suites are exceptionally spacious and offer superior comforts in amenities, including impeccable service, design and luxurious finishings. Suites overlook a shaded residential street, as well as an exquisite interior lightwell that features a cascading waterfall descending to the lobby. Our celebrated restaurant and wine bar offer delectable ambiance and cuisine, and on our rooftop, teak decks and loungers surround a swimmer's pool for summertime tanning with a petite bar for afternoon soirées. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Algodon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algodon Mansion Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing