We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great historical and cultural tour guide” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marcelo Alejandro Mansilla

Marcelo Alejandro Mansilla
Ranked #8 of 270 Tours in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private Tour Guide in Buenos Aires - Friendly, Easygoing & Professional... If you would like to see the city through the eyes of a local rather than the usual structured tour circuit, then I'm the right person for you!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great historical and cultural tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were in Buenos Aires and spent half a day with Marcelo on July 19, 2014. We wanted a historical tour of Plaza de Mayo and the Recoleta Cemetary. He met us at our hotel and then we took the subway there. He told us all the history, special back stories, talked about the Argentinian government and economy, and all sorts of things. This was definitely one the best things we did while in the city. Marcelo was really fun and very nice. At the end of our tour he gave us a folder with restaurants, a map, and shopping recommendations. It was awesome! Plus his English is really really good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible 3 days- loved our time with Marcelo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

After exhaustive searching and reading of tripadvisor reviews, we decided upon Marcelo for our first trip to Argentina and to Buenos Aires. He was everything and more the reviews discuss below.

He is not just a "guide" but a passionate, intellectual, engaging, and super-friendly person to customize your BA experience. Marcelo is able to discuss politics, history, culture, traditions, modern-day customs, and economics.

He gives you an intimate glimpse into Argentina's past and present. We loved his style that was not just didactic but also inclusive and responsive; he had us thinking and interacting with what we were seeing/experiencing. (He is also fluent in English-a big plus!)

Marcelo had fantastic suggestions for touring, shopping, entertainment, and dining during our days with him and on our own. This customization helped to maximize every moment we had in BA. He is ultra-responsive on email and is the best person to have with you in a busy and fascinating city like BA.

If you are trying to decide if you need a guide-yes, you should ... and it's definitely Marcelo!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beach922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Marcello provided an excellent tour of the city that truly made the rest of our trip even more enjoyable. Prior to arriving, Marcello provided prompt replies to any questions we had along with a few recommendations he had. His tour is unique in that he builds the itinerary when he meets you that morning and based on things that specifically interest you. The tour itself was excellent as he provided a very thorough history to the city that clearly means a lot to him. We booked a full day tour with him and at no point did it ever feel like things were dragging along. Marcello stood out from other tour guides because it felt more like spending the day with a friend as opposed to paying someone to recite history to us. He is everything a tour guide should be: prompt, approachable, and knowledgeable about a city he loves.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank amr024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the best way to see Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Marcelo is, in a word, phenomenal.

From the very first, Marcelo proved himself to be consummately professional yet also warm and engaging. I sent him an email a few weeks before traveling to Buenos Aires and his reply was prompt and informative describing his philosophy and approach to guiding visitors through his city. Specifically, he met up with my partner and me at our hotel in the morning and, rather than having a set plan of what to show us, he talked with us to determine what our particular interests were and how best to tailor our day to emphasize them. As a result, Marcelo was able to strike just the right balance of showing and explaining historical sites and the events surrounding them, highlighting the culture and cuisine of "real" porteños, and making us feel as though we were sharing all of this with a new friend. Indeed, Marcelo is armed with an encyclopedic knowledge of the city's history and culture from end to end and therefore is completely versatile in his ability to tailor the day to exactly what, when, and where his guests want to see and do.

Marcelo offers both half-day and full-day tours; we opted for the latter and were very glad that we did. No maps or tour books (or, for that matter, large-group tour guides) ever could have allowed for the personalized, interesting, and most importantly, fun experience of Buenos Aires that Marcelo afforded us. For instance, it would be fairly useless for us as newcomers to wander through Recoleta Cemetery or the Plaza de Mayo without Marcelo's spot-on explanations of the history and iconography of these important and complex sites. Not only did he stick to a script, though; it seemed that whether it was some random mausoleum I pointed out in the cemetery or a heraldic element of the Argentine coat of arms, he knew the ful story behind it. Needless to say, his English is perfect but nevertheless was, thankfully, very patient with my attempts at practicing Spanish!

Marcelo's passion for his hometown is infectious; through spending the day with him, my partner and I were able to get into just the right mindset to best enjoy the city. In order that we could continue to get the most out of our visit even after parting ways, he provides his guests with an annotated guide of his own writing to the city's best eateries, attractions, etc. that proved very useful to us throughout the rest of our stay. In sum, I cannot recommend Marcelo enough, but certainly can warn that you would be missing out tremendously not to get the chance to see Buenos Aires through his eyes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marcelo exceeded all expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A few weeks ago I had the opportunity to work in Buenos Aires for the first time. I added a few extra days onto the trip for sight seeing in BA. I contact Marcelo based on feedback in Trip Advisor to learn more about his services. He responded immediately and provided a detailed agenda (at my request). You never know when you do these things online what will happen or what you will get, but Marcelo exceeded all expectations.

He was so knowledgeable about his country, the city, the people, culture and history and was eager to share. We spent 3 days touring the city and eating in the BEST resturants. His English is excellent which made learning from him very easy. I would highly recommend him any time you are in BA!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank judywewerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcelo Alejandro Mansilla also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Marcelo Alejandro Mansilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing