We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lobby and spa but dark room and poor service”
Review of Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Serena Hotel
Ranked #68 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely lobby and spa but dark room and poor service”
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

I have mixed feelings about Serena - on the one hand the location is great, the communal areas are beautiful and the spa and pool (which I looked at but didn't use) are lovely

However.... My room was dark and oddly plain - it felt more like a chain hotel than a boutique. It was also freezing cold ans changing the temperature on the thermostat didnt seem to have any effect.

And, the service wasn't great. Two examples:

- at breakfast I struggled to get served. I seemed to be the only non Spanish speaker so I'm not sure if it was that but it took several attempts to get some coffee and eggs

- I called the concierge to get reservations at a local famous restaurant (#8 on Tripadvisor and 3 blocks away). . He seemed surprised that I would ask him this - he asked me for the number because he didn't have it, so I found it online and he said he'd call me back. 30 minutes later he calls me and says "did you want a restaurant reservation?". I said um, yes, we spoke about that before. He then asked me which restaurant, what time etc - which I'd told him all before. I'm not sure what the issue was because his English was good.. In any case, he wasnt able to get me in, but didnt offer any alternative suggestions either.

In comparison, my experience at another nearby hotel in BA (check my reviews!) was amazing, so I'd recommend there over Serena.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonianBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2015
Google Translation
Hola, muchas gracias por sus comentarios, hemos tomado nota de los detalle que no detallo para mejorarlos, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    128
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
228
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here with a business group. The hotel was selected by our Argentinian hosts. It was perfect. The staff was professional and helpful. The rooms are modern but comfortable. There is a lovely patio out back for drinks and relaxing. The breakfast was included and delicious. And the price was very reasonable for this upscale neighborhood. I would return. The only complaint was the lack of any English tv channel such as CNN or BBC news.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 707holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2015
Google Translation
Hola, muchas gracias por sus comentarios, hemos tomado nota de los detalle que no detallo para mejorarlos, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is a charming, modern and well appointed hotel in one of the best areas of B.A., Recoleta. From the moment I stepped in I realized that my stay would be fantastic.
Staff helped with my luggage and were very polite.
Even though it was only 11:45am they were able to check me in at an upgraded room. I had booked the executive room and was given the superior executive room, which was on the 6th floor and had a nice outdoor terrace. Air conditioning was perfect and the bed offered me an outstanding sleep. Room was facing the street but was very quiet !!!
Breakfast was very good with hot and cold options (eggs, omelets, etc...) and was just perfect for a bright start of the day.
Will be back, for sure !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FPFTVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2015
Google Translation
Hola, muchas gracias por sus comentarios, lo esperamos nuevamente, Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Probably this is one of the best boutique hotels in town. The location is excellent, and the service impeccable. The rooms are very nice, and we goa an upgrade to the penthouse, where they have a balcony, which is extra charming. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosMeloBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2015
Google Translation
Hola! gracias por sus comentarios, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISRAEL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Being Argentinian born makes this boutque Hotel more fascinating. IT IS PLACED IN ONE OF THE BEST AREAS!! near La Recoleta with those wanderfull boutiques, near Avenida Sta Fe, Very quiet and elegant, Near La Recova (area of restaurants)... everything was really GREAT
Excellent staff!!
Lovely rooms.Big, Free Internet who WORKS!
Excellent location..
IT WAS THE PERFECT CHOICE!!!
I will choose it over again in my next visit to Buenos Aires!!

Room Tip: any room will be just perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsraelRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2015
Google Translation
Hola! gracias por sus comentarios, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Catching up on my TripAdvisor Reviews. In July I stayed at the Serena Hotel . It was a perfect location for exploring this part of the BA. I am a single female traveler so feeling safe and taken care of is important to me. I felt this way at the Serena. The room was small but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was simple and delicious. Service could use some improvement especially at the front desk. It was not consistent. One example, my room was facing the front toward the street so was a bit noisy. I put in a request for a back facing room away from the street if one became available. There was a lot of confusion between shifts where the request wasn't passed on and I spent time trying to re-explain and sort out. With some more staff raining, this nice boutique hotel located in Recoleta could be even a nicer stay. I would definitely stay again at the Serena hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curiousgeorgetravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2015
Google Translation
Hola, muchas gracias por sus comentarios, hemos tomado nota de los detalle que no detallo para mejorarlos, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Here for 6 nights

Boutique-y rather than flash


Staff are very helpful and friendly


Great location, in a good area


Lovely breakfast


Very pleasant public areas


Very nice bedroom, with plenty of space (and wardrobe space)


Reasonable value


Would definately stay again if ever in BA

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank super95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2015
Google Translation
Hola, muchas gracias por sus comentarios, hemos tomado nota de los detalle que no detallo para mejorarlos, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#16 of 446 in Buenos Aires
731 reviews
Retiro
The Brick Hotel Buenos Aires - MGallery by Sofitel
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#37 of 446 in Buenos Aires
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#17 of 446 in Buenos Aires
656 reviews
Recoleta
Hotel Club Frances
Hotel Club Frances
#43 of 446 in Buenos Aires
262 reviews
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#34 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel

Property: Serena Hotel
Address: Libertad 1617, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Serena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing