We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The party hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The party hostel”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great place to stay, friendly atmosphere. Loads going on. Really nice rooms, good food available. Would highly recommend. Just don't expect to get much sleep! Slightly more expensive than other hostels but worth that little bit extra.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SearleDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    278
    65
    20
    33
See reviews for
24
88
255
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is the ideal hostel perfect for solo travellers and anyone else who enjoys a party and loves to meet people from all over the world. The rooms are regularly cleaned and your bed is also made on a daily basis. The breakfast supplied every day is sufficient with breads, jam, fruit, cereal, juice, water, tea coffee.

The staff are terrific and speak very good english and are always there to help you with recommendations and advice about the city. There are parties every night in the hostel so itś a fantastic way of making new friends and enjoying yourself.

highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Milhouse Avenue is a great hostel. The rooms are well priced, cleaned everyday and have fans. They have activities available for you every single day ranging from free tours to bike tours tango lessons and more and all you do is sign up. They take you to great clubs - you feel safe there and all the staff are so helpful and cool. A great place to party non-stop introduce yourself to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stay away from this Hostel!

I would like to warn against this hostel, as they have unrightfully charged my credit card for a trip, that they arranged. They charged me for 3 persons and I booked for 2. The amount is around 100US$. Apparently they will not stand up to their mistake and take responsibility to pay me my money back, as they ignore all attempts I have made to get in contact with them!

Therefore, they will not get a recommendation from us, and we would stay some where else next time in Buenos Aires.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mads_M_Madsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina S, Manager at Milhouse Hostel Avenue, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Please let me assure to you once again that you were charged the correct sum. I´m really sorry if your bill was not clear to you.
If we charged our customers (very valued customers!) more than due, we wouldn´t have a business running for over 15 years now, with 87% of our customers very happy with their experience here, would we? Our customers are not silly.
We have tried to contact you several times, with no success. Please feel free to contact us to info@milhousehostel.com so that we can give you further details about your payment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was expecting a lot from this hostel. Little did I know I was about to enter something that looked like a hospital or even better... A retirement home. Things I dreaded: A max 150 peso tab, unmanned bar, weak service at the reception, bad smokers area, 65 peso BBQ special (single portion), a surcharge on the service from the travelling agency, expensive rooms,... I can't wait to get out of here! Positive: pretty clean, that's all.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina S, Manager at Milhouse Hostel Avenue, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi!

I´m sorry you were disappointed. Probably you expected a smaller, quieter hostel? The things you mention in your review are the things our guests normally appreciate a lot: a tab card, a great value barbecue, a travel agency (which like every travel agency does charge a small booking fee), a smoking area, and a very clean place, like you said. I´m sorry you found the service at Reception defficent, I will definetely check with our professional staff what happened during your check in. I hope you still had a great time in Buenos Aires!
Kind Regards,
Melina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hostel and were a little apprehensive as we are in our early 30s and not the 20 somethings we would imagine staying here. We were pleasantly surprised as there was definitely a real mixture of ages and different people from all over the world. The rooms are clean and if you opt for a private room they really are very pleasant. The showers are amazing and even your bed gets made for you. We moved into a dorm after a couple of days for a different experience and really enjoyed it. This is definitely a party hostel with something going on at this one or its sister hostel the Hipo, every night. The daily activities and excursions were excellent and the staff are very knowledgeable of the city and helpful. As long as you go prepared then I think this is a great hostel.

Room Tip: The private rooms with balconies on the high floor are quieter and quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My sister and I stayed here twice over summer whilst we were on our travels around South America. We had a really great time, the staff are friendly, everyone is very sociable and it is really easy to make friends. The rooms are great, every room is clean and tidy and the facilities are great. When we returned two months later the staff even still remembered us which was a nice touch and made us feel even more welcome!

The only down side was that the first time, we lost our passports and were convinced that they had been stolen or accidentally picked up by someone in our dorm accidentally, so naturally we asked every member of staff and every friend we had made in there. It took us 3 days to get new emergency passports and cost us about £150 each, and after 3 days we returned to find out that the cleaner had picked them up by accident and had failed to hand them into reception.

I would also recommend to not stay longer than 4 or 5 nights as you can often get caught up inside the hostel and not manage to see any of the city! by our 6th night on our first visit we were quite sick of the same four walls - but this did not mean I wouldn't go back as we had a great time there!!

Room Tip: If you are starting off your trip I would advise to start in a private room, then maybe move into a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#59 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#51 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 455 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#5 of 455 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
#6 of 455 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Florida
Hostel Suites Florida
#9 of 455 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Avenue

Property: Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Address: Avenida de Mayo 1245, Buenos Aires C1085ABC, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 455 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This popular hostel is housed in a beautifully restored 1905 mansion and located on one of the most important avenues in the city - Avenida de Mayo. It features modern facilities and luxurious rooms, all with private bathrooms. This hostel resembles a boutique hotel, the real difference being the price tag! Inside there are different areas to suit all needs and preferences - you can relax on the roof terrace with a refreshing cocktail or simply chill out on one of the many sofas and watch TV, read a book or use the internet. It also boasts a large bar area which is perfect for meeting fellow travellers, watching various sports events, playing pool, using the book exchange or having a bite to eat from our tasty food menu. But the true asset of Milhouse Hostel Avenue is the friendly, well informed and energetic team working here. Typical Porteños, they are passionate about helping you discover Buenos Aires ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing