We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brunch of all brunches”
Review of Hernan Gipponi Restaurante - CLOSED

Hernan Gipponi Restaurante
Cuisines: Argentinian, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Palermo
Maui
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A brunch of all brunches”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A tasting menu for brunch that is unbelievable. Wide variety of dishes and flavors, in a relaxed setting, with great service. All dishes were the right size and portions for a tasting menu. GO you will be forever happy:-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    65
    31
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had the pleasure of eating in this wonderful restaurant on a pleasant Saturday evening in the month of May14.

Their is not much, I can complain of, to be honest.

The positives :-

1. Excellent service by the waiters. Bilingual waiters and very courteous.
2. The food was a 7 course meal, including desert.
3. Their was a variety in the menu. We ate the beef tongue, some shrimp dish, some lamb dish etc
4. The restaurant is located in the heart of a Palermo in a small hotel.
5. Their was no rush on us to finish our meal and go. You could sit there for a long time easily and enjoy the wine.
6. No cubierto or service fees charged, which is common in restaurants in Buenos Aires. I loved that. Each person had a fixed charge of 330 pesos in May'14 ( considering inflation..this may change).

P.S : One could order a wine tasting menu as well, which is 220 pesos per person.We however opted out of that and order a nice full bottle of wine instead.

The negatives, if any

1. The wine was not a part of the set menu. It had to be bought. We bought a 280 pesos, 2008 Malbec. Excellent wine.
2. The proportions of the dishes very quite small. But in the end of 7 course, one feels full enough.
3. Its a fixed menu. No choices as such.
4. Ambience though nice. I felt the lights were just too bright.

Overall, I recommend this restaurant to anyone. My rating of this restaurant would be 4.5/5.

If my review was helpful, and I hope it was, please consider choosing the 'yes' tab below in the helpful comments section. Thank you and enjoy your day. Sally.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRAZIL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best gastronomic experiences I have had”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Nice place, with a very attencious service, and great food. My wife and I tasted the 7 course menu with wine pairing. The food and the wines were superb. For US$50.00 each, it was an excellent experience.
I definitely recommend it. For sure, I'll be back there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LUIZALBERTOSALVADOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Did Monday's One Table Event-- Awesome!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The second best meal I've had in Buenos AIres since moving here almost a year ago. (I Latina is number 1 for me, but just by a smidgen). Hernan's courses were incredible, superbly satisfying, and wonderfully enough, (he's got this over I Latina!) he says he changes the menu every couple weeks or so, whereas I Latina seems to never change it. (Went in September and then 5 months later and it was identical). Would definitely go back. He's super charming and he knows what he's doing. Blows most restaurants in this city out of the water.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent and reasonable priced in Palermo Soho”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Located at Hotel Fierro, this small and minimalistic decorated restaurant won my heart last week. The first time my husband had the Menu de desgustacion with wine pairing, amazing dishes and very good priced. To remember the slow cook egg (we were on to find the perfect one and tried 3 different rests. This is THE BEST), the Madryn Langoustines, the arroz meloso and shrimps, the bife de chorizo. Desserts are very creative, just not my favorite part. We went twice, the first time Hernan was there, next day he was not and it showed. Service is amazing and the food was very good too, but it feels like lacked his touch. Very good, I will definitely go again!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluVoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hernan Gipponi Restaurante also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing