We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ilum Experience Home
Ranked #16 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Everything was perfect during our stay in this hotel. To start, the hotel is so beautiful and elegant! Everything there was built to provide a calm and relaxing environment. The right hotel to stay in Palermo. Also, the hotel staff is very kind and helpful. 100% recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtpurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    73
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
35
230
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our introduction to a summer celebration vacation started at this outstanding hotel in Palermo. The location was within an easy walk to great restaurants and bus stops that opened our explorations of BA. From the moment we stepped through the door we were greeted and treated like special friends. Having traveled throughout the world, my wife and I have experienced all levels of accommodations. The Ilum is at the top of the list. Put a clean, contemporary and comfortable hotel with an excellent breakfast and friendly, professional service in a good location of BA; and you have described The Ilum.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldexplorer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just 12 rooms, each one quite beautiful and well laid out. The lobby and breakfast room are exquisite, with layered stones creating a 3-story high wall, plus glass and water everywhere. The dining area faces a lovely walled in garden and the included breakfast is indeed bountiful. I wish I had asked what kind of pillows they offer, as I have never had any that I liked better.

The neighborhood is going through gentrification so while very entertaining, construction is everywhere and can provide challenges. Restaurants and bars are plentiful; just remember you are on Spanish time so don't expect to eat dinner early. English is well spoken by the small staff, but this fairly-far-from-the-city area (Palermo Hollywood) is not an English-speaking neighborhood. Traffic in Buenos Aries is horrid so be prepared to spend close to an hour in a tiny cab to get to "town." Public transportation is not really an option from this location.

Room Tip: We choose a room with a terrace. As this is on a very small, yet quite active street, the view is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katesjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I can really recommend this very nice and small hotel. It is close to everything but anyhow a quite place in this noisy city. The hotel staff is also really nice and very helpful! We had a perfect time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed in the Ilum from 10th to the 14th October as the first stop on a trip to Argentina and Brazil.
Here's the good, the better and the best about this small boutique hotel. Staff: they were very helpful at all times, especially when it mattered. Having arrived off an early morning flight tired and in need of some rest and relaxation, we were told that we could check in to our room early but it would take a few minutes to get ready. While we waited we were invited to have some breakfast on the house, a small gesture that we really appreciated. Then, when there was an intermittent fault with their WiFi, Carolina at reception offered us the use of a plug in fob which got us going till the WiFi was reconnected shortly afterwards. Breakfast/rooms: as breakfast is the only meal served, they make the most of it and it caters for diverse dietary requirements and is of good/high quality. Also, breakfast is served till 11 am! The rooms are of a good size with very comfortable beds, and generally quiet. If we had a quibble it would have been with some of the bathroom fittings which were clearly designed for their looks, rather than their practical use! Location: easy access to the Palermo area of BA where you will find some really great restaurants, most reasonably priced; quality shopping, and vibrant night life, all within walking distance of the hotel. And its not a very expensive taxi ride to BA's other landmark areas. Overall, we were very happy with our stay at the Ilum.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Ilum is a new Hotel in Palermo, a fashion neighborhood in Buenos Aires. All the staff are excellent and always ready to help in everything you need, including call for taxi, booking shows and more, without charge you extra money. Apartaments are excellent, new and very confortable. There is a bathtub and little panoramic lift. The breakfast is amazing and you can order eggs as option. Subway is just 15 min by walk and there is a lot of squares and parks to enjoy the city. If you like, and I suggest, rent a bike and go away all the day.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElielFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

First of all is important to understand that so called boutique hotels in Argentina are not of the standard of boutique hotels in other locations. Most are basically bigger versions of overpriced bed and breakfasts, usually you can get a 5 star big chain hotel in BA for less.

The good (this is why it gets all the nice reviews): Location in Palermo Hollywood - plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. They have jacuzzi at the rooftop which overlooks other roofs. The cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are of decent size, plenty of Argentinian tv channels (not many international). Compared to the other "boutique" hotels the breakfast here is quite good, with plenty of options and made to order items (we ordered them in advance over the phone as they do take a long while to toast a sandwich).

The bad: Even though we had traveled for 37 hours to get to BA the receptionist did not let us check in early (10:30 am) unless we paid something crazy like US $70 extra so we went to a cafe meanwhile. The internet was slow and was out of order for over a full day. The worst thing was that when we reported it time after time they kept arguing it worked for them and our devices (4 different ones) were the problem. Only a few hours later after they insisted we borrow a laptop from them did they accept there was actually a problem in "our room" so they changed us to another room (inferior) only to find out afterwards that it the internet did not work in that floor either. Over half a day lost in this and when you are traveling for business that is serious... Finally talked to the manager who called a technician. Afterwards the reception manager said the technician will be coming now, which was a lie. Being fluent in spanish I did understand form the manager's conversation that the technician was not available that day. Decided to to work elsewhere for the rest of the day and by late night the internet was still not working. They did give us a 10% discount but when you're on business that does not really matter. We paid in cash in Pesos (not their preferred choice logically) and the reception manager was giving us the wrong change (exchange rate) and insisting he wasn't until we asked him for a calculator pen and paper and wrote it for him. The in room "jacuzzi" bathtubs were dodgy to operate as was the lift, the AC didn't cool as much as we needed. Knowing how bad service can be in BA we only booked this hotel for the first 3 nights even though we were staying for 2 weeks. We did not extend our stay at Ilum naturally and moved to a much better option, the Hotel Glu (review to follow).

The really ugly: This hotel asked us in advance to send all the details of the credit card by email, not in a secure form. We were uneasy about it but considering it had better reviews than most we wanted to stay there so we did. When we arrived the receptionist asked us again to fill in our credit card details in a piece of paper. We left the 3 digit security code blank and immediately he asked for it. We said we had already sent it by email and in any case to take a credit card authorisation with the machine. He insisted he needed it so reluctantly we wrote it down. A few days after checking out of this hotel we realised fraud had been done on the same credit card for almost US $1000 of online purchases. Maybe a coincidence... but it's the only place where we had to give the 3 digit security number considering this card works with a pin and nobody else had access to all the details on it (including billing address). All this has been reported to credit card company and police.

The other ugly incident was that the first day we arrived we asked that same receptionist if he knew companies that took tourists to see Boca Juniors. He said he did and fixed us up with one who. We talked to the other tourists who were collected at different hotels and we found out we were the only ones paying US $20 extra. When we came back to the hotel the tour guide said he had to drop something for that receptionist at the hotel and we saw it was an envelope. It was obvious he had made US $20 off us. We asked this same receptionist to get us a taxi on the first day. He called one who quoted a price of 90 pesos. Having been in BA many times before and fluent in spanish we knew the maximum price was 60 but we accepted anyway. When the driver came to the hotel the price was now 120 the receptionist informed us! At that point we did protest and did not take the taxi or asked the hotel for any other extra services.

Needless to say this hotel left us with a really bad impression of the people in BA. We were hesitant to write this review and did not want to do it until the credit card company sorted the fraud, but we feel it is necessary for people to beware about hotels and staff that ask for all your details in non secure forms and for the hotel owners to realise what their employees are up to. The emails are all seen by the staff so no point in trying to get through to the owners through email.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MyworldMimundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,845 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,637 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#4 of 445 in Buenos Aires
798 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 445 in Buenos Aires
992 reviews
Palermo
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
#3 of 445 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilum Experience Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilum Experience Home

Property: Ilum Experience Home
Address: Bonpland 1762, Buenos Aires C1414CMV, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilum Experience Home 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The importance of a first step is that it would mark the way we are heading. That's why choosing Ilum is understanding that our reality doesn't nourish itself from our yesterday or our tomorrow, today is forever today, it is here and now where I choose to be. Ilum is a place with no pressures, a place where we found that the most important thing is to allow ourselves to enjoy of the best, what we receive in life is a consequence of what we give, that is why in Ilum experience home what we give is our priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilum Experience Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing