We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Poetry Building

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poetry Building
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I cannot say enough good things about Poetry. My husband and I stayed there on the first leg of our trip, and it was perfect - great location, absolutely fantastic staff (Irina was wonderful!), and a lovely atmosphere. We stayed in one of the penthouses and loved it, as it was very nice to have the terrace space. Would recommend Poetry with no reservations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    57
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
231
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We booked the Poetry Building after reading the many great reviews of it on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. About a week before we arrived, we were e-mailed a list of attractions and goings-on during our upcoming stay; a nice, welcoming touch. The day we arrived in B.A. we got in a bit earlier than expected (11:00a), so our room was not yet ready. No worries, Rocio and Brent each took time to detail recommended restaurants and cafes within walking distance of Poetry and other items from their very comprehensive welcome letter.

Our room was spacious -- though the bathrooms are a little cramped -- and very comfortable. (The online pictures do the rooms justice.) The staff (Brent, Rocio, Irina, Ken) are all first-rate and helped with a myriad of details during our stay -- wall socket converters, changing currency at a very competitive rate, recommendations for and reservations at area restaurants, arranging our transportation to/from airports, etc. Though they have a two-night minimum stay policy, because of our four-night stay earlier in the week they bent it for us when we asked to stay one additional night with them (returning from Mendoza) before flying back to the States the next evening. Again, first-rate and much appreciated.

The one issue we did have during our stay was bug (we believe flea) bites my wife experienced the first couple of nights of our stay. The staff suspected that these were seasonal (apparently April is part of B.A.'s rainy season), but nonetheless changed out our sheets and sprayed the room to address the issue and, in fact, it did not recur. Well handled.

If/when we return to B.A. we will definitely look to book Poetry Building again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Wonderful boutique hotel, with thoughtful amenities -- a mobile phone that can be loaded with credit, a well-stocked apartment with the simple things I needed (scissors to trim the ends off of flowers for the vase? check! in-room safe with digital password? check! ipod with great mood music? check!) and a truly helpful staff to orient me to the city. It's a small enough property that they watch out for your arrival and departure. Traveling alone, that meant a lot to me. A complimentary bottle of wine, the ability to exchange currency onsite... I wish there was a hotel like this in every city I visit.

Room Tip: Room 3-D faced an interior courtyard. Three stories up, with the window open, you could hear the hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Location: Residential are of Recoleta, 10 mins walk to cemetery, close to Subte
Hotel: Residential building, with swimming pool
Room: Big bedroom, patio, good size living room with sofa-bed, 1 bath + 1 powder room
Positives: Location, courteous service
Negatives: No air-con/fan in bedroom
Ranking at time of writing: Ranked #1 of 376 Specialty lodging in Buenos Aires

We opted for Poetry because we needed a full-service apartment with 2 bathrooms and enough place to sleep 3. Poetry satisfied most of our criteria and was #1 on TA.

The apartment is located 10 mins away from Recoleta cemetery and 10 odd mins from the nearest Subte in a residential/safe part of town. We walked around way past mid-night and never felt any threat. They have a full time-porter. There is a very efficient well-priced laundry valet service just 5 mins away on Juncal. There are quite a few cafes for breakfast around the corner. The management offers to change $s to pesos (advice, carry USD even if you are coming from Europe - more exchange tips at bottom)

The room (PBC) was spacious, the sofa-cum-bed could sleep one comfortably but 2 might be a push. The 2nd bathroom was only a powder room, only the main bathroom had a shower. The room had cutlery, crockery and a stove.

Biggest negative was that they had only 1 air-con in the apartment which was directly over the sofa and hence those who slept in the bedroom had to wait for the whole apartment to cool before feeling comfortable, also it wasn’t practical to drop the temperature too low as that inconvenienced the person sleeping on the sofa. They must provide either an air-con or at least a fan in the bedroom.

The biggest positive was the letter they slipped under the door one night before check-out stating that they aren’t expecting any guests to check in the next day and hence we were free to check-out whenever we pleased. Service at its best!

I would recommend staying at the Poetry if you want to live in Recoleta and need an apartment.

Also Argentina is quite unique when it comes to exchanging money; I have put our experiences into a page. Here it is: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g294266-i977-k7275476-Our_experience_at_converting_Dollars_to_Pesos_in_Argentina-Argentina.html

Room Tip: We opted for PBC (check their website). On ground floor so easy access. Has patio. All rooms have di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a great stay at the Poetry Building in Recoleta. We decided to stay here, as having looked at other hotels in/around Recoleta and Palermo, it offered so much more space at a great price, which is ideal when traveling with a family. The owners have done a wonderful job renovating this old building into modern, comfortable and beautifully decorated accommodation.

We stayed in Duplex 2D. The room was equipped with a working kitchen and came stocked with coffee and tea. We enjoyed getting pastries at the bakery a few doors down each morning and brewing tea & coffee in the room to start our day. We loved ending a long day of walking and touring with a quick dip in the shallow end of the rooftop pool, although by the end of March, it was getting a bit cool.

The hotel is located in a quieter neighborhood, but we found it to be a perfect location if you want to get anywhere within the city. It's very easy to flag taxi outside the hotel or two blocks down on Santa Fe. There are several little shops, bakeries, supermarkets and restaurants within a couple of blocks (Tip - try La Querenceria around the corner on Junin/Juncal, it has delicious lentejas and locro stews with some scrummy empanadas). The famous Recoleta cemetery is a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel, which is truly an amazing site to visit and an absolute must see if visiting BA.

The staff were welcoming, gracious and helpful. They arranged dinner reservations for us (including La Cabrera at last minute), advised on transport, and provided our daughter a little guidance in the art of tango (thanks Ken!). Whatever you needed - they were friendly and willing to help with anything.

One personal touch that the Poetry Building provides is a welcome letter and bottle of wine on check-in. Wine is always appreciated, but the the welcome letter (or rather several pages of useful information) helped familiarize us with Buenos Aires and the Recoleta neighborhood. It advised on everything from good local restaurants & parillas to local laundry facilities to tipping policies. It is packed full of great information that you may want to know, but always forget to ask or research before you go. I found myself referring to several times over the course of our stay.

The Poetry Building’s comfort and personal touches definitely make it a gem of a hotel to stay at when visiting Buenos Aires!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanJamLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great location for easy breakfast and lunching nearby. As they don't serve any breakfast or meals in the building. However the fully fitted kitchen is enough to get through with cooking and daily foods.

Nice touch on the mobile phone lending scheme, you just have to refill the credit and off you go.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beautiful Loft 1B with our 2 children (8 and 6 years old), convenient for a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgungP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this reservation through Expedia with some trepidation and concern that the picture online might be better than the property. What we found on arrival was a wonderfully appointed and charming place with fantastic artwork. We highly recommend the PoetryBuilding. Our suite was actually quiet large and comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen. We purchased a few breakfast items, juices eggs coffee and fruit, from the grocery two blocks away and fresh pastries from Sashis just around the corner for morning breakfast. Apparently I wake up earlier than most Argentine coffee shops. We also picked up a couple of bottles of wine as well as coke and fernet to sip on the balcony that overlooked Junin Street.

The property is in a charming old building that has been updated and modernized but shows a little wear and tear but is extremely clean and comfortable. This isn't The Four Seasons but neither is the price, but is a quality experience and definitely much nicer most hotels in the states.

My only complaint is moderately slow and intermittent wifi in the room. This could be an easy fix with a little equipment upgrade but its really a small complaint. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Friendly staff with thoughtful and nice touches such as a water bottle in the fridge and a cell phone in the room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,615 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,797 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#5 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,294 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,826 reviews
Recoleta
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poetry Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poetry Building

Property: Poetry Building
Address: Calle Junin 1280 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1113AAJ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 459 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poetry Building 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poetry Building offers 18 exquisite and professionally furnished apartments specifically designed for short-term vacation rental. They are beautifully appointed with all the comforts and amenities you have at home. Poetry is located in Recoleta, one of Buenos Aires' most desired and exquisite neighborhoods, surrounded by parks, cafes, restaurants, and shopping. The building itself evokes the romance that is Buenos Aires. It is firmly rooted in Argentina’s history as the former home of one of its most famous and aristocratic families, the Peralta Ramos. Many of the original architectural lines and much of the beautiful grace of the original 100 year old mansion have been restored. Much effort has been taken to meticulously update Poetry’s interiors to interpret and integrate current trends with modern demands. Our staff speaks English, Spanish and Portuguese. We are located in the office on the ground floor of the building. We offer:Privacy without solitude. Luxury without stuffiness or attitude and assistance without intrusiveness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poetry Building reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poetry Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing