We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Hotel Tiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tiana
Ranked #60 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2013

When i go to abroad for vacation, i prefer to stay boutique hotels. Because their service is better than the bigger hotels' service. Again, i was right for this selection. The hotel was well located and the staff was very friendly. I enjoyed during my vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tiana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

I was in Buenos Aires for 2 weeks, and stayed at Hotel Tiana. I enjoyed my stay very much. The owner was very easy to work with, and made a point to help me out whenever I needed advice on the neighborhood, transportation, etc. The room was new, very nice, and extremely clean. I felt that the hotel was quite safe, and that the staff was very friendly. This is a small boutique hotel and almost feels like one is a guest in a home. Great for tourists who want to stay in San Telmo as well. Tons of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes of walking, and the Subte is about 8 blocks away. The wi-fi also worked great and was indispensable for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

The Tiana has a great location, just a couple of minutes walk from Plaza Dorrego in San Telmo.
The common spaces are beautiful done up and, as the photos show, it's a pleasant place to spend some time. We found the rooms to be slightly less inspiring. Towards the back, it feels very much like you're staying in some sort of annex rather than the charming property on the photos.
On the plus side, the staff are very nice and Susana and her small team at the reception couldn't be more accomodating.
Finally, taking into account the price of the room, breakfast is adequate but there is clearly room for some improvement.
Altogether a good stay although lack of isolation from the elements would probably make this a less confortable hotel to stay in in the winter time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We found this hotel after leaving the one we had originally booked in Defensa for 8 days, and which turned out to be easily the noisiest place we have ever stayed. Hotel Tiana was like heaven on earth for us after this disastrous start.This is quiet, with well appointed rooms, very comfortable beds, great linen and is spotlessly clean. An excellent breakfast in the dining room downstairs is a great start to the day.. It is a very good location in San Telmo, close to Plaza Dorrego and to many bars, cafes and restaurants. It is an easy 15 walk to the Plaza Mayo and the Florida pedestrian shopping district. It is also close to an underground station, making easy access to other areas of the city.
There are a number of bright, sunny and comfortable common lounges and computer access. WiFi is available also in rooms.
Staff are very helpful in assisting with all types of requests and information.
Excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are very quiet, with comfortable lounges close by.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Absolutely wonderful. Rooms spacious, clean & en-suite. Local to Plaza Dorego & everything it has to offer. Manned hotel entry so the hotel is secure & you can turn up 24 hours whether checking in or coming back from a big night out. Left all our belongings in the 2 rooms we had for 2 full days while we went out sightseeing (laptops, cameras, iPads etc), no problems. Good quality L'Occitaine bathroom products provided. Very good breakfast for all tastes (2 of us are vegetarians). All the free tourist help you can use INCLUDING booking you in for a tango show with or without meal, booking transfers to & from the airport at local prices AND all other information + maps you need. We also got a free, VERY late checkout so we could go out all day after checkout, leave our luggage (2 rooms' worth) & have a shower before leaving for our flights in the evening. All of us would DEFINITELY stay here again. It's not the Ritz but it's true Buenos Aires at an affordable & worthy price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oblongstaats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We are just checking out of Hote Tiana, where we were especially impressed with the friendly service. Suzana at the front desk was helpful with recommending restaurants and official exchange offices with good rates.

The rooms aand bathrooms are clean and the beds did the trick when getting over jet lag. The hotel is located in a safe neighbourhood near the touristic Boca area. Finding a good meal is never difficult as hotel is surrounded by many restaurants frequented by locals.

If I could find one thing that would ever so slightly bother me about this hotel is the fact that the hotel room doors are rustic, which adds charm, yet at the expense of extra security. Having said that, the entrance of the hotel is well secured and the rooms include a security safe.

Oh yes ...the common areas, especially the terrace, is great.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Donito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Excellent location only 2 blocks from Plaza Dorrego, the site of the biggest Sunday market and regular tango millongas. In the other direction only about 4 blocks from St Juan subway station. Nice quirky area to stay in with many good restaurants at all prices. Two supermarkets just round the corner for purchasing picnics and cheap drinks. Hotel has a pleasant design with well appointed rooms, good breakfast and keen and interested staff. Ambiance was so different form the standard issue hotels found in more downtown area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Anselmo Buenos Aires, Curio Collection by Hilton
San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
Hotel Patios De San Telmo
#93 of 443 in Buenos Aires
477 reviews
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#178 of 443 in Buenos Aires
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Defensa 821
Defensa 821
#93 of 256 in Buenos Aires
59 reviews
San Telmo
Residencia Santa Maria de la Salud
Residencia Santa Maria de la Sal...
#155 of 256 in Buenos Aires
5 reviews
San Telmo
Lina's Tango Guesthouse
Lina's Tango Guesthouse
#7 of 256 in Buenos Aires
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiana

Address: Calle Humberto Primo 629, Buenos Aires C1103ACM, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £45 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing