We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Algodon Mansion
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$185
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)
US$217
US$174
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$914
US$755
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alvear Palace Hotel(Buenos Aires)
US$479
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$145
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dazzler Recoleta(Buenos Aires)
US$132
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$237
US$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bulnes Eco Suites(Buenos Aires)
US$157
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
214
34
11
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
34
11
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsambassador suiterelais chateauxfree standing tubfrette linenslarge marble bathroomexclusive hotelrecoleta neighborhoodrooftop poolspecial hoteldinner reservationswine cellarcomplimentary wineseparate toiletsmall hotelsbreakfast and dinnerprior to our arrivalnespresso machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I spent here 3 days during my visit in Buenos Aires . I was looking for something not too big , small , private , and beautiful .
it is an ancient palace located in the middle of the city , the best area .
Perfect for couple , single or Business .
The best thing ? The bed ! It is huge , definitely the most comfortable of my life so far .
Try out the Restaurant !! A must !
Highly recommended !

Room Tip: number 7 !!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teuz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

In our few days in BA we walked from one end of the city to the other and were very pleased that we had chosen to stay in the characterful district of Recoleta. It took us about 45 minutes, at a pretty fast pace, to get from the international airport to the hotel by taxi and we pre-paid at the taxi desk outside of customs in the main hall. The prepayment means you get an allocated driver and a slightly better class of taxi and it seemed ideal for us. Recoleta like the Algodon Mansion has class and style and we had no hesitation in walking around the area day or night as it seemed relatively safe and very well policed. The hotel has been nicely restored and the lighting in the bar and restaurant give it a fairly modernistic feel. There's a lift to all floors and a small pool and bar on the roof. Our room was at the front of the hotel but nevertheless very quiet. The bed was huge and the furnishings in the room made it very comfortable. The bathroom was large with a wonderful shower and a free-standing bath. One of the niggles we had was that replacement of bathroom products seemed to be pretty random and we had to call the front desk on more than one occasion to either get soap, shampoo or moisturiser - very minor but very annoying. Breakfast was included in our rate and on the first morning there were two people serving, pastries were already on the table, orange juice and coffee arrived punctually along with our cooked breakfast order - all perfect. On the second morning only one staff member on duty and breakfast became a very ordinary affair - our only other niggle and the reason we didn't give the AM a 5 star rating. Front desk staff were very helpful booking cabs and restaurants as well as giving us some very useful tourist information. It's the location, intimacy and charm of Algodon Mansion that make it such an attractive place to stay. The niggles are minor the place is major!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We wanted a historic, small hotel for our final three days in BA in February. The Algodon is in fact a historic mansion, and looks so from the outside. But it was heavily remodeled inside so that not a lot of original history remains. It's gorgeous, in a cool sort of way. Wonderful small bar and lobby, nice restaurant, several floors of large suites with extra large bathrooms. It is, however, a little too cool for its own good. We never did figure out a way to operate the trendy light switches, and the tv was overly complex as well. The bathroom hardware was unlike anything I've seen before, or want to see again. The rooftop pool and whirlpool would be really nice in hot weather, but the water is not heated and it was a little too chilly to enjoy. The front desk staff was very helpful and spoke good English. The breakfast waiters were English challenged, and their coffee was lacking. But food was very good. The location of the hotel was great. We spent about $600 a night, which seems like a lot for what we got. We did get a free bottle of good wine from the winery that the hotel company operates.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Buenos Aires has several fantastic hotel options, and Algodon Mansion is a great option for a very personalized and pleasant service in generous and luxurious accommodations.

Very accommodating of kids even though most of the guests were couples.

Make sure to ask about the small discount for paying in cash.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 071YD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Algodon Mansion is a gem in Recoleta, Buenos Aries, it is small, smart and worth paying for.
We had one of the smaller rooms which was perfect , it had the biggest bed we have ever had, over 8 feet! We were in room 5 and the wifi was not great but worked well in the bath-room which was modern and quirky with slanting basins with no plugs and a bath in the middle of the room which was not too easy to get out of!
Everyone was helpful and always called us by our name.The breakfast was good.The Bar with music each night was lovely.
Next door is an excellent coffee bar serving food until midnight.
It is in a really safe area and we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennytourslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews