We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribeye”
Review of Al Carbon

Al Carbon
Ranked #45 of 4,809 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Retiro
Essex
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Ribeye”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I went here twice. The first time was much better than the first. The ribeye was the best I have ever tasted as that is their speciality. My wife had the chicken in a type of stir fry which was great the first time, but not so good the second.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Checkmate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    272
    56
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Good Food”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stared with a provolone Cheese, excellent! Steak was perfect, but this clouded with the bad service received.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddycastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great local experience”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I had read some reviews about the place since I was staying nearby. Nonetheless I decided to give it a try and I was not disappointed. "Poor service" is relative. I never had an issue. The problem is people using different metrics. The meat was very tasty and well prepared. My medium rare was exactly as expected. I had a salad and a very good meat empanada to start with. Definitively a place to come back to.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Isaac R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Good food, bad service”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Came here for a lovely meal..food was excellent and average prices....until...Our waiter Federico asked us for a bigger tip!! Ruined the entire experience!

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bife de Lomo - wow!!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

If you like a good steak, that's the perfect place! We rather stumbled into the 'Al Carbon' since it's been close to our hotel. Ordered rib eye steak, which was really good. As was the wine. Four weeks and a few thousand miles across Patagonia later we decided to visit 'Al Carbon' again on our final evening in South America. This time we enjoyed 'Bife de Lomo' - it's a 10 out of 10!!!
Should have not ordered desserts, they could not keep up with the steaks (too sweet, actually... consider only if you like really, REALLY sweet stuff!)
Perfect service: observant but unobstrusive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Carbon also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Al Carbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing