We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bike It”
Review of bike it

bike it
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.75*
and up
6-Hour Bike Tour from Buenos Aires to Tigre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike it offers a healthy and ecological way of getting to know new places: by using your own strength and being in contact with nature and the local environment. We want travelers to feel near the traditions and cultural richness of each area, at the same time they share a unique experience with people from other countries.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't Bike It”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

When I checked out this trip on TA there was just one terrible review, which I read and dismissed as being a complete deviation from the normal experience, but sadly I have to concur; this was a terrible trip.

The tour started badly when the guide brought the wrong number of bikes, didn't apologise and made us wait for new ones. He then didn't help us adjust the saddle heights, poor considering our group consisted of people who never-ever ride bikes.The main factor behind this deflated review was the tour guide; he couldn't have been less interested in us if he tried. He gave us a brief bit of info at each stop, but beyond that failed to engage in our questioning. Crucially, he repeatedly zoomed off ahead, without looking behind to see if we were following, even when asked to slow down. It felt like we were in a race, a race with really dodgy bikes.

The tour consisted of 1 3/4 hours on the train, during which we had to entertain ourselves, cycling through the suburbs of BA next to the train track you later go back along, 2 stops at markets, 1 one by the river and one at Tigre. I had expectations of seeing some greenery and of getting information about the surrounding I was cycling through but these were never fulfilled. You're mostly cycling through concrete suburbs and when you stop it's only to plod round a market you have no interest in buying anything at. The second market was a complete joke; a furniture market. Sorry, but I don't give a fig about where wealthy portenos buy their wicker tat.

Our guide provided mate, but he told us he hates the stuff, and no wonder as he didn't really know how to make it. The whole route was about 6 km so at no point did you feel like you had earned a break.

Overall, the bikes were shoddy (loose brakes, flat tyres and badly adjusted handlebars), the route boring and urban, the guide disinterested and value for money non-existent If you want to cycle round BA don't Bike It.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kwality_Control
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bikeitbuenosaires, Gerente at bike it, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
We will take notice of your complaint. Actually the guide is not longer working with us. Thank you so much for your review, is really helpful to accomplish a greater service every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    22
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had a great time on the bike trip to Tigre. Our guide Maria was wonderful and everyone had fun. It was nice getting out of the noisy city, San Isidro and Tigre were beautiful and muy tranquilo! I definitely recommend this trip and this company, and plan to book more trips with them.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Earn your alfajores!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Luciana was a great tour guide. You can tell that she loves Argentina and has strong environmental convictions. This tour was a great escape from the bustle of Buenos Aires to get out to Tigre. The bike ride was simply beautiful. The snack stop for mate and alfajores was a delightful treat that we earned on our ride. This was our first taste of both and we had to take some of both back to the U.S. with us. The canoe through the Tigre delta was also beautiful and extremely interesting to see a different way of living. Our tour guide Rodrigo was also an excellent guide. The canoes were beautiful works of usable art. The train ride was less touristy and a more local way of travel. We enjoyed every aspect of the entire trip. Thanks so much Luciana!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank aholtscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Prior to my arrival I communicated with Lucianna; everything went very smooth. On the designated day, some members of my group decided to cancel which delayed our arrival, but once again Lucianna was very accommodating. We booked the Bike- Canoe trip; the trip started with a little biking in the city followed but a fun train ride to the suburbs where we again biked (more extensively) and were able to see some lovely scenery away from the hustle of BA. Eventually we reached the Tigre River where we canoed to a lovely spot for snacks before making our way back to the train station again for an adventurous 1 hr ride back to the city. Simply a wonderful trip, great guide in Lucianna who was accommodating, always insuring we were having a good time and were safety conscious. Excellent value but be aware that some of the biking is on cobble stone streets.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cruisinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“A Biking Blast”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Had a great time biking and rowing in the Tigre Delta! The entire tour was great fun and the staff were extremely friendly and informative. I brought a date and it was a huge success! A great way to see the natural beauty and the local culture of neighboring areas of Bs As!

Helpful?
Thank nvanvliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed bike it also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to bike it? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing