We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent staff”
Review of Koten Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koten Hotel
Ranked #409 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent staff”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed here for three nights while in BA. Not quite sure it deserves the boutique tag but is a lovely place nonetheless. Rooms are clean and the showers excellent. One room we stayed in had a TV, the other two didn't. Beds are very comfortable. The best thing about the place for us was the staff who are super helpful and allowed us to leave some baggage here while we went off on a trip. Also free internet access on two computers in the lobby. Some rooms are noisy especially towards the front of the hotel and near the breakfast area but this was down to other guests. Would definitely recommend it as excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the breakfast area and towards the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    28
    55
    26
    26
See reviews for
23
53
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stayed 1 night, must say I was a bit disappointed a few fronts – bearing in mind this was our 5th Argentian hotel so I had a pretty good grasp of what we could expect:

1) No TV in room – that didn't bother me too much as we were out early and back very late but I usually catch up on the world events so that was a little annoying

2)No free wifi – perhaps I had been spoilt in the other hotels but there was no free wifi in the room, the compromise was the free wifi was in the breakfast/computer area

3)Inadequate room insulation – the rooms were very poorly insulated. Our next door neighbours were having a normal conversation but it was so clear it was like they were in our room. Water flow (ie showers, toilet flushing) were very clearly heard from the hotel but the worse bit was the noise carried from the breakfast area as I believe a group of guest were chatting in the breakfast/lobby area and the noise carried to our room and it was pretty loud

4) Breakfast was very disappointing

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Decent location not too far from all the trendy bars and restaurants with easy access to the centre with the near by plaza italia tube stop.

This is not however a boutique hotel it is an upgraded and very nicely decorated hostel with plenty of private rooms.

The rooms themselves are small but with everything you need for a good sleep and a decent shower before hitting the city. The hotel has good internet wifi from the communal areas and a decent breakfast.

The reason you should definitely consider staying here though is the staff. They are absolutely faultless from the incredibly friendly breakfast lady all the way through to the reception staff who always went that extra mile to help us enjoy our stay in the city.

If you want a comfortable but no frills stay with the help of some great people to explore the city then this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SiandSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Super hotel, bedrooms basic but nicely decorated, only quibble about the place was the poorly designed shower/ wetroom with the uphill drain which made the bathroom a little prone to flooding. Otherwise wonderful hotel, close to plaza Italia and busy Ave Santa Fe, but quiet street & walkable to nice restaurants in Palermo area. We had a really enjoyable stay here (about a week), and staff were really helpful when our passports got lost, phoned embassy etc for us and also helped us with onward travel arrangements. Breakfast was v good compared to other hotels in the same price range.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain_and_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This hotel has an excellent location, on a quiet street. The lobby is really charming and their breakfast is delicious.

We had a triple room, and it was very tight with bunk'beds. But, for $65-night for the three of us (which included breakfast) it was a steal and it was cozy.

The staff were honestly some of the friendliest I have seen. Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiestatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Staff really makes the difference. They do a lot more than their job. They seem genuinely interested in their guests and make an effort to think with you in a completely natural and relaxed way. Almost like you are staying with friends, who take a personal interest in making your trip the best it can be, yet who respect your private space.
Rooms are no nonsense and functional, indeed without tv in the room. Who would want to waste time watching tv in their room anyway when they are in Palermo, Buenos Aires... Airco by means of an enormous (yet very quiet) ceiling ventilator. Trendy but warm interior. Good, fresh croissants for breakfast, possible even at 11 in the morning on day of departure. Easy to reach by subte and bus as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal_RTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Koten Hotel was a really cute and kinda funky little boutique hotel and I would definitely recommend it! Rooms are small, but most (if not all?) have bathrooms- also small, but kitschy and the beds are comfortable. This is a brand new place so they were still working on setting up all the rooms when I stayed. There was no TV in the room, but a flat screen downstairs with int'l channels... I'm not sure if TVs are something they will add later to the rooms, but currently this is not a feature... Free internet on the computer downstairs and wireless if you have your own. Staff is AMAZING- really one of the best parts of the hotel. Super friendly, helpful and accommodating. Switched our room right away when the one on the street turned out to be too noisy. Breakfast is good- basket of croissants with 3 garnishes- dulce de leche, butter, and a quince jam. Coffee is pretty good and abundant. Toast if you want it- no fruit or anything else but it gets the job done and there is a small market next door where you can get fruit and yogurt if you want it.

Location: really close to subway stop but about a 15 min walk to where you would want to be in Palermo Soho (cafes, restaurants, bars). Walking distance to the zoo which is kind cool- worth checking out for the crazy looking animals! I would stay there again and would recommend it.

Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IntlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Hotel Cristoforo Colombo
Hotel Cristoforo Colombo
#410 of 445 in Buenos Aires
668 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel Costa Rica
#127 of 445 in Buenos Aires
393 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#362 of 445 in Buenos Aires
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Bue Hotel
Bue Hotel
#201 of 445 in Buenos Aires
28 reviews
Palermo
Infinito Hotel
Infinito Hotel
#195 of 445 in Buenos Aires
195 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Suites
Palermo Suites
#164 of 445 in Buenos Aires
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koten Hotel

Property: Koten Hotel
Address: Calle Guemes 4651 | (Between the streets Darragueyra and Uriarte), Buenos Aires C1425BLI, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Koten Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koten Hotel is housed in an old building but renovated. It has 27 rooms including Singles, Doubles and Triples. Each has a private bathroom. The hotel offers a common living room with TV to relax or meet other travelers. In the reception you can reserve tango shows, city tours, excursions and another activities. Koten Hotel is located in Palermo, one of the neighborhoods of Buenos Aires has more green areas and tourist activities. Palermo Soho, so named for its resemblance to the style of New York Soho, is one of the neighborhoods preferred by locals and tourists. Presents urban features, with small alleys colorful, craft fairs, house style, design and fashion. It also has a wide variety of restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The rooms have cable TV, Wifi, heating and fan. There are air-conditioned with a differential cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing