We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monserrat Apart Hotel
Ranked #197 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel in April 2013. I left behind a valued item but despite many attempts at communicating with their guest relations - they refuse to return it. I have never experienced a less helpful hotel employee than Giselle. What a pity that one person can spoil a trip Otherwise our stay was very nice. Location was excellent and rooms were very good and well equipped.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandrasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Monserrat Apart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

3.5 stars

i recently stayed at the monserrat apart hotel for 5 night while in town for business. i was originally supposed to be at a different property in the area but the company organizing my stay switched us to the monserrat apart hotel after one night. i am not sure what price was paid for the rooms, but checking the hotel website right now, the rate seems very fair.

it is unfortunate to read just now that i, like many other reviewers, had such negative interactions with one certain (female) member of the staff. to be honest, i am glad to see it was not just with me. i found the other staff to be pretty friendly, although i never saw anyone really go above and beyond. in a city with so many boutique hotel options, customer service is where a hotel could really stand out and unlike my previous stays at other hotels in bs as, monserrat does not. i would say that i have fairly low expectations for customer service when i travel. however, i think it is unacceptable that as a paying guest i felt so uncomfortable that i would avoid interacting with this person whenever possible because i knew the experience would be unpleasant and most likely not helpful at all.

that said, i really enjoyed my room: very large, with a comfortable bed, microwave, fridge, desk, a/c, and nice bathroom. lots of outlets (just don't forget to bring an adapter) and wifi in the room, with a so-so connection, depending upon the time of day. having a pool, gym and spa on property is great, especially while on business. the rates are reasonable and the hotel is very centrally located, although it suffers from being so central that it is not really close to anything. meaning that within a reasonable walk or cab ride you get almost anywhere you want to go, but the immediate area/neighborhood does not have a lot to offer. however, if you are feeling particularly tired or want to save money, you could easily buy something at the nearby supermarket or pasta shop and heat it up in your room.

given the convenient location, room amenities and rate, i would be willing to give the monserrat apart hotel another chance. hopefully in the interim they can figure out the customer service issues.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyh12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Nice and clean hotel. The stuf is very friendly accept pne blonde lady receptionist. Nice breakfast .The best location. There are many restaurants around. Just ask where local people go and you will make no mistake. Ask for the Baskian restaurant which is near the hotel.

Room Tip: Just talk to the male stuff.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Service: From the moment we enter this hotel and found out we lost the VISA card in the taxi on the way to the hotel,and the reception staff refused to lend us the phone to close VISA card, we thought this was a bit strange.then they forgot to put sheets on our daughters bed,and when informing the reception about this,she got offended and accused us for not informing them earlier about this.so we got no sheets that night.my sister had 5 phone calls ( waking up her 3 year old daughter) the same night, that she had to get to reception to pick up a pizza she never ordered.when check out the unfriendly face of lady in reception did not say goodbye. The only friendly between staff was the males and a older lady.
BUT if reception staff is not important this is our positive and negative comments;
Positive: cheap (490 peso double pr night). Roof terrace with swimming pool and gym, location ( in quiet Monserrat area),good shower with hard pressure and size of room. Free wifi. Good with microwave, water boiler,big fridge e.c.t.the building looks new.
Negative; female staff in reception, poor breakfast, slow internet (works well if we sat close to exit door) the area is not as lively in the evening as Palermo.

Room Tip: Ak to stay at 7 floor with a balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakypaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I found the rooms spacious, the bed comfortable and the staff professional. I only stayed two nights, but I didn’t encounter any flaws or problems. I consider this hotel a very nice option in San Telmo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

For 90 bucks a night I guess I can't complain. The hotel is located in a pretty nondescript area. To get to anything of importance is about a 15 minute walk. I would have rather stayed in Palermo or Recolletta. The rooms are large, but ours was very worn. There was mold in the bathroom, a stain on the comforter, and lots of peeling paint. It also had a weird smell. On the plus side, however was the fact that we arrived at 9 am, and they gave us a room. Also the breakfast was adequate.
On a side note, I really hope the owners of the hotel read this, because there is one staff member who went out of his way to help us. The other staff members were friendly enough, but Nicholaus went above and beyond. I have traveled all over the world, and don't think I have ever encountered someone at a hotel as helpful as Nicholaus. I insisted on giving him a tip at the end of our stay and he refused. He will be a manager of a 5 star hotel one day.
Would I stay here again? Probably not just because I would prefer a more interesting area, and a cleaner room.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank oliverlevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

It is out of the way from San Telmo area, but once you step inside, you won't mind the extra walking time, it's worth it. Impressive, modern, clean hotel. The room is modern, clean, spacious, with mini-fridge, microwave, sink, wine opener, TV, wifi. What a difference staying here versus Circus Hostel in San Telmo. Swimming pool, breakfast buffet provided but nothing special. My complaint would be the very light tables used for breakfast, not very stable so food items and liquids are easily spilled if tripping on one of it's table legs. Supermarket a couple of blocks away. Let the hotel clerk know if you need a taxi to the airport, fifteen minutes notice.

Upon checking in, we informed the clerk we would be leaving for the airport late the next day in the afternoon, the clerk extended our checkout stay without charge. That was excellent service, and we think it was because it wasn't fully booked that he was able to accommodate us but didn't ask, just grateful to have another shower in the afternoon before leaving for the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#116 of 443 in Buenos Aires
884 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#50 of 443 in Buenos Aires
520 reviews
Montserrat
Kenton Palace Buenos Aires
Kenton Palace Buenos Aires
#93 of 443 in Buenos Aires
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#47 of 443 in Buenos Aires
768 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#137 of 443 in Buenos Aires
564 reviews
Uno Buenos Aires Suites
#148 of 443 in Buenos Aires
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monserrat Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monserrat Apart Hotel

Address: Calle Salta 560, Buenos Aires C1074AAL, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £36 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monserrat Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new Hotel was designed, created and executed from the start taking care of every single detail, considering our guests, either when staying for business or pleasure. Monserrat Apart has 75 rooms of 34 square meters each (366 sq. feet), they all have the following services: Complete kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and crockery for 3 people, elegant bathrooms, hairdryer, bidet, individual Control of air conditioning and heating , 32in LCD TV, Internet WiFi, safety box, desk and double insulated glass windows. Special floors for smokers and nonsmokers. Rooms are well equipped for guests with limited mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Monserrat Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing