We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly,peaceful,secure,helpful,well located.”
Review of Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Serena Hotel
Ranked #89 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Spent four nights in buenos aires,at the Serena. The room was well appointed, clean and spacious. We chose the executive suite. We had view on the courtyard, which was peaceful.
The staff is most helpful. They will provide you with currency change at a reasonable rate. The swimming pool is more a relaxation pool than a swimming pool. It is very zen, although one has to be cautious entering due to lack of rails. The menu in the restaurant is limited,but very well executed. Their wine offerings are very interesting.

Room Tip: Choose an executive suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serenabue, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015
Google Translation

Hola, Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, lo esperamos nuevamente, saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

A boutique hôtel in a convenient location. Very friendly and helpful staff especially Matias our barman. The courtyard is comfortable and a pleasant place for en evening cocktail. The Recoleta Cemetery and Pilar Church are within easy walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHBA2010, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much to share your experience at Serena Hotel. As you mention our courtyard is a unique space, something quite difficult to find in hotels, where people can enjoy our cocktails, snacks, tapas or a glass of Malbec wine.
The Bar offers a daily happy hour from 6pm to 8 pm, where you can relax after a long day discovering our amazing city.
Was a pleasure to host you and we wish to be you choice in your next trip to Buenos Aires!
Sincerely,
Diego P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have stayed here a number of times. It is a small boutique type hotel. Staff are friendly and professional. Speak only a little English, so be careful if you are not reasonably proficient in Spanish. However they try to make up for this by being very helpful. Breakfast is reasonable. Hotel is very quite and located close to some good restaurants.

Room Tip: Adults only hotel. No kids allowed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHBA2010, Gerente at Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. As you mention we are located in one of the best areas of the city. Recoleta with any doubt has a lots to offer, great restaurants at walking distance and some of the most iconic toursitic attractions are located a few steps away from our property.
Thank you again and we hope to be your choice in your next visit to Buenos Aires!
Sincerely,
Diego P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

LOOK NO FURTHER. This is the hotel to stay if you are not locked into Hyatt, Hilton, Marriott and other large chains. Location is PERFECT in a very safe and upscale area with easy access to various neighborhoods. There are restaurants and other large hotels (Four Seasons, Hyatt) around the corner if you are looking for a high-end hotel bar/restaurant without paying for its room prices.
Serena is a boutique hotel (only 34 rooms) with modern amenities. Reception, bar, and courtyard are absolutely adorable, quiet and peaceful. Rooms are Ok size. Bathrooms are modern and clean. I liked the ceiling-mounted rain shower. The place reminded me a lot of the up and coming Kimpton hotel chain in the U.S. - modern, fresh with staff being extremely pleasant without being overly formal.
Really nothing negative I can think of for this place. Without will stay again there.

Room Tip: There are only 4-5 rooms per floor. There are 2 good size elevators. The hotel at a quite street. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dt_gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego P, Director Comercial at Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for you wonderful review! The entire staff of Serena apreciate your comments about your experience and it is very rewarding for all of us now that you will choose us again.
We hope to host you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Unfortunately, we could ONLY give 5 stars. We would have given more if possible. We found this hotel on Trip Advisor. It was in a great location for sure, and quiet at night. The facility is beautiful and the breakfast is great. But as good as it appeared, the staff was even better. They gave all sorts of tips and advice to us about Buenos Aires, both good and bad. The staff helped us in innumerable ways.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego P, Director Comercial at Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. As you mention we are located in one of the best areas of the city. Recoleta with any doubt has a lots to offer, great restaurants at walking distance and some of the most iconic toursitic attractions are located a few steps away from our property.
Also I imagine that you have enojoyed our relax area and our heated indoor swimming pool that after beeing out of service now is completely full operated and is for sure a great place to relax after being exploring this fantastic city.
Thank you again and we hope to be your choice in your next visit to Buenos Aires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent four nights at the Serena Hotel prior to embarking on a cruise to Rio. The hotel is located in a very convenient location in the Recoleta. Our room (208) overlooked the interior courtyard which was quiet and relaxing except when they played opera in the bar/breakfast area downstairs. The included breakfast was fairly basic but adequate. A little variety would have been nice, however. The room was quite large and very comfortable with a contemporary feel. As other reviews have noted the pool was out of service but since we were out exploring every day we didn't bother to ask why. The front desk staff was very helpful and we found it easiest to exchange money with them rather than going to the street vendors who offered a slightly better exchange rate. Overall, we felt the hotel was a very good choice as well as a good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidlockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego P, Director Comercial at Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for share your comments about you stay at the Serena Hotel. We apreciate all the details that you mention. I would like to inform you that finally the issue that we had with our pool has been solved and since a few weeks the pool is fully operating.
Thank you again and we hope to be your choice in your next visit to Buenos Aires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed 9th Feb thru 15th, we had a suite on top floor with excellent wood decked terrace, the decor is modern and very comfortable, the staff were all very helpful and polite. The breakfast was a buffet with many fruits cold meats croissant, etc.
I would highly recommend and there are some super quality restaurants within 5 minutes walk.
The swimming pool spa was unfortunately closed

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the front are preferential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuervtttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego P, Director Comercial at Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for you valuable comments. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed you stay at one of our beautiful suites located in the 6th floor. We have just two of these unique Suites and as you mention the have their own private wood decked terrace, something quite unsual to find in hotels in Buenos Aires.
We apologize to hear that you could not enjoy our pool, we had an issue that took us more time than the expected, but finally has been solved recently and now the pool is fully operated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#30 of 440 in Buenos Aires
800 reviews
Palermo
CasaSur Bellini Hotel
CasaSur Bellini Hotel
#21 of 440 in Buenos Aires
418 reviews
Retiro
The Brick Hotel Buenos Aires - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#11 of 440 in Buenos Aires
858 reviews
Retiro
Pestana Buenos Aires
Pestana Buenos Aires
#71 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,130 reviews
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#18 of 440 in Buenos Aires
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel

Address: Libertad 1617, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £94 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing