We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but beware”
Review of Ligure - CLOSED

Ligure
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Retiro
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good but beware”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

It is Feb 2012 and this restaurant has done a trick usual at this time of year: they have momentarily suspended credit cards. Few angry customers leave and the waiters get no tips. It is inconvenient as you'll have to carry a lot of cash. Not advisable at the best of times in Buenos Aires. Still I'll go there again and pray the restriction is temporary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Platense41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“the Ligurian restaurant”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

"Ligure" restaurant, it means the region of Liguria (Italy), but do not expect to come in and speak the Genoese dialect, no one will understand! Enjoy a genuine restaurant off the beaten track and known only to local customers! a real gem is the "zabaglione": prepared with fresh eggs and Marsala Stravecchio, cooked in a bain-marie "polsonetto" and beaten with a whip to mix the air gradually. You can hear the sound ting-ting-ting of the whip coming from the cousine.... priceless!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Pasta with beef dish was overly salty. The cheese on it was smothered, and good, but still too salty. The fish dish was also smothered in the same cheese - so it tasted like the same dish. The steak was also decent, but not near as good as the rest of the steaks we've had in Argentina. They were out of 2 dishes we wanted to try that were recommended in Frommer's. I can't believe this place was very recommended in Frommer's. Definitely better options out there. Also, no ambience as it's super brightly lit. I shoul'dve known something was wrong when we went in there and it was completely empty on a Saturday night. Oh well.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jarhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A nice find nearby Hotel Emperador”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Delicious meal here -- we had just arrived with our Vantage group and were on our own for dinner. Stumbled upon this delightful place only a few blocks away. Dinner hour generally starts around 8PM in Argentina so we were the only people there at first. By the time we left, the place was filling up. Good food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CyndeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ligure also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing