We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poetry Building
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)
US$285
US$172
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Faena Hotel(Buenos Aires)
US$519
US$429
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$708
US$585
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Buenos Aires City(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Recoleta Grand(Buenos Aires)
US$190
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cyan Recoleta Hotel(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Circus Hostel & Hotel(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Icaro Suites(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$53
Cancelon
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
407
59
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
59
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic gardendipping poolone bedroom apartmentapple tvhonor barrecoleta cemeterythe penthousefully equipped kitchenapartment stylebeautiful place to staylovely apartmentprivate terraceapartment hotelbottle of malbecgreat location in recoletaliving areahome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Location: Residential are of Recoleta, 10 mins walk to cemetery, close to Subte
Hotel: Residential building, with swimming pool
Room: Big bedroom, patio, good size living room with sofa-bed, 1 bath + 1 powder room
Positives: Location, courteous service
Negatives: No air-con/fan in bedroom
Ranking at time of writing: Ranked #1 of 376 Specialty lodging in Buenos Aires

We opted for Poetry because we needed a full-service apartment with 2 bathrooms and enough place to sleep 3. Poetry satisfied most of our criteria and was #1 on TA.

The apartment is located 10 mins away from Recoleta cemetery and 10 odd mins from the nearest Subte in a residential/safe part of town. We walked around way past mid-night and never felt any threat. They have a full time-porter. There is a very efficient well-priced laundry valet service just 5 mins away on Juncal. There are quite a few cafes for breakfast around the corner. The management offers to change $s to pesos (advice, carry USD even if you are coming from Europe - more exchange tips at bottom)

The room (PBC) was spacious, the sofa-cum-bed could sleep one comfortably but 2 might be a push. The 2nd bathroom was only a powder room, only the main bathroom had a shower. The room had cutlery, crockery and a stove.

Biggest negative was that they had only 1 air-con in the apartment which was directly over the sofa and hence those who slept in the bedroom had to wait for the whole apartment to cool before feeling comfortable, also it wasn’t practical to drop the temperature too low as that inconvenienced the person sleeping on the sofa. They must provide either an air-con or at least a fan in the bedroom.

The biggest positive was the letter they slipped under the door one night before check-out stating that they aren’t expecting any guests to check in the next day and hence we were free to check-out whenever we pleased. Service at its best!

I would recommend staying at the Poetry if you want to live in Recoleta and need an apartment.

Also Argentina is quite unique when it comes to exchanging money; I have put our experiences into a page. Here it is: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g294266-i977-k7275476-Our_experience_at_converting_Dollars_to_Pesos_in_Argentina-Argentina.html

Room Tip: We opted for PBC (check their website). On ground floor so easy access. Has patio. All rooms have different offerings, so pick which suits you best.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a great stay at the Poetry Building in Recoleta. We decided to stay here, as having looked at other hotels in/around Recoleta and Palermo, it offered so much more space at a great price, which is ideal when traveling with a family. The owners have done a wonderful job renovating this old building into modern, comfortable and beautifully decorated accommodation.

We stayed in Duplex 2D. The room was equipped with a working kitchen and came stocked with coffee and tea. We enjoyed getting pastries at the bakery a few doors down each morning and brewing tea & coffee in the room to start our day. We loved ending a long day of walking and touring with a quick dip in the shallow end of the rooftop pool, although by the end of March, it was getting a bit cool.

The hotel is located in a quieter neighborhood, but we found it to be a perfect location if you want to get anywhere within the city. It's very easy to flag taxi outside the hotel or two blocks down on Santa Fe. There are several little shops, bakeries, supermarkets and restaurants within a couple of blocks (Tip - try La Querenceria around the corner on Junin/Juncal, it has delicious lentejas and locro stews with some scrummy empanadas). The famous Recoleta cemetery is a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel, which is truly an amazing site to visit and an absolute must see if visiting BA.

The staff were welcoming, gracious and helpful. They arranged dinner reservations for us (including La Cabrera at last minute), advised on transport, and provided our daughter a little guidance in the art of tango (thanks Ken!). Whatever you needed - they were friendly and willing to help with anything.

One personal touch that the Poetry Building provides is a welcome letter and bottle of wine on check-in. Wine is always appreciated, but the the welcome letter (or rather several pages of useful information) helped familiarize us with Buenos Aires and the Recoleta neighborhood. It advised on everything from good local restaurants & parillas to local laundry facilities to tipping policies. It is packed full of great information that you may want to know, but always forget to ask or research before you go. I found myself referring to several times over the course of our stay.

The Poetry Building’s comfort and personal touches definitely make it a gem of a hotel to stay at when visiting Buenos Aires!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanJamLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great location for easy breakfast and lunching nearby. As they don't serve any breakfast or meals in the building. However the fully fitted kitchen is enough to get through with cooking and daily foods.

Nice touch on the mobile phone lending scheme, you just have to refill the credit and off you go.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beautiful Loft 1B with our 2 children (8 and 6 years old), convenient for a family of 4
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgungP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We booked this reservation through Expedia with some trepidation and concern that the picture online might be better than the property. What we found on arrival was a wonderfully appointed and charming place with fantastic artwork. We highly recommend the PoetryBuilding. Our suite was actually quiet large and comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen. We purchased a few breakfast items, juices eggs coffee and fruit, from the grocery two blocks away and fresh pastries from Sashis just around the corner for morning breakfast. Apparently I wake up earlier than most Argentine coffee shops. We also picked up a couple of bottles of wine as well as coke and fernet to sip on the balcony that overlooked Junin Street.

The property is in a charming old building that has been updated and modernized but shows a little wear and tear but is extremely clean and comfortable. This isn't The Four Seasons but neither is the price, but is a quality experience and definitely much nicer most hotels in the states.

My only complaint is moderately slow and intermittent wifi in the room. This could be an easy fix with a little equipment upgrade but its really a small complaint. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Friendly staff with thoughtful and nice touches such as a water bottle in the fridge and a cell phone in the room.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Poetry in March and loved it. We arrived with two Argentine friends (one of whom had been a Rotary exchange student in the USA) who had met us at the airport. All four of us were so impressed with the location and the gracious welcome. Ken, at the front desk, took us to our apartment and showed us everything, including a cell phone to use and a welcoming bottle of Malbec! It is easy to get around Buenos Aires from the Poetry, there are great restaurants within walking distance, and the lobby and apartments are great. Whoever may be at the desk in the morning is happy to help you plan or arrange things. The small pool and lounge area on the roof is icing on the cake. I'll send all of our friends here when they go to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews